Phil Earle - Author Picture

Phil Earle - Author

Phil Earle was born and raised in Hull. His first job was as a care worker in a children’s home. Phil then chose the more sedate lifestyle of a bookseller, and now works in children’s publishing – when he’s not writing his own children’s books, which have received critical acclaim and been nominated for numerous awards, including a longlisting for the Carnegie Medal. Phil lives in Hebden Bridge.

Author photo credit David Owens

Featured Books, with extracts, by Phil Earle

Reader ReviewedSuperdad's Day Off
Phil Earle - illustrated by Steve May
May 2017 Book of the Month | Interest Age 5-8 | In a nutshell: the best laid plans of mice and supermen …| Stanley is as normal a kid as you can meet, but his dad, well, he's a superhero, Dynamo...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 15/04/2017
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedMind the Gap
Phil Earle
A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month | February 2017 Book of the Month | Interest Age Teen Reading Age 8 Mikey thinks the world of his Dad even though he doesn't see him that often. And when he dies...
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%) Featured in: 13+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 15/01/2017
Info Extract Buy

The War Next Door
Phil Earle - illustrated by Sara Ogilvie
A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month October 2016 A pacey new story set in Storey Street featuring a cast of outrageous characters doing a host of amazing and extraordinary things. Masher's dad is determined to get his greedy hands...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 9+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 06/10/2016
Info Extract Buy

Superhero Street
Phil Earle
Second middle-grade novel from Demolition Dad author Phil Earle. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams.
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 25/02/2016
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedDemolition Dad
Phil Earle
May 2015 MEGA Book of the Month Jake Biggs's dad works in demolition. All week long he knocks down buildings from the cockpit of his crane, but at weekends he becomes Demolition Man, twenty stone of Man Mountain in a...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 07/05/2015
Info Extract Buy

The Bubble Wrap Boy
Phil Earle
Charlie's found his secret talent: skateboarding. It's his one-way ticket to popularity. All he's got to do is practice, and nothing's going to stop him - not his clumsiness, not his overprotective mum, nothing. Except Charlie isn't the only one...
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%) Featured in: 11+ readers | 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 01/05/2014
Info Extract Buy

Heroic
Phil Earle
Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2014 Inspired by S.E. Hinton's The Outsiders and by the battles facing young soldiers all over the world, this is a devastating novel about brotherhood and sacrifice, from the award-winning author of Being Billy and...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 25/04/2013
Info Extract Buy

Saving Daisy
Phil Earle
Shortlisted for the 2013 Leeds Book Award. This is a powerful and moving story linked to Phil Earle's critically acclaimed debut book, Being Billy. A Review by Katy Poulter, age 12 Saving Daisy was better than I thought it would...
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%) Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 05/01/2012
Info Extract Buy

Being Billy
Phil Earle
Shortlisted for the 2012 Branford Boase Award for outstanding Debut novel. A Lovereading4kids 'Great Read' you may have missed 2011 selection. Billy's been in a care home almost all his life and as far as he's concerned, he's on his...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 06/01/2011
Info Extract Buy

Loading other books by Phil Earle...


Author Info

Author's Website

www.philearle.com

Did you know

At Lovereading4kids you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Phil Earle and hundreds of other authors.


LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****