Phil Earle - Author Picture

Phil Earle - Author

Phil Earle was born in the great city of Hull in 1974, and spent the next eighteen years playing a lot of sport, messing around in plays and trying to sing in bands. He has had jobs as a care worker in a residential kids' home and a bookseller, and now works as sales and marketing director for David Fickling books. Phil was recently BookTrust's online writer-in-residence and set out to prove with a series of vlogs that there’s a story out there for everyone. This year, Phil has already had sell-out events at Hay Festival and is next appearing at Cheltenham and Bath Children’s Literature Festivals. He lives on a hill in Yorkshire with his wife and three children and his favourite place to write is on the bus.

Featured Books, with extracts, by Phil Earle

The War Next Door
Phil Earle - illustrated by Sara Ogilvie
A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month October 2016 A pacey new story set in Storey Street featuring a cast of outrageous characters doing a host of amazing and extraordinary things. Masher's dad is determined to get his greedy hands...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 9+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 06/10/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Superhero Street
Phil Earle
Second middle-grade novel from Demolition Dad author Phil Earle. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams.
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 25/02/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader ReviewedDemolition Dad
Phil Earle
May 2015 MEGA Book of the Month Jake Biggs's dad works in demolition. All week long he knocks down buildings from the cockpit of his crane, but at weekends he becomes Demolition Man, twenty stone of Man Mountain in a...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 07/05/2015
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Heroic
Phil Earle
Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2014 Inspired by S.E. Hinton's The Outsiders and by the battles facing young soldiers all over the world, this is a devastating novel about brotherhood and sacrifice, from the award-winning author of Being Billy and...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 25/04/2013
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Saving Daisy
Phil Earle
Shortlisted for the 2013 Leeds Book Award. This is a powerful and moving story linked to Phil Earle's critically acclaimed debut book, Being Billy. A Review by Katy Poulter, age 12 Saving Daisy was better than I thought it would...
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%) Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 05/01/2012
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Being Billy
Phil Earle
Shortlisted for the 2012 Branford Boase Award for outstanding Debut novel. A Lovereading4kids 'Great Read' you may have missed 2011 selection. Billy's been in a care home almost all his life and as far as he's concerned, he's on his...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 06/01/2011
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Loading other books by Phil Earle...


Author Info

Author's Website

www.philearle.com

Did you know

At Lovereading4kids you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Phil Earle and hundreds of other authors.


I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools