Holly Webb - Author Picture

Holly Webb - Author

Holly was born and grew up in south-east London, but spent a lot of time on the Suffolk coast. As a child, she had two dogs, a cat, and at one point, nine gerbils (an accident). At about ten, Holly fell in love with stories from Ancient Greek myths, which led to studying Latin and Greek, and eventually to reading Classics at university. She worked for five years as a children's fiction editor, before deciding that writing was more fun, and easier to do from a sofa. She started writing several years ago while working as a children’s books editor. She has written over ninety books including the Animal Stories, My Naughty Little Puppy and Maisie Hitchins series for Stripes Publishing. Holly has also written In The Clever Little Kitten for World Book Day and a sequel to The Secret Garden. Holly Webb lives in Berkshire with her husband, children and three cats.

Author photo credit: Nigel Bird

Featured Books, with extracts, by Holly Webb

The Winter Wolf
Holly Webb
Best-selling Holly Webb tells a touching time-slip story set against an evocative wintery background. It's Christmas and Amelia's family are staying in an old house with lots of unused rooms. When Amelia goes exploring in the attic she finds a...
Lovereading Price: £4.79 - Saving £1.20 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 06/10/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Snow Cat
Holly Webb
In a nutshell: a seasonal story of snow, cats and happy endings! Young readers will very much enjoy Holly Webb's typically touching new story, in which a mischievous cat works magic across the generations. Bel is staying with her grandma...
Lovereading Price: £7.19 - Saving £1.80 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers | 5+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 08/09/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Sophie's Squeaky Surprise
Holly Webb - illustrated by Clare Elsom
With delightful illustrations throughout, this is a lovely tale about a young girl coping with change and discovering that friends can be found in the most unlikely of places. Sophie has just moved to Paris and although it's a beautiful...
Lovereading Price: £3.99 - Saving £1.00 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers | 5+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 04/08/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Seaside Puppy
Holly Webb - illustrated by Sophy Williams
Holly Webb writes gentle, warm-hearted adventures that young readers absolutely love and there is lots for them to enjoy in this story. Laura's summer is set to be a bit of a wash out - she lives in a seaside...
Lovereading Price: £3.99 - Saving £1.00 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 07/04/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

A Home for Molly
Holly Webb - illustrated by Sophy Williams
Anya loves playing with Molly, the gorgeous cockapoo, on her holiday at the seaside. But when Molly's owners head home and leave their cute pup behind, it's up to Anya to get them back together again. This is a wonderfully...
Lovereading Price: £3.99 - Saving £1.00 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 01/06/2015
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Secret Kitten
Holly Webb - illustrated by Sophy Williams
This is a wonderfully heart-warming read and the 30th in the Animals series from bestselling author Holly Webb. This title and the others in the series are perfect for fans of Magic Animal Friends and Animal Ark. In this one,...
Lovereading Price: £3.99 - Saving £1.00 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 06/04/2015
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Forgotten Puppy
Holly Webb - illustrated by Sophy Williams
Emi looks forward to her weekend visits to her dad's, but she's sad that her Shiba Inu puppy, Rina, can't come too. During the school holidays, Emi visits her dad for four whole days, and Rina is restless - what...
Lovereading Price: £3.99 - Saving £1.00 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 05/01/2015
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

A Tiger Tale
Holly Webb
Kate's grandfather has died and she's missing him desperately. At least she has her toy tiger, Amos, to keep her company. It was a present from Granddad, and holding him close makes Granddad seem less far away. But she doesn't...
Lovereading Price: £4.79 - Saving £1.20 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 04/09/2014
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Winter Wolf
Holly Webb
Best-selling Holly Webb tells a touching time-slip story set against an evocative wintery background. It's Christmas and Amelia's family are staying in an old house with lots of unused rooms. When Amelia goes exploring in the attic she finds a...
Lovereading Price: £7.19 - Saving £1.80 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 01/09/2014
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Holly Webb's Kitten Tales Sky the Unwanted Kitten, Ginger the Stray Kitten, Misty the Abandoned Kitten
Holly Webb - illustrated by Sophy Williams
Three lovely kitten stories to treasure, from best-selling author Holly Webb: Sky the Unwanted Kitten, Ginger the Stray Kitten and Misty the Abandoned Kitten. Holly Webb's Animal Stories have sold over a million copies in the UK. From stolen kittens...
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 07/07/2014
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Brave Kitten
Holly Webb - illustrated by Sophy Williams
Helena is helping out at a vet's surgery when a young cat is rushed in with a major injury - will they be able to save him? If you...
Lovereading Price: £3.99 - Saving £1.00 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 02/06/2014
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Scruffy Puppy
Holly Webb - illustrated by Sophy Williams
Bella adopts a friendly mongrel puppy, but will she be able to prove that rescue dogs are just as good as pedigree dogs to her friend at school? If...
Lovereading Price: £3.99 - Saving £1.00 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 07/04/2014
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Case of the Feathered Mask
Holly Webb - illustrated by Marion Lindsay
Packed with mystery and adventure this is perfect for readers aged six to eight years. Charming girl-detective Maisie Hitchins is always on the look-out for a new mystery to solve. Even while her grandmother keeps her busy running errands Maisie...
Lovereading Price: £4.79 - Saving £1.20 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers | 5+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 03/02/2014
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Kidnapped Kitten
Holly Webb - illustrated by Sophy Williams
Tia adores Milly, her new Bengal kitten. Everything about Milly is perfect! When Tilly hears that there are cat thieves in the area she knows she must do everything she can to keep Milly safe – even if that means...
Lovereading Price: £3.99 - Saving £1.00 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 06/01/2014
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Reindeer Girl
Holly Webb
The Reindeer Girl is an enchanting winter's tale of a very special friendship from much-loved author Holly Webb, which will delight her loyal fans everywhere and perfect for reading during those long dark nights by the fire. In a sumptuous...
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%) Featured in: 9+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 01/09/2013
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader ReviewedThe Case of the Stolen Sixpence
Holly Webb - illustrated by Marion Lindsay
May 2013 Book of the Month The super-sleuthing qualities of a great girl detective make a gripping story line in the first of this brand new series. Maisie Hitchin is always busy running errands for her demanding Grandmother but she...
Lovereading Price: £4.79 - Saving £1.20 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 06/05/2013
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Case of the Vanishing Emerald
Holly Webb - illustrated by Marion Lindsay
In her second adventure, The Case of the Vanishing Emerald, famed star of the stage Sarah Massey is distraught after her beau, a mysterious young man, gives her a priceless necklace which goes missing. Maisie is instantly on the case,...
Lovereading Price: £4.79 - Saving £1.20 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers | 5+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 06/05/2013
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

The Snow Bear
Holly Webb
A wonderful gentle story featuring a girl who wakes up to find herself in a world of ice with only a polar bear cub for company. Together they lose themselves in an enchanting journey through the wilderness - will she...
Lovereading Price: £6.39 - Saving £1.60 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers | 5+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 01/10/2012
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

A Cat Called Penguin
Holly Webb - illustrated by Polly Dunbar
Alfie has always loved playing in the overgrown garden next door. It is here he plays with Penguin, an enormous black-and-white cat, a stray who Alfie has claimed as his own. But when his next door neighbour's granddaughter, Grace, comes...
Lovereading Price: £4.79 - Saving £1.20 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 01/09/2011
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Loading other books by Holly Webb...


Author Info

Author's Website

www.holly-webb.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Holly Webb on Facebook

Author's Facebook Latest

Author's Blog

www.holly-webb.com/news/

Did you know

At Lovereading4kids you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Holly Webb and hundreds of other authors.


I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools