Tom Moorhouse - Author Picture

Tom Moorhouse - Author

Tom Moorhouse lives in Oxford, where he enjoys the refreshing and perpetual rain. When not writing fiction he works as an ecologist at Oxford University's Zoology Department. Over the years he has met quite a lot of wildlife. Most of it tried to bite him. He loves hiking up mountains, walking through woods, climbing on rocks and generally being weather-beaten outdoors. Pouring words into books makes Tom very happy. His novels include The Rising, River Singers, and Trickster.

Tom talks in greater detail about The River Singers (this is an extended version of the video on the book page.)

Featured Books, with extracts, by Tom Moorhouse

A Race for Toad Hall
Tom Moorhouse - illustrated by Holly Swain
In a nutshell: Mr Toad roars back for 21st century adventure | Tom Moorhouse ingeniously breathes new life into Toad of Toad Hall in this engaging chapter book. In an inspired bit of plotting, the young heroes of his book...
Lovereading Price: £4.79 - Saving £1.20 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers | 9+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 02/03/2017
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedThe Rising
Tom Moorhouse
This thrilling follow-up to the highly-acclaimed novel, The River Singers, will transport readers into a vivid world of riverbank creatures, where excitement and danger are never far away. With beautiful black and white illustrations throughout by Simon Mendez these...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 02/07/2015
Info Extract Buy

The Adventures of Mr Toad
Tom Moorhouse - illustrated by David Roberts
Everyone loves the ebullient and outrageous Mr Toad, one of the heroes of Kenneth Grahame's classic The Wind in the Willows. Tom Moorhouse brings him to life in this modern retelling which captures all the drama of Mr Toad's famous...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 02/04/2015
Info Extract Buy

The Adventures of Mr Toad
Tom Moorhouse - illustrated by David Roberts
Everyone loves the ebullient and outrageous Mr Toad, one of the heroes of Kenneth Grahame's classic The Wind in the Willows. Tom Moorhouse brings him to life in this modern retelling which captures all the drama of Mr Toad's famous...
Lovereading Price: £7.99 - Saving £2.00 (20%) Featured in: 7+ readers | 5+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 06/11/2014
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedThe Rising
Tom Moorhouse
This thrilling follow-up to the highly-acclaimed novel, The River Singers, will transport readers into a vivid world of riverbank creatures, where excitement and danger are never far away. With beautiful black and white illustrations throughout by Simon Mendez these...
Lovereading Price: £8.79 - Saving £2.20 (20%) Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 02/10/2014
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedThe River Singers
Tom Moorhouse
One of our Books of the Year 2014 In the tradition of Kenneth Grahame's The Wind in the Willows and Richard Adams's Watership Down, The River Singers captures the desperate adventures of a family of water voles struggling survive as...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 03/07/2014
Info Extract Buy

Reader ReviewedThe River Singers
Tom Moorhouse
October 2013 Debut of the Month In the tradition of Kenneth Grahame's The Wind in the Willows and Richard Adams's Watership Down, The River Singers captures the desperate adventures of a family of water voles struggling survive as their habitat...
Lovereading Price: £5.59 - Saving £1.40 (20%) Featured in: 9+ readers | 11+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 03/10/2013
Info Extract Buy

Loading other books by Tom Moorhouse...


Author Info

Author's Website

tom-moorhouse.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Tom Moorhouse on Facebook

Author's Facebook Latest

Author's Blog

tom-moorhouse.com/blog/7

Did you know

At Lovereading4kids you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Tom Moorhouse and hundreds of other authors.


We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****