Laura James - Author Picture

Laura James - Author

Laura James’ love of storytelling began at an early age and led her to undertake a degree in Film Studies and an MA in Writing for Young People at Bath Spa University. The Adventures of Pug are based on the antics of her own very silly dogs, Brian and Florence. Together the three of them live in a tiny cottage just outside of Bath where they have lots of adventures and eat lots of jam tarts – all in the name of research of course! Laura’s first book, Captain Pug, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize in 2017.

Author photo © Red Rabbit Photography

Featured Books, with extracts, by Laura James

Reader ReviewedCowboy Pug
Laura James - illustrated by Eglantine Ceulemans
Meet the brilliant, the wonderful, the courageous ...Cowboy Pug! The second book in a joyful new illustrated series for fans of Claude and Squishy McFluff. Lovereading Review to follow.
Lovereading Price: £4.79 - Saving £1.20 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 04/05/2017
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Reader ReviewedCaptain Pug
Laura James
Julia Eccleshare's Book of the Month May 2016 A deliciously madcap doggy adventure for Pug, the pampered dog of the even more pampered Lady Miranda. When Lady Miranda determines that Pug will be the ship's captain when they go...
Lovereading Price: £4.79 - Saving £1.20 (20%) Featured in: 5+ readers | 7+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 05/05/2016
Info Extract Wishlist Compare price Buy

Loading other books by Laura James...


Author Info

Author's Website

laurajamesauthor.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Laura James on Facebook

Author's Facebook Latest

Did you know

At Lovereading4kids you can download and read an Opening Extract and an online review of books by Laura James and hundreds of other authors.


I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools