Reader Reviewed Darkness Hidden by Zoe Marriott
  

Darkness Hidden

Written by Zoe Marriott
Part of the The Name of the Blade Series

13+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Fans of Cassandra Clare, L.A. Weatherly and Becca Fitzpatrick will love this, the second in The Name of the Blade series which is steeped in Japanese myth and legend. In the first in the Name of the Blade series, The Night Itself, against all odds, Mio, Jack and Shinobu defeated the terrifying Nekomata and get back to London alive. But the Underworld has spawned a worse monster in London - one carrying a devastating plague. So British-Japanese protagonist Mio, the sort of heroine the reader will aspire to be, battles to save the city but not without sacrifice.

Reader Reviews

Teens love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert review, some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Alice D'Angelo, age 15 - 'Darkness Hidden has the perfect mix of reality and fantasy to engage readers, and I loved the suspense and adventure throughout.' Read full review >
  • Ciara Gallagher, age 14 St. Colm’s High School - 'I think this book is an excellent read and you should really give it a go, you won’t be disappointed.' Read full review >

Synopsis

Darkness Hidden by Zoe Marriott

Who would you sacrifice to save the world? Don't miss the second explosive book in the young adult fantasy series, The Name of the Blade. Against all odds, Mio, Jack and Shinobu have defeated the terrifying Nekomata and got home alive. But Mio is still compelled to protect the katana, and now the Underworld has spawned a worse monster - one carrying a devastating plague that sweeps through London like wildfire. As Mio struggles to protect the city and control the sword's deadly powers, she realizes that this time there is no way she can keep everyone she loves out of the line of fire.

Reviews

Zoe Marriott is a rising star of fantasy fiction. The Times

Praise for The Night Itself....

“Japanese mythology meets urban awesomeness (and a swoon-worthy romance!). The Night Itself captivated me.” L. A. Weatherly, author of the Angel Trilogy

“Mio is a wonderful heroine who reminded me of some of my favourite superhero characters, and her connection with Shinobu is touching and believable. The Japanese
mythology was refreshing, and I absolutely cannot wait for the next book in the series!”
Karen Mahoney, author of the Iron Witch Trilogy and Falling to Ash

“A beautiful, awe-inspiring ride through an iconic London landscape harbouring extremely dangerous secrets. The Night Itself is a fantastic blend of Japanese folk tale and twenty-first-century thriller, populated by characters you will be rooting for at every breathless step.” Katy Moran, author of Hidden Among Us

“I fell in love with sassy, courageous, wise-cracking Mio from page one.” Ruth Warburton, author of the Winter Trilogy

About the Author

Zoe Marriott

Zoe Marriott lives in North East Lincolnshire with two cats, named Echo and Hero, and the Devil Hound, otherwise known as Finn. She says of Shadows on the Moon, " I never liked Cinderella as a little girl. She seemed like the worst kind of wimp to me, and I hated the fact that she needed someone else to come along and rescue her. Then one day I was thinking about a completely different idea for a book set in fairy-tale Japan - and suddenly the two story ideas collided in my head, and it occurred to me: what if Cinderella wasn't a wimp at all? What if she was strong and brave - and out for revenge all along? And so Shadows on the Moon was born."

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
352 pages
Interest Age: From 12

Author

Zoe Marriott
More books by Zoe Marriott

Author's Website

www.zoemarriott.com/

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

3rd July 2014

ISBN

9781406342390

Categories


I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools