Reader Reviewed The Name of the Blade The Night Itself by Zoe Marriott
  

The Name of the Blade The Night Itself

Written by Zoe Marriott
Part of the The Name of the Blade Series

13+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Ancient Japanese gods and monsters are unleashed on modern-day London in this epic trilogy from an acclaimed fantasy writer. Great for fans of Tamora Pierce, Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare.

This is the first book in the Name of the Blade series; the second is Darkness Hidden.

Reader Reviews

Teens love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert review, some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Alice D'Angelo, age 14 - 'This story was so gripping once I started reading I ended up reading it all the time because I was so intrigued to find out what happened next.' Read full review >
  • Realm of Fiction - 'Zoe Marriott’s The Night Itself draws together some interesting magical concepts and takes them to a modern-day London.' Read full review >
  • Molly Hudson - 'I really enjoyed this book, found the characters fun and interesting and liked the cultural aspect of the book. I enjoyed learning a bit about Japanese life and history.' Read full review >
  • Carla McGuigan, age 13  - 'I found this novel to be one of the most amazing books ever. It was romantic, adventurous, mysterious, interesting and it was just absolutely brilliant. I would strongly recommend this book to girls my age.' Read full review >
  • James Smart - 'an amazing book with a slow beginning with a sharp incline in the plot toward the end.' Read full review >
  • Ciara Gallagher - 'I really thoroughly enjoyed this book it had piles of action in it and that is what I enjoy.  I would strongly recommend this book to ages 12-15 there is really only one word that can some this book up which is AMAZING!' Read full review >

Synopsis

The Name of the Blade The Night Itself by Zoe Marriott

Ancient Japanese gods and monsters are unleashed on modern-day London in this epic trilogy from an acclaimed fantasy writer. When Mio steals the family's katana - a priceless ancestral sword - from her parents' attic, she just wants to spice up a fancy-dress costume. But the katana is much more than some dusty antique and her actions unleash a terrible, ancient evil onto the streets of unsuspecting London. Soon Shinobu, a fearless warrior boy, appears to protect Mio - and threatens to steal her heart. With the gods and monsters of Japanese myth stalking her and her friends, Mio realizes that if she cannot keep the sword safe, and learn to control its legendary powers, she will lose not only her own life...but the love of a lifetime.

It is suitable for fans of Tamora Pierce, Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare.

Reviews

Fantasy writer Zoe Marriot explode back onto the scene Times It's been a long time since I enjoyed a book this much The Mountains of Instead A cracking start to The Name of the Blade trilogy, roll on number 2! Books4Teens If you like your trilogies fast and furious, then this is definitely for you Serendipity Reviews Clever and cool all at once Sister Spooky I just want more of everything Fluttering Butterflies I cannot rave about The Night Itself enough Readaraptor I just fell for it, hook line and sinker The Pewter Wolf My only disappointment is that I've got to wait another year for the next instalment Feeling Fictional I can already tell that it will become one of my favourite series, like, ever Cic Loves Books I am so looking forward to reading more in this series! I just want more of everything. Fluttering Butterflies If you want a book that you can relate to but with a different and fresh perspective that go read this book Teacher Moloney King This book is definitely right up there with some of my favourites. Juniper's Jungle There was nothing in it I would change, which is wonderful and scary because how is the next book going to live up to that? Luna's Little Library I adored The Night Itself Big Book Little Book Cool, fast-paced and fun. -- Amanda Craig The Times A rising star of fantasy fiction. -- Amanda Craig The Times [A] readable and engaging story... for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare Booktrust Marriott has a high level if literary intelligence and is terrific at rebooting fairy-tales with wonderful descriptions of the natural world. -- Amanda Craig The Times YA urban fantasy, with as much glittery glamour as action... the use of Japanese legends coming to life in modern London to create the supernatural elements enlivens the plot. The School Librarian Fantasy aspects are skilfully woven into a credible urban setting and the romantic element of the novel is mostly subtle but can be quiveringly intense when it needs to be. Inis Lived up to every expectation I had. It was gripping, fast paced and had so many twists in it, I never felt bored when reading this The Pewter Wolf

About the Author

Zoe Marriott

Zoe Marriott lives in North East Lincolnshire with two cats, named Echo and Hero, and the Devil Hound, otherwise known as Finn. She says of Shadows on the Moon, " I never liked Cinderella as a little girl. She seemed like the worst kind of wimp to me, and I hated the fact that she needed someone else to come along and rescue her. Then one day I was thinking about a completely different idea for a book set in fairy-tale Japan - and suddenly the two story ideas collided in my head, and it occurred to me: what if Cinderella wasn't a wimp at all? What if she was strong and brave - and out for revenge all along? And so Shadows on the Moon was born."

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
368 pages
Interest Age: From 12

Author

Zoe Marriott
More books by Zoe Marriott

Author's Website

www.zoemarriott.com/

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

3rd July 2014

ISBN

9781406357950

Categories


It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools