Reader Reviewed Finding A Voice by Kim Hood
  

Finding A Voice

Written by Kim Hood

13+ readers   Debuts of the Month   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

September 2014 Debut of the Month When Jo takes on helping Chris, a teenager with cerebral palsy, she has no idea how life changing it will be for her. Jo has always been good a getting on with things and she finds she loves caring for Chris and begins to think of imaginative ways of making his life better. But when Jo tries to take Chris somewhere really special she finds she’s taken on a lot more than she can manage. Jo needs help and it turns out that Chris is just the person to give it. A touching story about how help can come from unexpected places.

Reader Reviews

Teens love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert review, some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Maddy Faulkner - 'This book is a fantastic book about friendship and courage- told by a girl struggling by the burden of her mothers mental illness. I loved this book and read it in two days! A fantastic summer read!' Read full review >
  • Sophia Ufton - 'This book was fantastic, it was just amazing and a joy to read!' Read full review >
  • Amy Laws, age 13 - 'I loved this book, I would definitely recommend it to anyone who likes a family/ friendship story with an added problem.' Read full review >
  • Sarah Murray, age 16 –  'This heart warming tale of friendship is a fantastic feel good book.' Read full review >
  • Safiyah Davenport, age 15 -'A lovely heartwarming book that successfully inspires and showcases the true meaning of courage and friendship.' Read full review >
  • Natalie Hunter, age 12 - 'I really enjoyed reading Finding A Voice and couldn't put it down resulting in me finishing it in a day.' Read full review >
  • Morgan Steigmann, age 15 - 'A heart-warming tale that will restore your faith in the kindness of humanity, Jo and Chris’ story is sure to be a hit with both young and old.' Read full review >
  • Imogen Fisher, age 13 - 'I think it has been written in a way that will be able to give lots of people an insight into things they haven't experienced before. I really really liked this book!' Read full review >
  • Jennifer Bridgeman, age 9 - 'Finding a Voice was amazing. It was about a girl called Jo who made friends with a boy called Chris who could not talk.' Read full review >

Synopsis

Finding A Voice by Kim Hood

Jo could never have guessed that the friendship she so desperately craves would come in the shape of a severely disabled boy. He can't even speak. Maybe it is because he can't speak that she finds herself telling him how difficult it is living with her eccentric, mentally fragile mother.

Behind Chris' lopsided grin and gigantic blue wheelchair is a real person - with a sense of humour, a tremendous stubborn streak and a secret he has kept from everyone. For a while it seems life may actually get better. But as Jo finds out just how terrible life is for Chris, and as her own life spirals out of control, she becomes desperate to change things for both of them.

In a dramatic turn of events, Jo makes a decision that could end in tragedy. This is the story of how an unusual friendship unlocks the words that neither knew they had.

Reviews

I would recommend it to all young readers -- Evening Echo deeply touching ... an inspirational heroine -- Irish Examiner a very moving story with many important and contemporary themes: loneliness; attitudes to disability both physical and mental; and how to be a carer when only a child ... This is Kim Hood's first novel and I look forward to more from this very talented author -- Armadillo Magazine a moving tale of friendship and troubled teenagers -- The Telegraph's Best YA Books of 2014 new fiction voice is quite a find ... assured and compelling ... you can't put it down! -- Westmeath Independent I've never felt so amazed and utterly moved by a story before in my entire life! It left me feeling inspired and really in awe ... you see the beauty about this book is that there is more than one person finding a voice ... they just don't know it yet. That ending!! ... I really and truly can't champion this brave and boldly fearless little bit of totally diverse fiction enough. Why oh why aren't there more books like this out there - all ages could learn a thing or two. I don't usually say this but - go buy it, please! I just know it's going to make my top 10 books of the year!

... as someone who has suffered with mental health difficulties, the idea of raising a child has always seemed fraught with difficulties. Many of my own fears were reflected in the experience of Jo and her mother and I was incredibly sad for this young girl with such an awful weight on her shoulders ... I can't wait to see what Kim Hood does next -- Bibliojacq Blogs I try to read books like this in one sitting, so I don't have to stop partway through exciting bits ... I'm going to reread this book for sure - make sure you read it! -- Nayu's Reading Corner It's not often these days that I am so enamoured with a book that I read it in one sitting and little did I know when I sat in the garden, one sunny Tuesday afternoon, and got up three hours later with a pretty numb backside and a sunburnt nose, that FINDING A VOICE would be that book. Beautifully written, heart-wrenching prose, honest and fragile characters and a touching story makes for one very special read ... this was such a special book and resonated with me on so many levels. Kim Hood's easy style of writing allows the emotion to shine through and enables the reader to really connect with the characters. The pacing flowed well and kept me engaged with the story which was so sweet and honest, it made my heart ache for Jo and Chris ... a story about friendship and unwavering hope, FINDING A VOICE is a book that will stay with you long after you've finished - touching and tender, it will make you laugh and cry ... perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and John Green - Highly recommend. -- What Danielle Did Next Finding a Voice is compelling, convincing, and considerably well-written. As well as acting as a testimony to the transformative power of friendship, this touching tale emphasises the importance of embracing each person's humanity- even one's own -- The Looking Glass anyone who wants more diversity in YA lit needs to read this. Not only does it handle mental health in a true to life way, it also features a main character with severe disabilities and does so brilliantly ... A lot of the issues in this book are very, very serious ones. It deals with mental health, physical disabilities and the danger of assuming you are aware of what is best for others when honestly you can't unless you are them. It is an 'issues

... a beautiful book -- Readaraptor mental illness is an 'illness

've related to, this is such a book ... a beautiful read ... powerful ... let's get it onto school reading lists! -- Sarah Broadhurst Reviews gives an honest, clear-eyed account of the challenges Chris and Jo have to deal with ... despite the uplifting ending, it is never sentimental ... a gripping story, well told, with rounded and appealing characters -- booksforkeeps.co.uk thought-provoking & engaging -- Booktrust a touching story about how help can come from unexpected places -- lovereading4kids.co.uk Finding a Voice is very, very good -- Deirdre O'Sullivan AMAZING Story! Extremely well written, and totally unexpected with a beautiful ending and a moral overtone that was addressed perfectly, without overshadowing the relationship between the main characters -- www.familiesonline.co.uk author Kim Hood ... certainly packs a punch in her story of friendship against the odds ... there are plenty of messages that could be drawn from these pages. But the one that comes over most strongly is that there is no such thing as 'normal'

... 9/10 -- seomraranga.com touching and poignant story ... written with deep compassion and understanding, this is excellently written and will grip the reader's attention -- parentsintouch.co.uk a lovely heart-warming book that successfully inspires and showcases the true meaning of courage and friendship -- Safiyah, www.lovereading.co.uk couldn't put it down -- Natalie, www.lovereading.co.uk a heart-warming tale ... moving and compelling, but crafted by Hood in a way that makes it believable. For a debut novel, this book is utterly outstanding and a credit to Kim Hood- I hope there are many more to come! -- Morgan, www.lovereading.co.uk I really really liked this book! -- Imogen, www.lovereading.co.uk not so much a guidebook through adolescence, but more an assurance that it will get better -- WeLoveThisBook.com

About the Author

Kim Hood

KIM HOOD grew up in British Columbia, Canada. After earning degrees in psychology, history and education, she wandered through a few countries before making the west coast of Ireland home. Her eclectic work experience in education, therapy and community services has presented endless opportunity to observe a world of interesting characters. She has always had a passion for trying to understand life from the perspective of those on the fringes of society.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
240 pages
Interest Age: From 11

Author

Kim Hood
More books by Kim Hood

Publisher

O'Brien Press Ltd

Publication date

11th August 2014

ISBN

9781847175434

Categories

Publisher Profile

O'Brien Press Ltd is an imprint of O'Brien

logo

The O'Brien Press is Ireland's leading general publisher of both adult and children's books. Our list covers a huge range, including biography, humour, photography, history, art, fiction, politics, cookery, sport, music, memoir, true crime and travel and we are constantly expanding into new and exciting areas.

Publisher's Website

www.obrien.ie


I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools