Reader Reviewed The Time-Travelling Sandwich Bites Back by Matt Brown
  

The Time-Travelling Sandwich Bites Back

Written by Matt Brown
Illustrated by Lizzie Finlay
Part of the Compton Valance Series

7+ readers   Books of the Month   9+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

October 2014 Book of the Month A second hilarious and disgusting adventure wittily told in words and pictures making it perfect for all fans of the Wimpy Kid. A mouldy old sandwich has a remarkable impact on the life of Compton Valance, an apparently very ordinary school boy. This mouldy sandwich is no ordinary one! It has the power to take Compton Valance travelling back in time…But time-travel is a confusing and complicated matter and Compton Valance is soon in for a second adventure of a lifetime!

This is the 2nd Compton Valance adventure which follows on from the fantastic, fast paced The Most Powerful Boy in the Universe.

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading4kids expert opinion some of our Kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review the first title in the series, The Most Powerful Boy in the Universe. You can read their reviews below.

  • Sam Harper, age 10 - 'This is a crazy, fast paced and hilarious time travel adventure. I loved the cartoons and extra info added to each page in the small print and I really, really enjoyed reading it.' Read full review >
  • Alex Faulkner, age 10 - 'Quite an interesting book that tries to be funny but isn't as humorous as other books like it.' Read full review >
  • Dylan Sweet, age 10 - 'this is going to be a hilarious beginning to a brilliant series.' Read full review >
  • Toby Slocombe, age 10 - 'Compton Valance is a fantastic book.' Read full review >
  • Alex Bateman, age 8 - 'There were lots of very funny bits in the book but it seemed like it was trying too hard to be funny.' Read full review >
  • Daniel Harrison, age 7 - 'It was very funny because I liked the small writing at the bottom of some pages. I would like to read the next one of these.' Read full review >
  • Sarankan Selvanathan, age 10 - 'I have to admit this is one of the most weirdest books I have read.  At first I thought it was a story and then a blurb!  But it is really full of suspense.'  Read full review >
  • Emily Lonsdale, age 8 - 'I liked this book because it was a bit unpredicatable it was a nice surprise not knowing what would happen next.' Read full review >

Win a HARDBACK copy of Diary of a Wimpy Kid Double Down!

The Wimpy Kid is back! To celebrate the publication of the 11th book in this bestselling series from Jeff Kinney we are giving away FIVE HARDBACK copies of Double Down!

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

Draw closes on 5 December 2016. The winners will be notified by 16 December 2016 and you should have your prize in time for Christmas!

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 05/12/2016

Synopsis

The Time-Travelling Sandwich Bites Back by Matt Brown

Compton Valance has an incredible secret: he can travel through time using a stinky sandwich. And now he's in big trouble! Because his evil brother Bravo has stolen the sandwich and is biting his way through time, causing chaos. It's up to Compton and his bungling mate Bryan to stop Bravo before time runs out and the universe implodes. Yes, really.

Reviews

'This second book in the series is just as mad and funny as the first... Large print and lots of illustrations aid newly developing or reluctant readers, but it's great fun for all ages and abilities' - Primary Times; 'Fantastically funny and delightfully disgusting time-travel fiction with hilarious black-and-white illustrations by Lizzie Finlay' - Lovereading4kids; 'Wonderfully designed with every page offering an explosion of illustrations, these books have a style all of their own! - Sunday World Ireland; 'Lizzie Finlay's suitably madcap illustrations, a dazzling array of narrative styles, hilarious schoolboy humour and amazing plot twists make this a journey of blissful discovery for bored youngsters with a well-developed sense of mischief! Stomach-churning for mums, fun for dads... and heaven for little boys!' - Lancashire Evening Post; 'Just as funny and just as full of crazy time travel adventure as its predecessor' - Book Zone for Boys; 'This made me laugh and laugh' - STEW Magazine; 'If you haven't come across Compton Valance before and you're a fan of Wimpy Kid, Captain Underpants and their ilk, this is a new hero to get stuck into' - Manchester Evening News; 'Fans of Captain Underpants and Diary of a Wimpy Kid will be delighted by The Time Travelling Sandwich Bites Back' - The Oldie'

About the Author

Matt Brown

Matt Brown has worked as a radio producer, DJ and TV presenter, appearing on children’s channel Nickelodeon and hosting shows including The Bigger Breakfast, Love Island Aftersun and “I’m A Celebrity…Get Me Out of Here Now!”. He is currently the host of Heart Thames Valley radio breakfast show. He has held snakes in jungles, driven huskies in the arctic circle and persuaded a taxi driver in Delhi to let him drive his cab.
As a former children’s TV presenter Matt really knows how to make kids laugh. Matt also admits that writing the books is “a pathetic attempt to curry favour” with his two sons (aged 4 and 7).

Matt has always loved writing stories and has done so ever since he was a kid. He says: “Basically the story is autobiographical even though I have never travelled through time. Compton Valance is a ten-year old, much cooler version of myself.”

See Matt read the first chapter of Compton Valance - and other videos - on his youtube channel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
320 pages
Interest Age: 8+

Author

Matt Brown
More books by Matt Brown

Author's Website

www.mattbrownwriter.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Usborne Publishing Ltd

Publication date

1st October 2014

ISBN

9781409567783

Categories


It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools