The Lily-livered Prince by Christopher William Hill

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Book 3 in the Tales of Schwartgarten series, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Lemony Snicket.


The Lily-livered Prince by Christopher William Hill

Meet Eugene, the most portly of princes, and Kalvitas, the most courageous of chocolate makers. Theirs is a tale of cakes and cowardice, bullies and battles, as they set out to defeat a terrifying tyrant. The characters are CURSED. The deserts are DEADLY. And people are NOT always as they appear...


Readers who enjoyed the Lemony Snicket books will love the exaggerated macabre details and the ironic authorial comments which punctuate the narrative School Librarian If you like historical stories full of adventure with plenty of twist and turns, then you must read this. You won't want to put it down. -- Guardian children's books site young reviewer The Guardian

About the Author

Christopher William Hill

Christopher William Hill was born in Truro, in Cornwall - a little jaundiced, but that was to be expected in the grim days of the 1970s. His mother was a former nurse, so Christopher grew up with a copy of Black's Medical Dictionary to hand, which was ideal reading matter for an enthusiastic hypochondriac. He liked acting and putting on silly voices, and collecting ancient relics which he gathered in a large walk-in wardrobe that called his 'museum'. Christopher loves walking, ocean liners, airships, Victoriana and cake shops.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


304 pages


Christopher William Hill
More books by Christopher William Hill

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest


Orchard Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group

Publication date

2nd October 2014




LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

Lovereading 4 schools