Reader Reviewed Moone Boy: the Blunder Years by Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy

Moone Boy: the Blunder Years

Written by Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy
Part of the Moone Boy Series

9+ readers   7+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

One of our Books of the Year 2014 Martin Moone- one boy and a load of sisters! That means Martin is always in trouble of one kind or another. What would you do? When Martin asks his friend Padraic for advice about changing the gender balance in the Moone family home, Padraic suggest finding a IF – imaginary friend. Martin is hilarious as he tells of his search for a suitable choice. Just what a kind of a person should he pick?

This is the first book in a very funny new illustrated-fiction series from the award-winning Bridesmaids and The IT Crowd actor Chris O'Dowd and his long-term friend and Moone Boy TV-scriptwriting collaborator Nick Vincent Murphy. Perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid and David Walliams.


And you can catch Moone Boy in his own tv series on Sky 1 starring co-writer and Hollywood actor Chris O'Dowd - watch a trailer here!

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Sidney Greenslade, age 11 - 'A brilliant tale of a hapless boy, his imaginary friend and how they deal with the problems of everyday life in a unique and hilarious way.'
  • Sam Harper, age 11 - 'A brilliantly funny read full of crazy characters, hilarious definitions and cool cartoons. I loved it!'
  • Tomasz Hawryszczuk, age 10 - 'Really funny book and just like the TV series. If you like Wimpy Kid and Tom Gates, you will surely like this too!'
  • Cameron Lobban, age 10 - 'What a funny book! I laughed and laughed but also found the ending sad. I hope this is not the last I have heard of Martin Moone and Sean Murphy.'
  • Sam, age 10 - 'I laughed until I cried - a brilliant book, perfect for reading to cheer yourself up.'
  • Edward, age 10 - 'A total ball! A laugh every page!'
  • William Longlands, age 11 - '7/10 I liked the plot but would not read it again.'
  • Lola Thurston-Mathews, age 8 - 'Martin is tired of living in a family full of girls and really wants a wingman.  When his best friend Padraic tells him about imaginary friends he becomes desperate to find one.'


Moone Boy: the Blunder Years by Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy

Martin Moone is eleven and completely fed up with being the only boy in a family of girls. He's desperate for a decent wingman to help him navigate his idiotic life. So when best mate Padraic suggests Martin get an imaginary friend - or 'IF' for short - he decides to give it a go.

His first attempt is Loopy Lou, a hyperactive goofball who loves writing rubbish rap songs. But Martin soon gets fed up with Lou's loopiness and decides to trade in his IF for someone a little less wacky. Enter Sean 'Caution' Murphy, an imaginary office clerk in a bad suit with a passion for laziness and a head full of dodgy jokes. Sean is full of tips and tricks to guide Martin through the perils of the playground, from dealing with his sisters' pranks to beating the bullying Bonner boys. But getting rid of Lou is not that easy, and having TWO imaginary friends is a recipe for trouble!

About the Author

Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy

Chris O'Dowd is an award-winning actor, writer and director. He has appeared in many films, including Bridesmaids, The Sapphires and This Is 40. He has also starred in cult TV series The IT Crowd, Family Tree and Girls, as well as Moone Boy for Sky, which he wrote and directed with his friend Nick Vincent Murphy. Currently rehearsing for the Broadway production of Of Mice and Men with James Franco, he is due to work on Stephen Frears's forthcoming film about Irish journalist David Walsh and cyclist Lance Armstrong, playing the lead role of David Walsh. Chris is from Roscommon, Ireland, but is currently based in LA. He studied politics at Dublin University before training at LAMDA.

Nick Vincent Murphy is an Irish screenwriter from Kilkenny, now based in London. He studied English and History at Trinity College, Dublin, and did a Masters in Film Production at the Dublin Institute of Technology. In 2007 he was a writer on the acclaimed television comedy-drama series The Running Mate, and in 2010 his first feature film, Hideaways, premiered at the Tribeca Film Festival before going on to win the Melies d'Argent Award for Best European Film at the Strasbourg Film Festival. In 2010 he co-wrote a short film, Capturing Santa, with Chris O'Dowd, as part of the Little Crackers series for Sky, which they then developed into comedy series Moone Boy, which recently won an International Emmy for Best Comedy.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


384 pages
Interest Age: From 8


Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy
More books by Chris O'Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy


Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

23rd October 2014




Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

Lovereading 4 schools