Reader Reviewed Captive by A.J. Grainger
  

Captive

Written by A.J. Grainger

YA readers   Debuts of the Month   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

February 2015 Debut of the Month Captive starts with a bang and keeps the tension high. Robyn, the prime minister’s daughter, is kidnapped by eco-terrorists, the same group who recently tried to assassinate her father. These are ruthless, scary people – but Robyn suspects that her father too might be involved in something murky and the longer she spends in captivity, the harder it is for her to know who she can trust. This is a taut, cleverly-constructed and very contemporary YA thriller, which puts family relationships as well as issues such as corporate corruption and moral responsibility into the spotlight. Ideal for fans of Sophie McKenzie, it’s a book that respects its target readership. ~ Andrea Reece

Reader Reviews

Teens love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Courtney McCrory, age 14 - 'I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone over the age of 13. I would give this book 4.5 stars out of 5.' Read full review >
  • Stacie Ball - 'If you are looking for an action packed thriller than look no further. Captive is thought provoking and suspenseful. Great debut.' Read full review >
  • Lauren Coffman, age 14 - 'Overall I really loved this book and was up all night reading it. It was very tense and exciting throughout and I would highly recommend it.' Read full review >
  • Alistair Macrae, age 13 - 'As the title suggests this story is very captivating.  The story draws you in from the beginning and is very dramatic and exciting...Brilliant!' Read full review >
  • Celeste Phelan, age 13 - 'A thrilling story about the hardships faced by celebrities. How no one agrees with everything. After all nothing is simple when you’re the daughter of one of the world’s most powerful men.' Read full review >
  • Hannah Maxwell, age 14 - 'I really enjoyed this book. One of the best I have read. It is fast moving and thrilling.' Read full review >
  • Nia, age 17 - 'I was hooked, I couldn't put it down!' Read full review >
  • Esmé Molloy, age 14 - 'A story of hope, despair, love and hatred...A.J. Grainger is the queen of opposites and somehow she has managed to blend them into this glorious concoction and created a truly wonderful tale. Lovely.'  Read full review >
  • Amelia White - 'Excellent book! I really enjoyed this book and couldn't stop reading it.' Read full review >

Synopsis

Captive by A.J. Grainger

I open my eyes. The cell is flooded with sunlight; the window is a splice of pale blue. Dust particles dance in the sparkling light, pirouetting in a golden line from the window to the opposite wall of the cell, where they seem to converge into shapes. It is like looking into a kaleidoscope. Dad isn't here. No one is, but me. Robyn Knollys-Green is an A-list celebrity, famous for being the daughter of one of the world's most powerful men. But not even the paparazzi can find her now. Robyn begins to realise that she is trapped in a complicated web of global corruption and deceit - and that the strange, melancholy boy who has been tasked with guarding her might not be an enemy after all...

Reviews

'Full of more twists than a helter skelter, it's definitely going to have you on the edge of your seat' Sugarscape

'I raced through Captive. A cracking thriller that will delight the many fans of Sophie McKenzie' Phil Earle, author

'Taut kidnap thriller with shades of Sophie McKenzie and Noughts and Crosses' James Dawson, author & Queen of Teen 2014

About the Author

A.J. Grainger

A. J. Grainger lives in London, where she works as a children's books editor. She loves writing and editing because it means she gets to talk about books all day.

Author photo © PhotographybyGaya.com

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
240 pages
Interest Age: From 12

Author

A.J. Grainger
More books by A.J. Grainger

Author's Website

ajgrainger.com/

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

29th January 2015

ISBN

9781471122927

Categories


I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools