Itchcraft by Simon Mayo


Written by Simon Mayo
Part of the Itch Series

9+ readers   11+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Fans of teen element hunter and chemistry aficionado, Itchingham Lofte, will be delighted to see him back for another adventure, and they won’t be disappointed: this is another gripping page turner. As ever the MacGuffin is the coveted chemical element 126: Itch and his accomplices Jack and Chloe must find the last pieces of it and destroy them. The plot takes them to exotic locations, and the action is typically explosive! Mayo keeps great control of his material though, uses humour well, and it’s great to watch the development of the main characters throughout the stories. Perfect for fans of Horowitz, this is a smart, well-written thriller. ~ Andrea Reece

The first two books in the series - Itch and Itch Rocks - have sold over 100,000 copies combined. Itchcraft is the latest breath-taking instalment combining Alex Rider-esque action with a cool scientific edge. Fun, likeable male and female main characters Itch and Jack make this story appealing to both boys and girls.

Simon Mayo says, "As soon as I came across the fact that a small number of people like to collect elements from the periodic table—they call themselves ‘element hunters’—I knew I had got my story... I wanted to make sure that everything in the book is technically accurate; even if this new element doesn’t actually exist, in theory it could."


Itchcraft by Simon Mayo

Itchingham Lofte, teenage element hunter and unlikely hero, has had anough excitement to last him a lifetime. Stumbling across an unknown radioactive element and trying to keep it out of the hands of those who want to use it for their own ends was hard enough. But when a school trip to Spain ends in exploding currency and rioting locals, he knows that he has to continue to look for answers. Itch knows the lives of those closest to him are at risk. He must track down a deadly enemy who will stop at nothing to take his vengeance...

You can follow Itch on Twitter @itchingham. Click here to download an iPad app to bring the elements to life or here for the Android App.

Browse inside this book


Praise for Itch and Itch Rocks

With its explosive mix of action and adventure, chemistry lessons will never be the same again Sarah Kingsford, Daily Express

You’ll be itching to read more Anthony Horowitz

Itchingham, a science-mad boy, is trying to collect examples of all the elements. He gets hold of a peculiar rock from a shadowy contact but some sinister heavies are also keen to get hold of it (and him) and he goes on the run in this gripping read. Financial Times Books of the Year

An exciting and nail-biting thriller. Booktrust

Amid the teenage intrigue and heart-in-mouth escapades there are sequin flashes of real science: reminders that physical chemistry really does make things happen. -- Tim Radford The Guardian

About the Author

Simon Mayo

itch simon mayo aluminum Simon Mayo is best known for his BBC Radio 2 Drivetime show. He began writing four years ago, when he decided to create something for his son Joe, an avid reader and science nut. Having spent ten years interviewing scientists for his Radio 5 Live show he had plenty of ideas, and was soon consumed by ITCH and his story, waking up in the middle of the night to write. Simon has spent the last three years juggling his broadcasting job with visiting schools and talking about the ITCH series. During this time he’s met over 10,000 children as well as having appeared at literary and science festivals. Simon has worked on BBC radio since 1981 and runs a Book Club on his Radio 2 show. He is also the co-presenter of "Kermode and Mayo's Film Review" on BBC Radio 5 Live. In 2008, Mayo was recognized as the "radio broadcaster of the year" at the 34th annual Broadcasting Press Guild Awards and the "Speech Broadcaster of the Year" at the Sony Radio Academy Awards.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


448 pages
Interest Age: From 9


Simon Mayo
More books by Simon Mayo

Author's Website


Corgi Childrens an imprint of Random House Children's Publishers UK

Publication date

26th March 2015




It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

Lovereading 4 schools