Reader Reviewed Charlie Merrick's Misfits in I'm a Nobody, Get Me Out of Here! by Dave Cousins
  

Charlie Merrick's Misfits in I'm a Nobody, Get Me Out of Here!

Written by Dave Cousins

9+ readers   11+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

The under-12’s football team known as The Misfits are looking forward to a week at a football training camp, but their manager clicked the wrong link on the website and booked them into a bush survival skills camp instead. Challenged by a girl called Magpie to beat her team to the top of the leaderboard Charlie Merrick feels the old competitive tingle, but can he and the Misfits cope on this kind of playing field, or are they bigger underdogs than ever? The effort tests their friendship and themselves. The story is both gripping and comic, while illustrations ranging from sketches to cartoon strips and even some illustrated survival tips add to the enjoyment and make this particularly good for reluctant readers. ~ Andrea Reece

You can read all about Charlie Merrick and his football team in Charlie Merrick's Misfits in Fouls, Friends and My World Cup

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Isaac East, age 8 - 'This book is incredibly funny...I got lots of useful tips from reading this book and made lots of things from it.  The instructions were very useful.  I would recommend this book to everyone!'
  • Tomasz Hawryszczuk, age 9 - 'A hilarious book filled with humour from start to finish. Written in the style of Wimpy Kid and Tom Gates. I loved this book so much I have read it twice already.'
  • Alex Hall, age 9 - 'Imagine turning up at a survival camp when you thought you were going on a football trip. This is a funny book. The main character kept panicking. There are some good survival tips and good pictures.'
  • Joshua Zinkin, age 10 - 'This is an extremely exciting book that makes you nervous at some parts.'
  • Sam Brittain, age 8 - 'This is a fun and exiting book that is full of suspense. Great illustrations and survival tips by Survival Clive.'
  • Ross Dawson, age 11 - 'This book is not only an amazing adventure story, but it includes a range of epic illustrations! You should definitely grab yourself a copy and enjoy getting to know Charlie Merrick and his misfit friends.'
  • Monty Benton, age 7 - 'I loved this book! It is a funny story with lots of funny pictures all the way through.'
  • Charlie Hopkins, age 7 - 'Football is NOTHING like survival skills and that is exactly what Charlie and his football team found out!'
  • Charlie Swan, age 8 - 'This book was extremely funny. It is about a boy named Charlie and his team the Misfits.  They accidentally stay at a survival camp when really they just wanted to play football.'
  • Melissa Broomfield, age 8 - 'This is a great book, it’s funny and even gives you great advice on tying knots and finding your way without a compass.'
  • Daniel Bisland, age 7 - 'I enjoyed this book because it’s action-packed and I wanted to read on. I give it 101/100.'

Win a SIGNED hardback copy of Ottoline and the Purple Fox!

We are giving away 3 signed hardback copies of the fourth Ottoline adventure written and illustrated by Chris Riddell, Ottoline and the Purple Fox.

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

Draw closes on 5 December 2016. The winners will be notified by 16 December 2016 and you should have your prize in time for Christmas!

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 05/12/2016

Synopsis

Charlie Merrick's Misfits in I'm a Nobody, Get Me Out of Here! by Dave Cousins

'HELP! Somebody get me out of here! This is all a HUGE MISTAKE! I can't believe we ended up in this mess! Well ...actually I can. To be honest I'm not at all surprised. This is EXACTLY the kind of thing that ALWAYS happens to us!'

Charlie and his gang have ended up at the 'GO WILD!' survival camp for a whole week. Camp leader Survival Clive splits them into teams and dumps them in the middle of the forest. They've got three days to make it back to base camp. But there's a rumour of a wild beast on the loose; rival team, Wild Warriors, are pinching their stuff; and Charlie and Nature don't mix! If they're going to make it back home, the Misfits are going to have to use all their skill and guile to survive.

Told in Charlie's own hilarious words and doodles, this book is perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

Reviews

'Charlie Merrick's Misfits is a very exciting book that makes you want to turn the pages constantly ... I don't really like football but I love this book.' Guardian reader review

'This book features lots of cool stuff inside, like illustrations, comic strips, trading cards and match reports ... There's something here for everyone! 8.5/10 stars' - Wondrous Reads blog

'The book is brilliantly designed, a cornucopia of kickabout chaos' Read it Daddy Blog

About the Author

Dave Cousins

Dave Cousins grew up in Birmingham, in a house full of books and records. Abandoning childhood plans to be an astronaut, Dave went to art college in Bradford, joined a band and moved to London. He spent the next ten years touring and recording, and was nearly famous.

Dave’s writing career began aged ten, with an attempt to create a script for Fawlty Towers. He has been writing songs, poems and stories ever since. His short story The Floodlight Man was broadcast on BBC Radio Five Live, read by Dave himself.

He now lives in Hertfordshire with his wife and family, in a house full of books and records, and writes in a corner of the attic with an anarchic ginger cat for company.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
224 pages

Author

Dave Cousins
More books by Dave Cousins

Author's Website

www.davecousins.net/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Oxford University Press

Publication date

4th June 2015

ISBN

9780192738233

Categories


LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools