Young Houdini: The Demon Curse by Simon Nicholson

Young Houdini: The Demon Curse

Written by Simon Nicholson

9+ readers   11+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

This is the second book in Simon Nicholson’s adventure series about street-wise orphan and aspiring magician Harry Houdini, and invents a young life for the world’s most famous escapologist. It hasn’t come a moment too soon! Book one ended with Harry and his friends Billie and Arthur drugged and at the mercy of the mysterious White Crow. This one opens with a breath-taking escape from a locked suitcase, the first in a number of death-defying, don’t-try-this-at-home exploits for Harry. Set this time in the steamy American south, this is more page-turning stuff, with magic and illusion from both Harry and his enemies adding an extra thrill. Great for fans of Young Sherlock or Young Bond. ~ Andrea Reece


Young Houdini: The Demon Curse by Simon Nicholson

Young Houdini: The Demon Curse is the second book in the electrifying Young Houdini series. New Orleans, 1886. When the city's mayor is struck down by a terrifying, unexplained illness, whispers of voodoo and demonic magic are everywhere. Could it be that the mayor is the victim of a deadly curse? Harry is about to find out. Along with his best friends Billie and Artie he will travel to the deep, dark heart of the Mississippi river, using his extraordinary skills to investigate the mystery. But evil forces are at work and soon Harry will face his most lethal challenge yet ...can he unravel the truth before it's too late?

About the Author

A BAFTA nominated writer.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


224 pages


Simon Nicholson
More books by Simon Nicholson

Author's Website


Oxford University Press

Publication date

7th May 2015




It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

Lovereading 4 schools