Young Houdini: The Demon Curse by Simon Nicholson

Young Houdini: The Demon Curse

Written by Simon Nicholson

9+ readers   11+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

This is the second book in Simon Nicholson’s adventure series about street-wise orphan and aspiring magician Harry Houdini, and invents a young life for the world’s most famous escapologist. It hasn’t come a moment too soon! Book one ended with Harry and his friends Billie and Arthur drugged and at the mercy of the mysterious White Crow. This one opens with a breath-taking escape from a locked suitcase, the first in a number of death-defying, don’t-try-this-at-home exploits for Harry. Set this time in the steamy American south, this is more page-turning stuff, with magic and illusion from both Harry and his enemies adding an extra thrill. Great for fans of Young Sherlock or Young Bond. ~ Andrea Reece


Young Houdini: The Demon Curse by Simon Nicholson

Young Houdini: The Demon Curse is the second book in the electrifying Young Houdini series. New Orleans, 1886. When the city's mayor is struck down by a terrifying, unexplained illness, whispers of voodoo and demonic magic are everywhere. Could it be that the mayor is the victim of a deadly curse? Harry is about to find out. Along with his best friends Billie and Artie he will travel to the deep, dark heart of the Mississippi river, using his extraordinary skills to investigate the mystery. But evil forces are at work and soon Harry will face his most lethal challenge yet ...can he unravel the truth before it's too late?

About the Author

A BAFTA nominated writer.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


224 pages


Simon Nicholson
More books by Simon Nicholson

Author's Website


Oxford University Press

Publication date

7th May 2015




I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

Lovereading 4 schools