Young Houdini: The Demon Curse by Simon Nicholson
  

Young Houdini: The Demon Curse

Written by Simon Nicholson

9+ readers   11+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

This is the second book in Simon Nicholson’s adventure series about street-wise orphan and aspiring magician Harry Houdini, and invents a young life for the world’s most famous escapologist. It hasn’t come a moment too soon! Book one ended with Harry and his friends Billie and Arthur drugged and at the mercy of the mysterious White Crow. This one opens with a breath-taking escape from a locked suitcase, the first in a number of death-defying, don’t-try-this-at-home exploits for Harry. Set this time in the steamy American south, this is more page-turning stuff, with magic and illusion from both Harry and his enemies adding an extra thrill. Great for fans of Young Sherlock or Young Bond. ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

Young Houdini: The Demon Curse by Simon Nicholson

Young Houdini: The Demon Curse is the second book in the electrifying Young Houdini series. New Orleans, 1886. When the city's mayor is struck down by a terrifying, unexplained illness, whispers of voodoo and demonic magic are everywhere. Could it be that the mayor is the victim of a deadly curse? Harry is about to find out. Along with his best friends Billie and Artie he will travel to the deep, dark heart of the Mississippi river, using his extraordinary skills to investigate the mystery. But evil forces are at work and soon Harry will face his most lethal challenge yet ...can he unravel the truth before it's too late?

About the Author

A BAFTA nominated writer.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
224 pages

Author

Simon Nicholson
More books by Simon Nicholson

Author's Website

www.simonbnicholson.com/

Publisher

Oxford University Press

Publication date

7th May 2015

ISBN

9780192734761

Categories


It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools