The Story of the Blue Planet by Andri Snaer Magnason
  

The Story of the Blue Planet

Written by Andri Snaer Magnason
Illustrated by Aslaug Jonsdottir

7+ readers   All Shortlists and Winners   9+ readers   UKLA Book Awards   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Winner of the UKLA Book Awards 7-11 category 2014 A whimsical fairy tale that will appeal to fans of Maurice Sendak, Dr Seuss and Hans Christian Andersen, The Story of the Blue Planet is a critically acclaimed global hit being published in the UK for the first time. It's the story of two children who live on a planet inhabited only by children who never grow old but in other ways it's a world not unlike our own. There's a powerful underlying message about caring for our environment whilst at the same time telling a wonderfully entertaining story that is combined with bright, magical illustrations.

Andri Snær Magnason’s enthralling eco-story is one of the launch titles from Pushkin Children’s Books, a new imprint of leading literary publisher, Pushkin Press.

A Piece of Passion from Pushkin Children’s Books Publisher Adam Freudenheim “We were immediately attracted to The Story of the Blue Planet, as it's that rare thing: a children's book which has a powerful message (in this case about the need to care for our environment) which at the same time tells a wonderful, fantastically entertaining story. I loved the idea of a planet without grownups – as I'm sure all children will! – brought to life through the sheer exuberance of Magnason’s storytelling. Combined with bright, magical illustrations and the gravitas of international critical acclaim, we had to have it as one of our launch titles for Pushkin Children's Books.”

The first children’s book to win the prestigious Icelandic Literary Prize, it has already published in 26 countries and been made into a play.

Synopsis

The Story of the Blue Planet by Andri Snaer Magnason

Winner of the 2014 UKLA Book Award: an eco-fable with heart and humour.

Brimir and Hulda are best friends, living on a beautiful blue planet where there are no grown-ups, life is wild and free, and each day is more exciting than the last. Until, one day, a rocket ship piloted by a strange-looking adult named Gleesome Goodday crashes on the beach. He promises to make life a hundred times more fun - with flying-powder, and coated skin so that noone ever has to bathe again - and even nails the sun to their sky. But Hulda and Brimir soon discover that their endless fun has consequences they could never have imagined. Could it be that Gleesome Goodday is not everything he seems?

An extraordinary adventure of magic and generosity, and a beautifully simple tale of selfishness and sacrifice, The Story of the Blue Planet will delight and challenge readers of every age.

Andri Snaer Magnason is one of Iceland's most celebrated young writers. In 2002 Love Star was named 'Novel of the Year' by Icelandic booksellers and received the DV Literary Award and a nomination to the Icelandic Literary Prize. The Story of the Blue Planet - now published or performed in 22 countries - was the first children's book to receive the Icelandic Literary Prize and was also the recipient of the Janusz Korczak Honorary Award and the West Nordic Children's Book Prize. Magnason is the winner of the 2010 Kairos Award.

Reviews

'A Seussian mix of wonder, wit and gravitas' The New York Times

'Ambitious and intriguing, it creates a fable whose contemporary relevance will be easily grasped by its intended readers... there is nothing that I can think of in contemporary English language writing for children that has this kind of ambition' -- Clive Barnes

About the Author

Andri Snaer Magnason

Andri Snaer Magnason is one of Iceland's most celebrated young writers. In 2002 Love Star was named Novel of the Year by Icelandic booksellers and received the DV Literary Award and a nomination to the Icelandic Literary Prize.

The Story of the Blue Planet - now published or performed in 22 countries - was the first children's book to receive the Icelandic Literary Prize and was also the recipient of the Janusz Korczak Honorary Award and the West Nordic Children's Book Prize. Andri is the winner of the 2010 Kairos Award.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
144 pages

Author

Andri Snaer Magnason
More books by Andri Snaer Magnason

Author's Website

www.andrimagnason.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Pushkin Children's Books

Publication date

7th May 2015

ISBN

9781782690658

Categories

Publisher Profile

Pushkin Children's Books is an imprint of Pushkin Children's Books

logo

Pushkin Children's Books was launched in 2013 to share tales from different languages and cultures with younger readers, and to open the door to the wide, colourful worlds these stories offer. From picture books and adventure stories to fairy tales and classics, and from fifty-year-old bestsellers to current huge successes abroad, the books on the Pushkin Childrens list reflect the very best stories from around the world, for our most discerning readers of all: children. Twitter @PushkinPress www.facebook.com/PushkinPress

Publisher's Website

pushkinchildrens.com


It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools