The Story of the Blue Planet by Andri Snaer Magnason
  

The Story of the Blue Planet

Written by Andri Snaer Magnason
Illustrated by Aslaug Jonsdottir

7+ readers   All Shortlists and Winners   9+ readers   UKLA Book Awards   eBooks   eBooks   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Winner of the UKLA Book Awards 7-11 category 2014 A whimsical fairy tale that will appeal to fans of Maurice Sendak, Dr Seuss and Hans Christian Andersen, The Story of the Blue Planet is a critically acclaimed global hit being published in the UK for the first time. It's the story of two children who live on a planet inhabited only by children who never grow old but in other ways it's a world not unlike our own. There's a powerful underlying message about caring for our environment whilst at the same time telling a wonderfully entertaining story that is combined with bright, magical illustrations.

Andri Snær Magnason’s enthralling eco-story is one of the launch titles from Pushkin Children’s Books, a new imprint of leading literary publisher, Pushkin Press.

A Piece of Passion from Pushkin Children’s Books Publisher Adam Freudenheim “We were immediately attracted to The Story of the Blue Planet, as it's that rare thing: a children's book which has a powerful message (in this case about the need to care for our environment) which at the same time tells a wonderful, fantastically entertaining story. I loved the idea of a planet without grownups – as I'm sure all children will! – brought to life through the sheer exuberance of Magnason’s storytelling. Combined with bright, magical illustrations and the gravitas of international critical acclaim, we had to have it as one of our launch titles for Pushkin Children's Books.”

The first children’s book to win the prestigious Icelandic Literary Prize, it has already published in 26 countries and been made into a play.

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we are delighted to be giving you a chance to win a wonderful family break. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Story of the Blue Planet by Andri Snaer Magnason

Winner of the 2014 UKLA Book Award: an eco-fable with heart and humour.

Brimir and Hulda are best friends, living on a beautiful blue planet where there are no grown-ups, life is wild and free, and each day is more exciting than the last. Until, one day, a rocket ship piloted by a strange-looking adult named Gleesome Goodday crashes on the beach. He promises to make life a hundred times more fun - with flying-powder, and coated skin so that noone ever has to bathe again - and even nails the sun to their sky. But Hulda and Brimir soon discover that their endless fun has consequences they could never have imagined. Could it be that Gleesome Goodday is not everything he seems?

An extraordinary adventure of magic and generosity, and a beautifully simple tale of selfishness and sacrifice, The Story of the Blue Planet will delight and challenge readers of every age.

Andri Snaer Magnason is one of Iceland's most celebrated young writers. In 2002 Love Star was named 'Novel of the Year' by Icelandic booksellers and received the DV Literary Award and a nomination to the Icelandic Literary Prize. The Story of the Blue Planet - now published or performed in 22 countries - was the first children's book to receive the Icelandic Literary Prize and was also the recipient of the Janusz Korczak Honorary Award and the West Nordic Children's Book Prize. Magnason is the winner of the 2010 Kairos Award.

Reviews

'A Seussian mix of wonder, wit and gravitas' The New York Times

'Ambitious and intriguing, it creates a fable whose contemporary relevance will be easily grasped by its intended readers... there is nothing that I can think of in contemporary English language writing for children that has this kind of ambition' -- Clive Barnes

About the Author

Andri Snaer Magnason

Andri Snaer Magnason is one of Iceland's most celebrated young writers. In 2002 Love Star was named Novel of the Year by Icelandic booksellers and received the DV Literary Award and a nomination to the Icelandic Literary Prize.

The Story of the Blue Planet - now published or performed in 22 countries - was the first children's book to receive the Icelandic Literary Prize and was also the recipient of the Janusz Korczak Honorary Award and the West Nordic Children's Book Prize. Andri is the winner of the 2010 Kairos Award.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
144 pages

Author

Andri Snaer Magnason
More books by Andri Snaer Magnason

Author's Website

www.andrimagnason.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Pushkin Children's Books

Publication date

7th May 2015

ISBN

9781782690658

Categories

Publisher Profile

Pushkin Children's Books is an imprint of Pushkin Children's Books

logo

Pushkin Children's Books was launched in 2013 to share tales from different languages and cultures with younger readers, and to open the door to the wide, colourful worlds these stories offer. From picture books and adventure stories to fairy tales and classics, and from fifty-year-old bestsellers to current huge successes abroad, the books on the Pushkin Childrens list reflect the very best stories from around the world, for our most discerning readers of all: children. Twitter @PushkinPress www.facebook.com/PushkinPress

Publisher's Website

pushkinchildrens.com


I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****