Phoenix Rising by Bryony Pearce
  

Phoenix Rising

Written by Bryony Pearce
Part of the Phoenix series Series

13+ readers   YA readers   eBooks   eBooks   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A world where a devastating series of manmade and natural disasters have destroyed civilisations, leaving communities walled in and fearful, and the seas choked with mankind’s accumulated junk – plywood, shopping-carts and cheap tin trays. That’s the setting for Bryony Pearce’s rousing junk-punk pirate adventure which will surely fill readers with the urge to go down to the sea again! Central character Toby has grown up on the Phoenix, a cargo-ship turned pirate vessel trawling the polluted seas for whatever can be salvaged. Despite the harsh conditions, there’s a camaraderie to life on board and a romance to their way of life that is hugely appealing. Add to that a deadly rivalry with fellow pirate ship the Banshee, and possible real romance with Alya, the daughter of its captain, and it makes for a truly thrilling adventure! ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

Phoenix Rising by Bryony Pearce

Sail. Salvage. Survive. Toby's father is a wanted man. For as long as Toby can remember, they've been on the run. The Phoenix has become their home, their backyard the junk-filled seas surrounding it. The crew of the Banshee lives for hunting down the Phoenix and now they're closing in. Ayla has spent her whole life fighting - preparing for the moment when the Banshee will face its ultimate enemy. But Toby doesn't want to run any more and Ayla is his only hope. Can he turn an old feud into a new alliance? The future is in their hands.

Perfect for fans of Veronica Roth, Anthony Horowitz, Philip Reeve and Suzanne Collins.

Reviews

'I loved it! The age of the junk-punk has arrived!' Sarwat Chadda, author of the Ash Mystery Chronicles

'Thrilling, fast-paced and original.' Emma Pass, author of The Fearless

About the Author

Bryony Pearce was born in 1976 and has two young children. She completed an English Literature degree at Corpus Christi College Cambridge in 1998 and was a winner of the SCBWI anthology 'Undiscovered Voices' in 2008. More information about Bryony can be found on her website www.bryonypearce.co.uk

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
400 pages
Interest Age: From 12 to 16 years

Author

Bryony Pearce
More books by Bryony Pearce

Author's Website

www.bryonypearce.co.uk/

Publisher

Stripes Publishing an imprint of Little Tiger Press Group

Publication date

1st June 2015

ISBN

9781847154507

Categories


I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****