All Sorts of Possible by Rupert Wallis
  

All Sorts of Possible

Written by Rupert Wallis

YA readers   13+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Rupert Wallis is not afraid to tackle big issues in his novels for teens, including mysteries of good and evil and, in this book, whether there’s a destiny that shapes our ends. Daniel is travelling with his father when their car is suddenly swallowed by a sink hole. He manages to climb out of the car and call for help but is then trapped by a landslide. Somehow, miraculously, he escapes his underground tomb despite the dark and the cold. Daniel is regarded as a saint by many but his priority is to save his father, still in a coma after the accident. The accident has revealed psychic abilities though and this brings him to the attention of Mason, a genuinely evil man. Well-written, original, ambitious, this novel raises lots of questions. Recommended. ~ Andrea Reece

Win an original print from The Pavee and the Buffer Girl

Siobhan Dowd's powerful story of the fight against racism and prejudice, The Pavee and the Buffer Girl, has been reissued as a splendid graphic novel with stunning illustrations by Emma Shoard. We are giving away an ORIGINAL print from the book (shown here) and a copy SIGNED by Emma.

To have a chance of winning this special prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 3 May 2017. The winners will be notified by 15 May 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 03/05/2017

Synopsis

All Sorts of Possible by Rupert Wallis

When the sinkhole opened there was no time to brake or turn the wheel and the old green Land Rover was snatched off the dirt road over the smoking rim. The moment that a sinkhole swallows the car Daniel and his father are travelling in, everything changes: suddenly Daniel is the 'miracle boy' who escaped unharmed and his father is gone, trapped in a coma with no sign of recovery. Everyone wants to know the secret to Daniel's escape, including a Mason, a gangster who believes that Daniel is special and can help him secure the biggest score of his career...whatever it takes...But is Daniel really special or just lucky? And can he use whatever other's think is within him to help his father?

A lyrical and atmospheric novel from the phenomenally talented Rupert Wallis about love, loss and learning to accept the world for what it is, not what it could be. Perfect for fans of Patrick Ness and David Almond.

Reviews

Praise for The Dark Inside:

“There are echoes of David Almond’s Skellig in Wallis’s beautifully written debut . . . Profound and moving.” Financial Times

“A raw and haunting tale of love, loss and friendship.” Sugarscape

“Beautifully written with dark and fantastical characters, this book is a unique blend of fantasy, mystery, thriller and horror.” We Love This Book

About the Author

Rupert Wallis

Rupert Wallis read Theology at Cambridge University and holds an MFA in Screenwriting and Writing for Television from the University of Southern California. In 2010/11 he was one of five novelists chosen from the South West of England to participate in a mentorship programme funded by the Arts Council. He now lives in Cornwall.

Photo credit Joanne Willis

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
384 pages

Author

Rupert Wallis
More books by Rupert Wallis

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

13th August 2015

ISBN

9781471143663

Categories


It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools