Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Skelsa
  

Fans of the Impossible Life

Written by Kate Skelsa

YA readers   Debuts of the Month   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

September 2015 Debut of the Month

**PLEASE NOTE this title is now classified as an ADULT title due to the content**

Told through the eyes of three utterly unforgettable characters, this is a bold and poignant Young Adult debut about the wonders and complexities of love in all its forms. Mira is trying to forge a fresh start at high school after being hospitalised for recurring depression. Sebby, her best friend, is a lifeline, a whirlwind of warmth and energy, though he’s not without problems of his own. Sebby’s a foster kid, an impulsive risk-taker who’s hardly attended school since being badly beaten up by homophobic bullies. While Mira and Sebby struggle when they’re apart, together these infectiously unique individuals keep each other sane. Then they befriend Jeremy, an excruciatingly shy art geek and fellow outsider, and the three of them make a pact to live the impossible life, to sparkle like jewels ‘in the sad desert of the world’. With wit, warmth and remarkable honesty, it shows how friendship can provide shelter from the worst the world has to offer, and the strength to face it again. ~ Joanne Owen

Synopsis

Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Skelsa

Fans of the Impossible Life is the story of love, loss, growing up and the magic - and terror - of finding friends who truly see the person you are and the person you're trying to become. It's a story about rituals and love, and of those transformative friendships that burn hot and change you, but might not last. Sebby and his best friend Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips designed to fix the broken parts of their lives. Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd who's been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, it's as if he's been expecting him.

Fans of the Impossible Life is your perennial coming-of-age story, inspired by Brideshead Revisited with echoes of John Hughes’ classic 80s cult movies. Perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Looking for Alaska and I’ll Give You the Sun, this captivating and profound story about love, loss and growing up is an astonishing debut novel from a true rising talent. Above all else, Fans of the Impossible Life is a story about the magic of finding those friends who truly see the person you are and the person you’re trying to become. As Mira, Sebby and Jeremy try to fix their broken selves and live their impossible lives, Kate Scelsa beautifully portrays those transformative teenage friendships that burn hot and bright, resonating with anyone who has ever felt a little bit different from their peers.

About the Author

Kate Sclesa has performed in New York and around the world with experimental theatre company Elevator Repair Service in their trilogy of works based on great American Literature, including an eight-hour long performance that uses the entire text of The Great Gatsby. Kate lives in Brooklyn with her wife and two black cats. Fans of the Impossible Life is her first novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
336 pages
Interest Age: From 14

Author

Kate Skelsa
More books by Kate Skelsa

Publisher

Macmillan an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

10th September 2015

ISBN

9781509805143

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools