Witch Switch by Sibéal Pounder

Witch Switch

Written by Sibéal Pounder
Illustrated by Laura Ellen Anderson
Part of the Witch Wars Series

7+ readers   Hallowe'en   9+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A welcome return to Ritzy City, where Tiga Whicabim is now very happily settled in and enjoying her new life as a witch. She’s on holiday with her friend Fluffanora when a letter arrives from Fran the fairy with bad news: Peggy the Top Witch has gone missing and evil Felicity Bat is now in charge. Something’s obviously up, and Tiga and Fluffanora immediately set off to investigate. Witches are always popular subjects and this new series has its very own magic. Tiga, her friends and rivals are real characters, and the story zips along exuberantly. These witches are super-stylish too, and look wonderful in Laura Ellen Anderson’s illustrations. Absolutely fabulous! ~ Andrea Reece

Reader Reviews

Some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were lucky enough to read and review the first in this series, Witch Wars. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Isabella Fitz-costa, age 8 - 'The illustrations are outstanding...I loved this book so much that I would like to read the next book in the series!!!'
  • Ella Meredith, age 8 - 'This book is about a girl called Tiger who become a witch. I would give it 5 stars.'
  • Lexie Partleton, age 8 -  'The craziest, funniest book I've ever read!'
  • Leoni Williams age 9 - 'I didn't really love all the fashion and dresses and shoes and stuff. I thought that was a bit boring. But my mum says that is because I'm a tomboy so other girls might like it.'
  • Keeley Spooner, age 10 - 'Some bits in Witch Wars let me down because there was a small bit of anger in the book.'
  • Emily Golding, age 7 ½ - 'it was hilarious - the names of the witches, where they lived and the competition that they have for the Witch Wars.  What would you do with a shrivelled head?'
  • Grace Cuskeran, age 11 - 'a brilliant book about a girl called Tiga who meets a fabulous fairy called Fran who takes Tiga down the sink pipes to a place called Ritzy City where she takes part in Witch Wars.'
  • Evie Aconley, age 8 - 'An extremely exciting fun story.'
  • Caitlin Hill, age 7 - 'Tiga Whicabim knows nothing about being a witch, she doesn't even know she is one! And now someone mysterious has entered her in a witch contest...Brilliantly written book and fab drawings.'
  • Millie Barrett, age 8 - 'I loved this book!  It is exciting because you never know who is going to win Witch Wars or who is going to be out in the next round. '
  • Chloe Fernandes, age 9 - 'A young girl called Tiga gets whisked off into a magical event called 'Witch Wars'. I thought this book was a good read but not one of my favourites.'
  • Jessica Banks, age 8 - 'I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.  I liked the characters and the story.  The illustrations helped to bring the story to life. I would recommend this book.'
  • Jennifer Bridgeman, age 10 - 'Witch Wars is the funniest book I have read in ages.  The main character is a girl called Tiga Whicabim. Tiga gets whisked away to a place under the pipes and underground to a place, Ritzy city.'
  • Annabelle Cassidy, age 6 - 'This book has really funny bits, great characters, and a fast pace, making you feel that the race to be the winner is really thrilling.'


Witch Switch by Sibéal Pounder

The second glitzy adventure in the Witch Wars series is perfect for fans of The Worst Witch, Eva Ibbotson's hilarious Which Witch, and Witchworld.

Tiga Whicabim is settling in to the witchy, glitzy world of Ritzy City. Peggy is Top Witch, and Tiga is enjoying life at the Brews' house with Fluffanora. But when Fran the Fabulous Fairy visits Linden House and finds Peggy has gone - leaving behind only a note to say she is 'AWAY WITH THE FAIRIES' and has left the evil Felicity Bat in charge - the girls realise something is very wrong. And then witches all across town start to disappear. Tiga and Fluffanora set out to investigate and discover an old, unsolved Sinkville mystery that might just be the key to it all.


Praise for Witch Wars:

“Fizzing with fun…The short chapters and delightfully imaginative black and white illustrations make it easily accessible for young readers.” – Daily Mail

“Fabulous fairies and fashion-forward witches battle it out in this lively read.” – Observer

“I couldn’t put it down” – Guardian Kids Reviews

“Completely bonkers fun, from the brilliant inventions…to the glitzy characters.” – Mumsnet

“Silly spells, delectable dresses, magical mishaps and ridiculous riddles, this is a witch story like no other – and it’s a blast! Laura Ellen Anderson’s illustrations absolutely fizz with energy.” – The Bookseller

“A completely fresh and fun take on witches, Witch Wars is for anyone who likes magic, adventure, fashion or a fabulous story.” – Booktrust

“a glitzy, witchy new series full of adventure and fun” – WRD Magazine

About the Author

Sibéal Pounder

Sibéal Pounder used to work for the Financial Times, where she researched the How To Spend It section and wrote the For Goodness’ Sake column – interviewing everyone from Veronica Etro to Vivienne Westwood. Now she writes about fabulous witches and feisty fairies in Witch Wars, her much loved series for Bloomsbury. Sibéal's first book, Witch Wars, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2016.

Credit: Richard Grassie

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


272 pages
Interest Age: From 7


Sibéal Pounder
More books by Sibéal Pounder

Author's Website



Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

8th October 2015




I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

Lovereading 4 schools