Reader Reviewed The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave

Written by Rick Yancey
Part of the The 5th Wave Series

11+ readers   Books vs Films   All Shortlists and Winners   13+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A film tie-in version of The 5th Wave, a novel that packs a punch on every page with hope and despair in equal measure alongside life and death. It will leave you gasping for breath and keep you hooked to the end and long after it'll be a book that makes you think. In a sentence it's The Passage meets The Hunger Games and it's now major film by Sony Pictures starring Chloe Grace Moretz (If I Stay).

The sequel to The 5th Wave is equally gripping - download an extract of The Infinite Sea here!

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert review, some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Sarah Murray - 'I had extremely high hopes and I was not disappointed… I love how the author slowly introduces characters and cleverly entwines flashbacks… This book had me in tears and at times reaching for my old nightlight. This book is another utterly fabulous addition to the growing dystopian franchise!' Read full review >
  • Delilah Acworth, age 14 -'10/10 for this genius creation, it is definitely a book worth falling for!' Read full review >
  • Danielle Shepherd - 'This is an amazing book....a fast pacing, page turning book, not only can you not put it down but you want to read it again, which of course I did.' Read full review >
  • Morgan Steigmann, age 14 - 'This book should honestly be re-named the eighth wonder of the world, full of action, mystery and hope; the often occurring cliff-hangers will leave you in utter despair, with no choice but to delve into another nail-biting chapter.' Read full review >
  • Darcy Elliman, age 15 - 'Fifth Wave is an amazing, fast paced novel which has you gripped to every page.' Read full review >
  • Susana Sanchez - 'Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave has all the ingredients to become another one in the pile of dystopian fantasies so favoured by teenagers in the past few years. And it is a very good one at that. Fans of The Knife of Never Letting Go, I am Number 4 or The Hunger Games will not be disappointed.' Read full review >
  • Hollie Compton - 'I think great thought went into writing this book with how the characters were introduced and how they developed over the story.  The way everything led to another, and how the story flowed so smoothly was amazing.' Read full review >


The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

The 5th Wave is the award-winning and bestselling first book in an epic series from award-winning Rick Yancey that' s perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

The 1st Wave: Took out half a million people.

The 2nd Wave: Put that number to shame.

The 3rd Wave: Lasted a little longer. Twelve weeks...Four billion dead.

In The 4th Wave, You can't trust that people are still people.

And The 5th Wave? No one knows. But it's coming.

On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs. Runs from the beings that only look human, who have scattered Earth's last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope. Now Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Keep up with movie news about The 5th Wave at and @5thWaveMovie


'Remarkable, not-to-be-missed-under-any-circumstances ... JUST READ IT' Entertainment Weekly

'Wildly entertaining... I couldn't turn the pages fast enough' Justin Cronin The New York Times

'A modern sci-fi masterpiece... should do for aliens what Twilight did for vampires.' USA Today

The pace is relentless. Heat

Chilling. Sun

An epic sci-fi adventure about a terrifying alien invasion. You'll read it in one sitting. Book seller

About the Author

Rick Yancey

Rick is a native Floridian and a graduate of Roosevelt University in Chicago. He earned a B.A. in English which he put to use as a field officer for the Internal Revenue Service. Inspired and encouraged by his wife, he decided his degree might also be useful in writing books and in 2004 he began writing full-time.

Since then he has launched two critically acclaimed series: The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp, for young readers, and The Highly Effective Detective, for adults. Both books are set in Knoxville, Tennessee, where Rick lived for ten years before returning to Florida.

Rick lives with his wife, Sandy, his three sons, two dogs and one lizard.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


496 pages
Interest Age: From 12


Rick Yancey
More books by Rick Yancey

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest


Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

3rd November 2015




You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

Lovereading 4 schools