Supertato Veggies Assemble by Sue Hendra
  

Supertato Veggies Assemble

Written by Sue Hendra
Illustrated by Paul Linnet

3+ readers   Books of the Month   5+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

May 2016 Book of the Month You won’t find a dafter or more entertaining picture book than this new outing for Supertato, the spud with super powers! It’s anarchy in the supermarket when the peas – evil to their core – burst out of the freezers and turn them off. The vegetables are panicking, and time is running out for the ice lollies. There are so many peas that even Supertato needs to call in back up - Superveggies to the rescue! By fair means and some trickery they soon have the peas locked up and order restored. Peas have never looked so wicked, masked vegetables seldom so heroic! Silly in the extreme this will have the whole family laughing. Five-a-day fun! ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

Supertato Veggies Assemble by Sue Hendra

The Evil Pea is up to no good and there’s anarchy in the aisles! Can our supermarket hero, Supertato, divert disaster? Or is he going to need back up? This fabulous new picturebook hero comes from from Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet, the creators of Barry the Fish with Fingers, Norman the Slug with the Silly Shell and No-Bot the Robot with No Bottom.

Reviews

'Hilarious...One of the funniest picture books this year - read it and laugh out loud!' Creative Steps Magazine

Praise for Supertato:

'Hendra introduces another very silly but irresistible creation in the grand tradition of Barry, Norman, Keith et al.' Bookseller

Praise for Norman the Slug with the Silly Shell:

'Lovely glittery illustrations and simple text make this a must for pre-schoolers.' The Daily Mail

Praise for No-Bot the Robot with No Bottom:

'Fabulously funny and wonderfully warm.' Liverpool Echo

'Fans of Barry, Norman and Keith will absolutely adore this new wonderfully eccentric new character.' Mumsnet

About the Author

Sue Hendra

Sue Hendra says:

"I graduated from the University of Brighton in 1994 and have been working as an illustrator of children's books since then. I've worked on over 70 titles now and I really enjoy it. I used to illustrate completely by hand but now I work on computer as well as painting. In addition to making books I run weekly art clubs for 8- 12 year olds at two of my local museums. I started this a couple of years ago and discovered that I really love working with children. I still live in Brighton and work in a shared studio with seven other artists."

Sue Hendra has made a name for herself creating picture books starring the most endearingly wacky array of characters.

Barry the Fish with Fingers made a big splash when first published in 2009, and has since sold over 100,000 copies. Norman the Slug with the Silly Shell was the bestselling new picture book for the first quarter of 2011, and Keith the Cat with the Magic Hat burst onto the scenes in summer 2012.

Sue Hendra’s Simon & Schuster titles have reached almost 300,000 copies in the UK alone.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
30 pages
Interest Age: From 3

Author

Sue Hendra
More books by Sue Hendra

Author's Website

www.suehendra.com/

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

21st April 2016

ISBN

9781471121005

Categories


We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools