Eliza Rose by Lucy Worsley
  

Eliza Rose

Written by Lucy Worsley

11+ readers   Books of the Year 2016   Debuts of the Month   9+ readers   Julia Eccleshare's Picks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

One of our Books of the Year 2016 | Julia Eccleshare's Debut of the Month, April 2016 TV historian Lucy Worsley is gifted at bringing the past to life and shows it to great effect here. Her detailed knowledge of the Tudors, the people and above all the places, provides the perfect background to a coming of age story set in a different time. Eliza Camperdowne comes from an old but impoverished family; she knows that the future of her family’s fortunes depend on her making the right kind of marriage. Ideally, that means marrying a man with money and a title. But Eliza’s life plan is changed when she is sent with her cousin to be a maid of Honour at the Court of King Henry V111. Katherine may be a cousin but can Eliza trust her? As Katherine finds favour with the King himself, Eliza must learn to survive the intrigue and treachery of the court. ~ Julia Eccleshare

Julia Eccleshare's Picks of the Month for April 2016

Eliza Rose by Lucy Worsley

Tidy by Emily Gravett

Freddie Mole, Lion Tamer by Alexander McCall Smith

Slug Needs a Hug by Jeanne Willis

There's a Moose on the Loose by Lucy Feather

Nature's Day: Out and About by Kay Maguire

Win a SIGNED hardback copy of Ottoline and the Purple Fox!

We are giving away 3 signed hardback copies of the fourth Ottoline adventure written and illustrated by Chris Riddell, Ottoline and the Purple Fox.

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

Draw closes on 5 December 2016. The winners will be notified by 16 December 2016 and you should have your prize in time for Christmas!

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 05/12/2016

Synopsis

Eliza Rose by Lucy Worsley

The captivating debut children's novel from popular television historian Lucy Worsley is an exciting and charming glimpse behind the scenes of the Tudor court.

I would often wonder about my future husband. A knight? A duke? A stable boy? Of course the last was just a wicked fancy.

Eliza Rose Camperdowne is young and headstrong, but she knows her duty well. As the only daughter of a noble family, she must one day marry a man who is very grand and very rich. But Fate has other plans. When Eliza becomes a maid of honour, she's drawn into the thrilling, treacherous court of Henry the Eighth ...Is her glamorous cousin Katherine Howard a friend or a rival? And can a girl choose her own destiny in a world ruled by men?

Perfect for fans of Hetty Feather.

About the Author

Lucy Worsley is Chief Curator at Historic Royal Palaces, the independent charity that runs the Tower of London, Hampton Court Palace and other sites, which attract more than four million visitors a year. Lucy also presents history programmes for the BBC on topics including royal palaces and the court, such as Britain's Tudor Treasure with David Starkey. She has an exciting new project about Henry VIII and his court coming up on BBC One in 2016! www.lucyworsley.com @Lucy_Worsley

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Author

Lucy Worsley
More books by Lucy Worsley

Author's Website

www.lucyworsley.com

Publisher

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

7th April 2016

ISBN

9781408869437

Categories


We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools