Eliza Rose by Lucy Worsley
  

Eliza Rose

Written by Lucy Worsley

11+ readers   Debuts of the Month   9+ readers   Julia Eccleshare's Picks   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

One of our Books of the Year 2016 | Julia Eccleshare's Debut of the Month, April 2016 TV historian Lucy Worsley is gifted at bringing the past to life and shows it to great effect here. Her detailed knowledge of the Tudors, the people and above all the places, provides the perfect background to a coming of age story set in a different time. Eliza Camperdowne comes from an old but impoverished family; she knows that the future of her family’s fortunes depend on her making the right kind of marriage. Ideally, that means marrying a man with money and a title. But Eliza’s life plan is changed when she is sent with her cousin to be a maid of Honour at the Court of King Henry V111. Katherine may be a cousin but can Eliza trust her? As Katherine finds favour with the King himself, Eliza must learn to survive the intrigue and treachery of the court. ~ Julia Eccleshare

Julia Eccleshare's Picks of the Month for April 2016

Eliza Rose by Lucy Worsley

Tidy by Emily Gravett

Freddie Mole, Lion Tamer by Alexander McCall Smith

Slug Needs a Hug by Jeanne Willis

There's a Moose on the Loose by Lucy Feather

Nature's Day: Out and About by Kay Maguire

Synopsis

Eliza Rose by Lucy Worsley

The captivating debut children's novel from popular television historian Lucy Worsley is an exciting and charming glimpse behind the scenes of the Tudor court.

I would often wonder about my future husband. A knight? A duke? A stable boy? Of course the last was just a wicked fancy.

Eliza Rose Camperdowne is young and headstrong, but she knows her duty well. As the only daughter of a noble family, she must one day marry a man who is very grand and very rich. But Fate has other plans. When Eliza becomes a maid of honour, she's drawn into the thrilling, treacherous court of Henry the Eighth ...Is her glamorous cousin Katherine Howard a friend or a rival? And can a girl choose her own destiny in a world ruled by men?

Perfect for fans of Hetty Feather.

About the Author

Lucy Worsley

Lucy Worsley is Chief Curator at Historic Royal Palaces, the independent charity that runs the Tower of London, Hampton Court Palace and other sites, which attract more than four million visitors a year. Lucy also presents history programmes for the BBC on topics including royal palaces and the court, such as Britain's Tudor Treasure with David Starkey. She had an exciting new project about Henry VIII and his court coming up on BBC One in 2016.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Author

Lucy Worsley
More books by Lucy Worsley

Author's Website

www.lucyworsley.com/

Publisher

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

7th April 2016

ISBN

9781408869437

Categories


This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****