The Parent Problem by Anna Wilson

The Parent Problem

Written by Anna Wilson
Part of the The Mortifying Life of Skye Green Series

9+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

As any 12/13 year old will tell you, there’s nothing like a parent to cause you embarrassment. Not only did Skye Green’s parents land her with the worst name in history, her mum is determined to make her life even more awful by – shock horror – going out to have fun at dancing lessons. Skye has the sort of problems familiar to all kids her age – worries over friendships, feeling that the world is against her – and in this diary-style story she shares them all with the reader, who will sympathise with her, laugh at some of the mortifications she endures, but also notice – long before Skye does – that she’s so wrapped up in herself she’s missing some rather important things going on around her. Funny, entertaining, and full of gently delivered home truths.

For more contemporary, funny girl-centred stories try Cathy Hopkins, Cathy Cassidy and Karen McCombie. ~ Andrea Reece


The Parent Problem by Anna Wilson

Skye Green's mum is driving her insane! When she's not posting EMBARRASSING pictures of Skye online or experimenting with BIZARRE clothing, she's forever taking up new hobbies - and her latest obsession is ballroom dancing! It's only a matter of time until she waltzes down the street in spandex and sequins - and to make matters worse, Skye's younger brother is wildly (and irritatingly) enthusiastic about Mum's new hobby, and about wearing Mum's sparkly new outfits! As if this wasn't HORRIFIC enough, Skye's mum has also enlisted the new neighbour's son to come and 'babysit' when she's at dance class, and he's only a year older than Skye! Talk about MORTIFYING in the EXTREME! At least Skye's best friend, Aubrey is there to help Skye cope with her family's madness. They've been friends since before they can remember, and nothing will ever, EVER change that ...right?


Readers will enjoy working out the real reason behind the parents

's nice to find a real-world drama that isn't bogged down in too much tragedy. Lively, relatable and lots of fun. BookTrust Fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Cathy Cassidy will love this. Sunday Express This is a laugh-out-loud tale of tears, tantrums and terrific one-liners that will appeal to any girl whose family has made them cringe with embarrassment! Lancashire Evening Post'

About the Author

Anna Wilson

A graduate with a degree in Modern and Medieval Languages from Cambridge University, Anna Wilson went on to become a Picture Book Editor at Macmillan and subsequently a writer of children's books herself.

Anna is both a cat- and dog-type person. She lives in Bradford-on-Avon with her husband, two children, two cats, some chickens and a dog, Kenna (pictured, with Anna). She is the author of Puppy Love, Pup Idol, Puppy Power, Puppy Party, Kitten Kaboodle, Kitten Smitten, Kitten Cupid and Monkey Business - all for Macmillan Children's Books.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


240 pages
Interest Age: From 9


Anna Wilson
More books by Anna Wilson

Author's Website


Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

24th March 2016




I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

Lovereading 4 schools