This content is provided by Lovereading4kids.co.uk
The Parent Problem by Anna Wilson
  

The Parent Problem

Anna Wilson

Part of the The Mortifying Life of Skye Green Series
9+ readers   eBooks   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

As any 12/13 year old will tell you, there’s nothing like a parent to cause you embarrassment. Not only did Skye Green’s parents land her with the worst name in history, her mum is determined to make her life even more awful by – shock horror – going out to have fun at dancing lessons. Skye has the sort of problems familiar to all kids her age – worries over friendships, feeling that the world is against her – and in this diary-style story she shares them all with the reader, who will sympathise with her, laugh at some of the mortifications she endures, but also notice – long before Skye does – that she’s so wrapped up in herself she’s missing some rather important things going on around her. Funny, entertaining, and full of gently delivered home truths.

For more contemporary, funny girl-centred stories try Cathy Hopkins, Cathy Cassidy and Karen McCombie. ~ Andrea Reece

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we are delighted to be giving you a chance to win a wonderful family break. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Parent Problem by Anna Wilson

Skye Green's mum is driving her insane! When she's not posting EMBARRASSING pictures of Skye online or experimenting with BIZARRE clothing, she's forever taking up new hobbies - and her latest obsession is ballroom dancing! It's only a matter of time until she waltzes down the street in spandex and sequins - and to make matters worse, Skye's younger brother is wildly (and irritatingly) enthusiastic about Mum's new hobby, and about wearing Mum's sparkly new outfits! As if this wasn't HORRIFIC enough, Skye's mum has also enlisted the new neighbour's son to come and 'babysit' when she's at dance class, and he's only a year older than Skye! Talk about MORTIFYING in the EXTREME! At least Skye's best friend, Aubrey is there to help Skye cope with her family's madness. They've been friends since before they can remember, and nothing will ever, EVER change that ...right?

Reviews

Readers will enjoy working out the real reason behind the parents

's nice to find a real-world drama that isn't bogged down in too much tragedy. Lively, relatable and lots of fun. BookTrust Fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Cathy Cassidy will love this. Sunday Express This is a laugh-out-loud tale of tears, tantrums and terrific one-liners that will appeal to any girl whose family has made them cringe with embarrassment! Lancashire Evening Post'

About the Author

Anna Wilson

A graduate with a degree in Modern and Medieval Languages from Cambridge University, Anna Wilson went on to become a Picture Book Editor at Macmillan and subsequently a writer of children's books herself.

Anna is both a cat- and dog-type person. She lives in Bradford-on-Avon with her husband, two children, two cats, some chickens and a dog, Kenna (pictured, with Anna). She is the author of Puppy Love, Pup Idol, Puppy Power, Puppy Party, Kitten Kaboodle, Kitten Smitten, Kitten Cupid and Monkey Business - all for Macmillan Children's Books.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
240 pages

Author

Anna Wilson
More books by Anna Wilson

Author's Website

www.annawilson.co.uk/

Publisher

Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

24th March 2016

ISBN

9781509801312

Categories


Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****