The Parent Problem by Anna Wilson

The Parent Problem

Written by Anna Wilson
Part of the The Mortifying Life of Skye Green Series

9+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

As any 12/13 year old will tell you, there’s nothing like a parent to cause you embarrassment. Not only did Skye Green’s parents land her with the worst name in history, her mum is determined to make her life even more awful by – shock horror – going out to have fun at dancing lessons. Skye has the sort of problems familiar to all kids her age – worries over friendships, feeling that the world is against her – and in this diary-style story she shares them all with the reader, who will sympathise with her, laugh at some of the mortifications she endures, but also notice – long before Skye does – that she’s so wrapped up in herself she’s missing some rather important things going on around her. Funny, entertaining, and full of gently delivered home truths.

For more contemporary, funny girl-centred stories try Cathy Hopkins, Cathy Cassidy and Karen McCombie. ~ Andrea Reece


The Parent Problem by Anna Wilson

Skye Green's mum is driving her insane! When she's not posting EMBARRASSING pictures of Skye online or experimenting with BIZARRE clothing, she's forever taking up new hobbies - and her latest obsession is ballroom dancing! It's only a matter of time until she waltzes down the street in spandex and sequins - and to make matters worse, Skye's younger brother is wildly (and irritatingly) enthusiastic about Mum's new hobby, and about wearing Mum's sparkly new outfits! As if this wasn't HORRIFIC enough, Skye's mum has also enlisted the new neighbour's son to come and 'babysit' when she's at dance class, and he's only a year older than Skye! Talk about MORTIFYING in the EXTREME! At least Skye's best friend, Aubrey is there to help Skye cope with her family's madness. They've been friends since before they can remember, and nothing will ever, EVER change that ...right?


Readers will enjoy working out the real reason behind the parents

's nice to find a real-world drama that isn't bogged down in too much tragedy. Lively, relatable and lots of fun. BookTrust Fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Cathy Cassidy will love this. Sunday Express This is a laugh-out-loud tale of tears, tantrums and terrific one-liners that will appeal to any girl whose family has made them cringe with embarrassment! Lancashire Evening Post'

About the Author

Anna Wilson

A graduate with a degree in Modern and Medieval Languages from Cambridge University, Anna Wilson went on to become a Picture Book Editor at Macmillan and subsequently a writer of children's books herself.

Anna is both a cat- and dog-type person. She lives in Bradford-on-Avon with her husband, two children, two cats, some chickens and a dog, Kenna (pictured, with Anna). She is the author of Puppy Love, Pup Idol, Puppy Power, Puppy Party, Kitten Kaboodle, Kitten Smitten, Kitten Cupid and Monkey Business - all for Macmillan Children's Books.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


240 pages


Anna Wilson
More books by Anna Wilson

Author's Website


Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

24th March 2016




Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading 4 schools