Katy by Jacqueline Wilson
  

Katy

Written by Jacqueline Wilson

9+ readers   World Book Day    eBooks   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In her new book Jacqueline Wilson retells one of her own childhood favourites, Susan Coolidge’s classic What Katy Did. She echoes the original closely: both Katys are bright, headstrong, daydreamers with big imaginations, unable to avoid trouble. Like the original, Jacqueline Wilson’s Katy falls from a swing and breaks her back and it’s in what happens afterwards that the stories differ. Coolidge’s Katy learns from her cousin Helen and the ‘school of pain’ to be patient, cheerful and neat. Wilson’s story has a Helen too, also a wheelchair user, who teaches Katy a ‘can do’ attitude that sees her going back to school, determined to live life on her own terms. Katy’s accident does help her see other peoples’ points of view however and her relationships with her step-mum and step-sister improve hugely. Wilson’s Katy is a real girl facing a terrible situation with courage. Young readers will love it, and it will get them thinking too. ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

Katy by Jacqueline Wilson

Katy Carr is a lively, daredevil oldest sister in a big family. She loves messing around outdoors, climbing on the garage roof, or up a tree, cycling, skateboarding, swinging...But her life changes in dramatic and unexpected ways after a serious accident. Inspired by the classic novel, What Katy Did, Jacqueline Wilson creates an irresistible modern version for the twenty-first-century. This title is suitable for fans of Hetty Feather and Tracy Beaker will fall in love with Katy and her family too.

About the Author

Jacqueline Wilson

Jacqueline Wilson was our Guest Editor in February 2012. Click here to see her selection of books.

Jacqueline Wilson was born in Bath in 1945, but spent most of her childhood in Kingston-on-Thames. She always wanted to be a writer and wrote her first ‘novel’ when she was nine, filling in countless Woolworths’ exercise books as she grew up. As a teenager she started work for a magazine publishing company and then went on to work as a journalist on Jackie magazine (which she was told was named after her!) before turning to writing novels full-time.

Jacqueline is one of the nation’s favourite authors, and her books are loved and cherished by young readers not only in the UK but all over the world. According to a recent Mori poll, Jacqueline was voted English children favourite children’s author. She has sold millions of books and in the UK alone the total stands at over 25 million!

In 2002 Jacqueline was awarded the OBE for services to literacy in schools and from 2005 to 2007 she was the Children’s Laureate. In 2008 she became Dame Jacqueline Wilson.

2011 saw the 20th Anniversary of her best known novel, The Story of Tracy Beaker,which is not only still hugely popular but has given life to two sequels and an award-winning TV series for CBBC.

Click here to download an interview with Jacqueline.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
480 pages
Interest Age: From 9

Author

Jacqueline Wilson
More books by Jacqueline Wilson

Author's Website

www.jacquelinewilson.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Puffin an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

5th May 2016

ISBN

9780141353982

Categories


I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools