Spangles McNasty and the Fish of Gold by Steve Webb
  

Spangles McNasty and the Fish of Gold

Written by Steve Webb
Illustrated by Chris Mould
Part of the Spangles McNasty Series

7+ readers   9+ readers   Books for Boys   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

To the canon of disgusting, disreputable villains loved by children – the Twits, Mr Gum, Armitage Shanks – can now be added Spangles McNasty and his sidekick Sausage-face Pete. To give you an idea of how nasty Spangles is, his ideal day would include collecting (ie stealing) something spangly from an old lady in a library, whilst eating cold chips, farting, pulling a face and shouting all at the same time. Spangles plans to steal all the goldfish in the town of Bitterly Bay because he thinks they’re made of real gold, but he’s reckoned without young Freddie Taylor. With its zany plot, an abundance of the fanciful imagery and word play that young readers love, and highly eccentric cast of characters, this is unadulterated fun!

Perfect for fans of Mr Gum, readers who enjoy the adventures of Spangles McNasty will also like William Sutcliffe’s Circus of Thieves books. ~ Andrea Reece

Win books 1 & 2 in the Rory Branagan (Detective) Series!

To mark the publication of the second book in the Rory Branagan (Detective) series, we are giving away books 1 & 2 to to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Draw closes on 9 July 2018. The winners will be notified by 16 July 2018.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 09/07/2018

Synopsis

Spangles McNasty and the Fish of Gold by Steve Webb

Welcome to Bitterly Bay. Spangles McNasty has decided to spend his summer doing what he loves the most: shouting at babies, pulling faces at old ladies, eating cold chips from bins and best of all, collecting other people's spangly things! Having convinced themselves that goldfish are made of gold and that they grow to the size of whales, Spangles and his friend Sausage-face Pete decide to find the great Fish of Gold. They'll be rich forever! Only young Freddie Taylor can stop Spangles' dastardly plan, in a tale full of time-travelling jet skis, madcap chases and haunted custard. It is a tale so odd, your mind-cogs will jam with happiness for ever after!

Reviews

'Skullduggery, thievery and anarchic humour in a heavily illustrated tale for fans of Mr Gum.' Fiona Noble The Bookseller

About the Author

Steve Webb

Steve Webb was born in Newcastle, and studied at Bristol Art College. He is also the author of the successful Tanka Tanka Skunk. He currently lives in the Peak District with his three children.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
176 pages

Author

Steve Webb
More books by Steve Webb

Publisher

Andersen Press Ltd

Publication date

5th May 2016

ISBN

9781783444007

Categories

Publisher Profile

Andersen Press Ltd is an imprint of Andersen Press

logo Andersen Press is one of the leading independent children’s publishers, publishing some of the biggest names in the world of children's books including the much-loved picture book characters the Little Princess and Elmer the patchwork elephant. Andersen Press is the home of many award-winning authors and illustrators including Melvin Burgess, Rebecca Stead, Satoshi Kitamura, Tony Ross, David McKee, Chris Judge and Jeanne Willis. Founded in 1976 by Klaus Flugge it won the Bologna Best Children’s Publisher prize in the European Category in 2016, the company’s 40th anniversary year.

Publisher's Website

www.andersenpress.co.uk


LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****