Spangles Mcnasty and the Fish of Gold by Steve Webb
  

Spangles Mcnasty and the Fish of Gold

Written by Steve Webb
Illustrated by Chris Mould
Part of the Spangles Mcnasty Series

7+ readers   9+ readers   Books for Boys   Summer Reading   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

To the canon of disgusting, disreputable villains loved by children – the Twits, Mr Gum, Armitage Shanks – can now be added Spangles McNasty and his sidekick Sausage-face Pete. To give you an idea of how nasty Spangles is, his ideal day would include collecting (ie stealing) something spangly from an old lady in a library, whilst eating cold chips, farting, pulling a face and shouting all at the same time. Spangles plans to steal all the goldfish in the town of Bitterly Bay because he thinks they’re made of real gold, but he’s reckoned without young Freddie Taylor. With its zany plot, an abundance of the fanciful imagery and word play that young readers love, and highly eccentric cast of characters, this is unadulterated fun!

Perfect for fans of Mr Gum, readers who enjoy the adventures of Spangles McNasty will also like William Sutcliffe’s Circus of Thieves books. ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

Spangles Mcnasty and the Fish of Gold by Steve Webb

Welcome to Bitterly Bay. Spangles McNasty has decided to spend his summer doing what he loves the most: shouting at babies, pulling faces at old ladies, eating cold chips from bins and best of all, collecting other people's spangly things! Having convinced themselves that goldfish are made of gold and that they grow to the size of whales, Spangles and his friend Sausage-face Pete decide to find the great Fish of Gold. They'll be rich forever! Only young Freddie Taylor can stop Spangles' dastardly plan, in a tale full of time-travelling jet skis, madcap chases and haunted custard. It is a tale so odd, your mind-cogs will jam with happiness for ever after!

Reviews

'Skullduggery, thievery and anarchic humour in a heavily illustrated tale for fans of Mr Gum.' Fiona Noble The Bookseller

About the Author

Steve Webb (Author) Steve Webb was born in Newcastle, and studied at Bristol Art College. He is also the author of the successful Tanka Tanka Skunk. He currently lives in the Peak District with his three children. Chris Mould (Illustrator) Chris Mould is an award-winning illustrator who went to art school at 16. His work includes picture books and fiction, animation and satirical cartoons for national newspapers. He lives in Yorkshire with his wife and has two grown-up daughters.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
176 pages
Interest Age: From 7

Author

Steve Webb
More books by Steve Webb

Publisher

Andersen Press Ltd

Publication date

5th May 2016

ISBN

9781783444007

Categories

Publisher Profile

Andersen Press Ltd is an imprint of Andersen Press

logo Andersen Press is one of the leading independent children’s publishers, publishing some of the biggest names in the world of children's books including the much-loved picture book characters the Little Princess and Elmer the patchwork elephant. Andersen Press is the home of many award-winning authors and illustrators including Melvin Burgess, Rebecca Stead, Satoshi Kitamura, Tony Ross, David McKee, Chris Judge and Jeanne Willis. Founded in 1976 by Klaus Flugge it won the Bologna Best Children’s Publisher prize in the European Category in 2016, the company’s 40th anniversary year.

Publisher's Website

www.andersenpress.co.uk


It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools