The Mighty Dynamo by Kieran Crowley
  

The Mighty Dynamo

Written by Kieran Crowley
Illustrated by Marta Kissi

9+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a Nutshell: football – family – fair play

Some people believe football is a matter of life and death, but as Bill Shankly said, it’s much more important than that. Noah really needs to play in the Schools World Cup so when he’s suspended – unfairly – from the school team Stevie, his friend and a tactical genius, finds a way round the rules. It’s a classic story of a group of almost no-hopers forming themselves into a real team, with the added bonuses of crooked opponents and Noah’s special motivation. Funny, exciting, really good on the mechanics of the beautiful game and with a great cast of characters, it’s a rewarding read; in fact, in a game of two halves, this book would win both of them. ~ Andrea Reece

This is recommended for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Tom Palmer also writes exciting football stories.

Win books 1 & 2 in the Rory Branagan (Detective) Series!

To mark the publication of the second book in the Rory Branagan (Detective) series, we are giving away books 1 & 2 to to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Draw closes on 9 July 2018. The winners will be notified by 16 July 2018.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 09/07/2018

Synopsis

The Mighty Dynamo by Kieran Crowley

Noah longs to be a professional footballer - and playing in the Schools' World Cup qualifiers might be just what he needs to get scouted. But when he's banned from his school team for something he didn't do, all his dreams are in doubt. Determined to live up to his Mighty Dynamo nickname, Noah must find his own way to enter the contest - no matter what it takes! With best friend Stevie on tactics, and the skills of some unlikely new teammates, he's soon ready to take on the world - just as long as no one plays foul ...

Reviews

This super book brings together so many elements, and they all blend superbly in a hilarious story - there's football (of course), there's friendship and there's plenty of fun. A great story to encourage boys and sports fans to read. * Parents in Touch * This book has it all: laugh-out-loud moments, lump-in-throat moments, an exciting storyline, and great characters you genuinely care about. Readers will find themselves cheering on Noah and his team, right to the exciting finale. One of the best of 2016 so far. -- BookTrust * BookTrust Reviews * [A] compelling reading for sports fans... * Cork Evening Echo * Football fans will love! * Irish Independent *

About the Author

Kieran Crowley

Kieran Crowley is a children's writer from Mallow, Co. Cork. His debut novel, Colm & the Lazarus Key was nominated for the Bisto Book of the Year Award in 2010 and The Mighty Dynamo was shortlisted for the Hull Children's Book Award. The Misfits Club is Kieran's second novel published by Macmillan Children's Books.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
384 pages

Author

Kieran Crowley
More books by Kieran Crowley

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

19th May 2016

ISBN

9781447299783

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****