The Mighty Dynamo by Kieran Crowley
  

The Mighty Dynamo

Written by Kieran Crowley
Illustrated by Marta Kissi

9+ readers   Summer Reading   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a Nutshell: football – family – fair play

Some people believe football is a matter of life and death, but as Bill Shankly said, it’s much more important than that. Noah really needs to play in the Schools World Cup so when he’s suspended – unfairly – from the school team Stevie, his friend and a tactical genius, finds a way round the rules. It’s a classic story of a group of almost no-hopers forming themselves into a real team, with the added bonuses of crooked opponents and Noah’s special motivation. Funny, exciting, really good on the mechanics of the beautiful game and with a great cast of characters, it’s a rewarding read; in fact, in a game of two halves, this book would win both of them. ~ Andrea Reece

This is recommended for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Tom Palmer also writes exciting football stories.

Synopsis

The Mighty Dynamo by Kieran Crowley

Noah longs to be a professional footballer - and playing in the Schools' World Cup qualifiers might be just what he needs to get scouted. But when he's banned from his school team for something he didn't do, all his dreams are in doubt. Determined to live up to his Mighty Dynamo nickname, Noah must find his own way to enter the contest - no matter what it takes! With best friend Stevie on tactics, and the skills of some unlikely new teammates, he's soon ready to take on the world - just as long as no one plays foul ...

Reviews

Football fans will love! Irish Independent [A] compelling reading for sports fans... Cork Evening Echo This super book brings together so many elements, and they all blend superbly in a hilarious story - there's football (of course), there's friendship and there's plenty of fun. A great story to encourage boys and sports fans to read. Parents in Touch This book has it all: laugh-out-loud moments, lump-in-throat moments, an exciting storyline, and great characters you genuinely care about. Readers will find themselves cheering on Noah and his team, right to the exciting finale. One of the best of 2016 so far. -- BookTrust BookTrust Reviews a back-of-the-net stunner INIS Reading Guide Football fans will love! Irish Independent [A] compelling reading for sports fans... Cork Evening Echo This book has it all: laugh-out-loud moments, lump-in-throat moments, an exciting storyline, and great characters you genuinely care about. Readers will find themselves cheering on Noah and his team, right to the exciting finale. One of the best of 2016 so far. -- BookTrust BookTrust Reviews This super book brings together so many elements, and they all blend superbly in a hilarious story - there's football (of course), there's friendship and there's plenty of fun. A great story to encourage boys and sports fans to read. Parents in Touch

About the Author

Kieran Crowley

Kieran Crowley is a children's writer from Mallow, Co. Cork. His debut novel, Colm & the Lazarus Key was nominated for the Bisto Book of the Year Award in 2010. The follow-up Colm & The Ghost's Revenge was published in 2012.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
384 pages
Interest Age: From 8

Author

Kieran Crowley
More books by Kieran Crowley

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

19th May 2016

ISBN

9781447299783

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools