The Mighty Dynamo by Kieran Crowley
  

The Mighty Dynamo

Written by Kieran Crowley
Illustrated by Marta Kissi

9+ readers   Summer Reading   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a Nutshell: football – family – fair play

Some people believe football is a matter of life and death, but as Bill Shankly said, it’s much more important than that. Noah really needs to play in the Schools World Cup so when he’s suspended – unfairly – from the school team Stevie, his friend and a tactical genius, finds a way round the rules. It’s a classic story of a group of almost no-hopers forming themselves into a real team, with the added bonuses of crooked opponents and Noah’s special motivation. Funny, exciting, really good on the mechanics of the beautiful game and with a great cast of characters, it’s a rewarding read; in fact, in a game of two halves, this book would win both of them. ~ Andrea Reece

This is recommended for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Tom Palmer also writes exciting football stories.

Win a SIGNED hardback copy of Ottoline and the Purple Fox!

We are giving away 3 signed hardback copies of the fourth Ottoline adventure written and illustrated by Chris Riddell, Ottoline and the Purple Fox.

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

Draw closes on 5 December 2016. The winners will be notified by 16 December 2016 and you should have your prize in time for Christmas!

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 05/12/2016

Synopsis

The Mighty Dynamo by Kieran Crowley

Noah longs to be a professional footballer - and playing in the Schools' World Cup qualifiers might be just what he needs to get scouted. But when he's banned from his school team for something he didn't do, all his dreams are in doubt. Determined to live up to his Mighty Dynamo nickname, Noah must find his own way to enter the contest - no matter what it takes! With best friend Stevie on tactics, and the skills of some unlikely new teammates, he's soon ready to take on the world - just as long as no one plays foul ...

Reviews

Football fans will love! Irish Independent [A] compelling reading for sports fans... Cork Evening Echo This super book brings together so many elements, and they all blend superbly in a hilarious story - there's football (of course), there's friendship and there's plenty of fun. A great story to encourage boys and sports fans to read. Parents in Touch This book has it all: laugh-out-loud moments, lump-in-throat moments, an exciting storyline, and great characters you genuinely care about. Readers will find themselves cheering on Noah and his team, right to the exciting finale. One of the best of 2016 so far. -- BookTrust BookTrust Reviews Football fans will love! Irish Independent [A] compelling reading for sports fans... Cork Evening Echo This book has it all: laugh-out-loud moments, lump-in-throat moments, an exciting storyline, and great characters you genuinely care about. Readers will find themselves cheering on Noah and his team, right to the exciting finale. One of the best of 2016 so far. -- BookTrust BookTrust Reviews This super book brings together so many elements, and they all blend superbly in a hilarious story - there's football (of course), there's friendship and there's plenty of fun. A great story to encourage boys and sports fans to read. Parents in Touch

About the Author

Kieran Crowley

Kieran Crowley is a children's writer from Mallow, Co. Cork. His debut novel, Colm & the Lazarus Key was nominated for the Bisto Book of the Year Award in 2010. The follow-up Colm & The Ghost's Revenge was published in 2012.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
384 pages
Interest Age: From 8

Author

Kieran Crowley
More books by Kieran Crowley

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

19th May 2016

ISBN

9781447299783

Categories


I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools