Reader Reviewed Girl Out of Water by Nat Luurtsema
  

Girl Out of Water

Written by Nat Luurtsema

11+ readers   13+ readers   Summer Reading   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: (the loneliness of the long distance swimmer) comedy – romance – synchronised swimming

Perfect for the summer holidays or as revision comfort reading, Girl Out of Water is a sparkling comedy, with a great central character. Lou is just about keeping her head above water: she’s lost her chance for Olympic swimming stardom after flunking the time trials and what’s worse, her best friend Hannah didn’t. Now Lou is on her own at school with a sinking feeling – all that training hasn’t left room for much else. So when a trio of the school’s fittest boys ask her to help them develop a synchronised swimming routine for a TV talent contest, of course she says yes. Lou has a brilliant line in self-deprecation and the dialogue glistens; and if the plot is far-fetched, who cares when it’s this much fun. ~ Andrea Reece

Reader Reviews

Teens & YA's love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our older Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Amelie Chatham, age 13 - 'This is a great book for fans of Holly Smale's Geek Girl books.'
  • Holly Carver, age 13 - 'Girl Out of Water is a really funny book.  I can completely connect to what she is feeling.  It's a great story that took me through a World of emotions.'
  • Sidney Greenslade, age 12 - 'Possibly my favourite book ever! ‘Girl Out of Water’ is hilarious and impossible to put down! I am already re-reading it! Perfect!'
  • Edel Waugh - 'This was a delightful story about new beginnings, friendships and dreams with plenty of laugh out loud moments and some love to hate mean girls.'
  • Cesca Anderson - 'Girl Out Of Water is a hilarious, brutally honest and laugh out loud of a book that kept me in raptures throughout.'
  • Humaira Kauser, age 18 - 'Hilariously funny and so hard to put down!' 
  • Ellen Faulkner, age 14 - 'Girl Out Of Water is a very good book...it just wasn't my cup of tea, however, I would recommend it to other readers.'
  • Jodi Coffman, age 14 - 'It was light hearted and funny and it was so good that I read it in a day! I recommend this book to anyone looking for a unique, quick-read that is extremely funny.'

Synopsis

Girl Out of Water by Nat Luurtsema

A thoroughly British teen comedy starring a hilariously flawed heroine with a quip for every occasion - perfect for fans of Holly Smale, Holly Bourne, Caitlin Moran and Sophie Kinsella.

Lou Brown's life is going down the pan. Best friend Hannah sailed through the Olympic time trials and is off to her fancy-pants new swim training school, while Lou's own failure to qualify leaves her without a hobby - or a friend. As Lou tries to navigate her post-swim world, a chance encounter with three boys with stars in their eyes takes her life in a surprising new direction. One that leads to a crazy world of underwater somersaults, talent show auditions, bitchy girls and one great big load of awkward boy chat.

Reviews

This irreverently funny debut by BAFTA-nominated screenwriter Nat Luurtsema is brutally honest and truly LOL - read it and weep (with laughter) by the pool. Family Traveller ...a brilliant, funny mix of swimming, boys, and a TV talent show. The Express The ensuing drama is pin-sharp in its observation of teenage angst and pressures. A perfect summer read for teenage girls. Daily Mail The Louise Rennison of the next generation. Rachel Kennedy, YA-BBERINGBOOKLOVER Blogspot

About the Author

Nat Luurtsema

Nat Luurtsema is a stand-up comedian, actor, BAFTA-nominated screenwriter and author of Cuckoo in the Nest, a comic memoir for adults published by Hodder & Stoughton. Nat lives in London, SE24; this is her first book for teens.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
320 pages
Interest Age: From 12

Author

Nat Luurtsema
More books by Nat Luurtsema

Author's Website

www.natluurtsema.com/

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

2nd June 2016

ISBN

9781406366525

Categories


I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools