The Hunting of the Snark by Lewis Carroll
  

The Hunting of the Snark

Written by Lewis Carroll
Illustrated by Chris Riddell

7+ readers   Alice 150th   9+ readers   Julia Eccleshare's Picks   Poetry    eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Julia Eccleshare's Pick of the Month July 2016 A perfect celebration of Alice Day 2016, this beautiful, fully illustrated edition of Lewis Carroll’s great comic masterpiece which comes complete with gilt-edged pages and a ribbon for a marker, is the perfect gift book for all ages. The Hunting of the Snark, the riotous story of a motley crew’s journey to find the elusive Snark, has a cast of amazing characters including some from Carroll’s The Jabberwocky all of which Chris Riddell brings to life in glorious, brightly coloured caricatures. ~ Julia Eccleshare

A message from Chris Riddell : This book is nonsense and, like all the best nonsense, it makes a special kind of sense. The hunting of a Snark is a very complicated business and I suspect that not even the Bellman himself really knows quite how to go about it. But that doesn’t stop him and his crew from pursuing the strange, elusive creature with all the tools at their disposal. Thimbles, forks, railway-shares and soap are all used, along with a lot of care, hope, threats and smiles, but not even the lace-making Beaver, ‘bounding along on the tip of its tail’, can get close. Then, after seven poetic convulsions, in a final ‘fit’ of energy, one of the crew spots a Snark and . . . But no, beamish readers, I won’t give away the ending at the beginning, that would be nonsense. Just let me say, beware of the Jubjub bird that sounds like ‘a pencil that squeaks on a slate’, the frume of the frumious Bandersnatch that can turn you black in the face and, most of all, hunt the Snark carefully, for it might be a Boojum, you see.

Julia Eccleshare's Picks of the Month for July 2016

Melric and the Crown by David McKee

The Hunting of the Snark by Lewis Carroll, illustrated by Chris Riddell

Up, Up and Away by Tom McLaughlin

Strange Star by Emma Carroll

Farmer Duck by Martin Waddell

Such Stuff: A Story-Maker's Inspiration by Michael Morpurgo


The Good Book Guide logo The Good Book Guide Review. In this gloriously absurd picture book version of Carroll's famous nonsense poem, in ‘Eight Fits’, Helen Oxenbury catches exactly the infectious mood of lunacy enshrined which makes the voyage in search of the Snark, who turns out to be a Boojum, a classic.
~

Synopsis

The Hunting of the Snark by Lewis Carroll

They sought it with thimbles, they sought it with care; They pursued it with forks and hope; They threatened its life with a railway-share; They charmed it with smiles and soap.

Lewis Carroll's magnificent nonsense poem The Hunting of the Snark features an unlikely cast of characters drawn from the Jabberwocky in Through the Looking Glass.

This re-telling of a crew of men searching high and low for the elusive Snark is not only given a fresh look from Chris Riddell’s intricate and beautiful colour artwork, but as any eagle-eyed reader will soon discover , there is a particular twist for one of the characters in the story.

Chris has previously commented that John Tenniel, the original black and white illustrator of both Alice in Wonderland stories, inspired him to become a political cartoonist and children’s illustrator, and his drawings for The Hunting of the Snark pay homage to Tenniel’s beautiful artwork. Melric and the

The Hunting of the Snark is available in a sumptuous gift edition that is perfect for fans of Lewis Carroll and Chris Riddell of all ages and continues the Macmillan celebrations of Lewis Carroll’s extraordinary Alice in Wonderland world.

Reviews

“This book is nonsense and, like all the best nonsense, it makes a special kind of sense.” Chris Riddell

About the Author

Lewis Carroll

Lewis Carroll was born Charles Lutwidge Dodgson on January 27, 1832, the eldest son and third of eleven children born to Frances Jane Lutwidge and the Reverend Charles Dodgson. Carroll had a happy childhood. His mother was patient and gentle, and his father, despite his religious duties, tutored all his children and raised them to be good people. Carroll frequently made up games and wrote stories and poems, some of which were similar to his later published works, for his seven sisters and three brothers.

He was educated at Richmond School in Yorkshire, Rugby School and Christ Church, Oxford. Although his years at Rugby School (1846–49) were unhappy, he was recognized as a good student, and in 1850 he was admitted to further study at Christ Church, Oxford.

He graduated in 1854, and in 1855 he became mathematical lecturer at the college, where he was a somewhat eccentric and withdrawn character. This permanent appointment, which not only recognized his academic skills but also paid him a decent sum, required Carroll to take holy orders in the Anglican Church and to remain unmarried. He agreed to these requirements and was made a deacon in 1861.

Carroll loved to entertain children, and it was Alice, the young daughter of Henry George Liddell, Dean of Christ Church, who can be credited with his pinnacle inspiration. Alice Liddell remembers spending many hours with Carroll, sitting on his couch while he told fantastic tales of dream worlds. During an afternoon picnic with Alice and her two sisters, Carroll told the first iteration of what would later become Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. When Alice arrived home, she exclaimed that he must write the story down for her.

He fulfilled the small girl's request, and through a series of coincidences, the story fell into the hands of the novelist Henry Kingsley, who urged Carroll to publish it. The book Alice's Adventures in Wonderland was released in 1865. It gained steady popularity, and as a result, Carroll wrote the sequel, Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There, which contained the nonsense poem classic The Jabberwocky (1871). By the time of his death, Alice had become the most popular children's book in England, and by 1932 it was one of the most popular in the world.

Unlike most of the children's books of the day, Alice and through the Looking Glass did not attempt to convey obvious moral lessons. Nor did they contain what critics have tried to insist are there—hidden meanings relating to religion or politics. They are delightful adventure stories in which a normal, healthy, clearheaded little girl reacts to the "reality" of the adult world. Their appeal to adults as well as to children lies in Alice's intelligent response to ridiculous language and action.

Carroll published several other nonsense works, including The Hunting of the Snark (1876), Sylvie and Bruno (1889), and Sylvie and Bruno Concluded (1893). He also wrote a number of pamphlets poking fun at university affairs, which appeared under a fake name or without any name at all, and he composed several works on mathematics under his true name. In 1881 Carroll gave up his lecturing to devote all of his time to writing.

Lewis Carroll died of bronchitis in his sister's home in Guildford on 14 July, 1898.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
96 pages
Interest Age: From 9

Author

Lewis Carroll
More books by Lewis Carroll

Publisher

Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

30th June 2016

ISBN

9781509814336

Categories


You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools