This content is provided by Lovereading4kids.co.uk
Up, Up and Away by Tom McLaughlin
  

Up, Up and Away

Tom McLaughlin

Baby and Toddler   3+ readers   Julia Eccleshare's Picks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Julia Eccleshare's Pick of the Month July 2016 Inventive Orson builds his own planet with a cupful of rocks, a dash of water, a sprinkling of metal and a lot of nothingness. He loves his planet and is proud of all he has achieved. Orson’s planet becomes so successful that soon everything wants to live on it and Orson knows that he must let it go and find begin a new life of its own. Tom McLaughin’s story is a delightful celebration of imagination and creativity as well as a useful lesson about letting go of things that you love. ~ Julia Eccleshare

Julia Eccleshare's Picks of the Month for July 2016

Melric and the Crown by David McKee

The Hunting of the Snark by Lewis Carroll, illustrated by Chris Riddell

Up, Up and Away by Tom McLaughlin

Strange Star by Emma Carroll

Farmer Duck by Martin Waddell

Such Stuff: A Story-Maker's Inspiration by Michael Morpurgo

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we are delighted to be giving you a chance to win a wonderful family break. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Up, Up and Away by Tom McLaughlin

What does it take to build your very own planet? Orson is about to find out. He takes: A cup full of rocks A dash of water A sprinkling of metal A lot of nothingness A big bang ...And before long, BOOM! He has it - a tiny planet with rings around it, right there in his bedroom! But it seems that BUILDING a planet is the easy bit; taking care of it is a different thing altogether. Over time, Orson realises that his planet needs to be free and that sometimes you have to let go of the things that you love the most ...

Reviews

Galactic resonances call to mind not only Oliver Jeffers star -catching protagonists, but also a hint of The Little Prince Guardian

Gently humorous illustrations bring Orson's adventures to life and help to present an interesting combination of basic science and complex concepts of responsibility in an appealing and accessible format Book Trust

Tom McLaughlin's story is a delightful celebration of imagination and creativity as well as a useful lesson about letting go of things that you love -- Julia Eccleshare Love Reading 4 Kids

This is a book about caring and responsibility, it is a book about doing what is right and what is best, and how sometimes you have to make difficult decisions if you are to do the right thing Early Years Educator

There is something of the Oliver Jeffers about McLaughlin's style and this tale about an inventive little boy learning important lessons about letting go will appeal to fans of both Angels & Urchins

This wonderful story shows off Tom's incredible talent for drawing and storytelling while teaching kids that sometimes you have to let go of the things you love the most Mummy Pages

Praise for The Story Machine

A winner of a book about the power of drawing and storytelling Oliver Jeffers

A charming, rewarding, instructive read Financial Times

Delightful and quirky ... an inspiring and salutary lesson that ... the creative process comes from within Daily Mail

Praise for The Cloudspotter

A touching tale of isolation and friendship, there's also much fun to be had in spotting the pictures in the clouds throughout this sensitively illustrated book Huffington Post

About the Author

Tom McLaughlin

Before becoming a writer and illustrator Tom McLaughlin spent 9 years working as political cartoonist for The Western Morning News thinking up silly jokes about even sillier politicians. Then, in 2004 Tom took the plunge into illustrating and writing his own books. Since then he has written and illustrated picture books as well as working on animated TV shows for Disney and Cartoon Network.

Tom lives in Devon and his hobbies include drinking tea, looking out of the window, and biscuits. His hates include spiders, running out of biscuits, and writing biographies.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
32 pages

Author

Tom McLaughlin
More books by Tom McLaughlin

Author's Website

www.tommclaughlin.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

14th July 2016

ISBN

9781408870150

Categories


We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****