My Embarrassing Dad's Gone Viral! by Ben Davis
  

My Embarrassing Dad's Gone Viral!

Written by Ben Davis
Illustrated by Mike Lowery

9+ readers   11+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell; a dad's gotta do... The title of this book will be irresistible to young readers and the story, a mix of comedy and family drama, won't disappoint them. Nelson's dad turns from frustrated estate agent to evangelical tree-hugger overnight when Nelson's mum leaves them. He sells the house, and Nelson's beloved X-box too and moves them to middle-of-nowhere Norfolk. When his obsession with a TV survivalist gets out of hand Nelson determines to get Mum home and sets up a blog to raise the money he'll need. It takes off and no wonder when his dad becomes the unintended star. There are lots of funny scenes, but readers will understand too Nelson's worries for his dad and see how much he and his little sister need their mum.

Recommended for readers of Frank Cottrell Boyce and David Solomons who also write comedy stories based in family life and love. ~ Andrea Reece

Win books 1 & 2 in the Rory Branagan (Detective) Series!

To mark the publication of the second book in the Rory Branagan (Detective) series, we are giving away books 1 & 2 to to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Draw closes on 9 July 2018. The winners will be notified by 16 July 2018.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 09/07/2018

Synopsis

My Embarrassing Dad's Gone Viral! by Ben Davis

My Dad - the King of Cringe! What's a boy to do when his mum disappears, his dad moves him and his sister to the middle of nowhere, and his life takes a very swift downward turn ...secretly launch his dad on the internet as the Next Big Thing, of course! Hi guys! I bet every one of you knows what it's like to have an embarrassing parent - right? I bet they've done something so cringey that you wanted the ground to open up and swallow you whole. But let me tell you, my friend, NOBODY has a dad like mine. He takes embarrassing to a whole new level. If embarrassing was an Olympic sport, my dad would have, like, a gazillion gold medals.

This hilarious story will have instant appeal to a YouTube-watching generation and is told through a series of vlogs. Combining Ben Davis's brilliantly-funny voice and Mike Lowery's amazingly-amazing illustrations is sure to make this a hit with readers everywhere. After all, everyone knows what it's like to have an embarrassing parent, don't they?

Reviews

Genuinely funny and absolutely of the moment, it's a really fun read that covers some important topics * Booktrust.org *

About the Author

Ben Davis

Ben Davis studied English at University, which was quite easy because he was already fluent in that. Since then, he has written jokes for everything from radio shows to greeting cards and fulfilled a lifelong ambition by writing books for young adults.
He now lives in Tamworth with his wife and his wimpy dog.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
288 pages

Author

Ben Davis
More books by Ben Davis

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Oxford University Press

Publication date

4th August 2016

ISBN

9780192745842

Categories


I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****