Magisterium: The Bronze Key by Cassandra Clare, Holly Black
  

Magisterium: The Bronze Key

Written by Cassandra Clare, Holly Black
Part of the The Magisterium Series

11+ readers   9+ readers   eBooks   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: Who’s got your back?

Fans of Holly Black and Cassandra Clare’s Magisterium series will be itching to get their hands on this the third adventure. They might expect it to provide a lull in the action, after all Callum has proved that Constantine Madden, the Enemy of Death, is himself deceased and he and his friend Aaron are being lauded by the mage world as heroes. No chance! It appears that someone knows Callum’s secret, ie that Constantine’s soul lives on inside him and a taut story of twists, secrets and suspicion follows. There’s enough back story for new readers to pick up on what’s going on but frankly it would be a shame to start here when this series has so much to offer.

The fantasy setting is original and well-realised, the stories action-packed and thought-provoking too, particularly on the subject of good and evil; one to recommend therefore to fans of Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy. ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

Magisterium: The Bronze Key by Cassandra Clare, Holly Black

Magic can save you. Magic can kill you. It should be a time of celebration. The Enemy of Death is dead; a severed head proof of his downfall. The magical world has no reason to believe otherwise, and Callum, Tamara and Aaron are celebrated as heroes. But at a party held in their honour, things go horribly, brutally wrong. A fellow student is callously murdered, and it seems Call's worst fears are confirmed: there is a spy in the Magisterium. No one is safe. Now, using the powerful magic they've been taught, the trio must risk their lives to track down the killer. But magic is dangerous - in the wrong hands it could bring terrible destruction. And reveal the deadliest secret of all...

Reviews

'This tightly plotted story shines with imaginative twists and settings, sparks of humor, and a rich portrayal of friendship in the face of doubt. The co-authors successfully probe the themes of good and evileven as they craft an entertainingly fast-paced read. Both a successful addition to the middle-grade magic school genre and a satisfying sequel.' Kirkus US

Further praise for the series:

'moves deftly into the gap left by Harry Potter ... all the ingredients of a gripping tale for young teenagers' Telegraph

'A thrilling coming-of-age story that embraces fantasy tropes while keeping readers guessing.' Publishers Weekly

'The Iron Trial is merely a setup and introduction, and promises to take subsequent instalments of the Magisterium series in a more complex and philosophical direction' Starburst

About the Author

Cassandra Clare (Author) Cassandra Clare is the author of the #1 New York Times, USA TODAY, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly bestselling Mortal Instruments series, The Infernal Devices trilogy, and The Bane Chronicles. Her books have more than 30 million copies in print worldwide and have been translated into more than thirty-five languages. Cassandra lives in western Massachusetts. Visit her at CassandraClare.com. Learn more about the world of the Shadowhunters at Shadowhunters.com.Holly Black (Author) Holly Black is the bestselling author of contemporary fantasy novels for teens and children, including Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale and the #1 New York Times bestselling Spiderwick series. She has been a finalist for the Mythopoeic Award and the Eisner Award, and the recipient of the Andre Norton Award. Holly lives in Massachusetts with her husband, Theo, in a house with a secret library. Her website is www.blackholly.com.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
256 pages

Author

Cassandra Clare, Holly Black
More books by Cassandra Clare, Holly Black

Author's Website

www.cassandraclare.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Corgi Childrens an imprint of Random House Children's Publishers UK

Publication date

1st September 2016

ISBN

9780552567701

Categories


I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****