Magisterium: The Bronze Key by Cassandra Clare, Holly Black

Magisterium: The Bronze Key

Written by Cassandra Clare, Holly Black
Part of the The Magisterium Series

11+ readers   9+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: Who’s got your back?

Fans of Holly Black and Cassandra Clare’s Magisterium series will be itching to get their hands on this the third adventure. They might expect it to provide a lull in the action, after all Callum has proved that Constantine Madden, the Enemy of Death, is himself deceased and he and his friend Aaron are being lauded by the mage world as heroes. No chance! It appears that someone knows Callum’s secret, ie that Constantine’s soul lives on inside him and a taut story of twists, secrets and suspicion follows. There’s enough back story for new readers to pick up on what’s going on but frankly it would be a shame to start here when this series has so much to offer.

The fantasy setting is original and well-realised, the stories action-packed and thought-provoking too, particularly on the subject of good and evil; one to recommend therefore to fans of Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy. ~ Andrea Reece


Magisterium: The Bronze Key by Cassandra Clare, Holly Black

Magic can save you. Magic can kill you. It should be a time of celebration. The Enemy of Death is dead; a severed head proof of his downfall. The magical world has no reason to believe otherwise, and Callum, Tamara and Aaron are celebrated as heroes. But at a party held in their honour, things go horribly, brutally wrong. A fellow student is callously murdered, and it seems Call's worst fears are confirmed: there is a spy in the Magisterium. No one is safe. Now, using the powerful magic they've been taught, the trio must risk their lives to track down the killer. But magic is dangerous - in the wrong hands it could bring terrible destruction. And reveal the deadliest secret of all...


'This tightly plotted story shines with imaginative twists and settings, sparks of humor, and a rich portrayal of friendship in the face of doubt. The co-authors successfully probe the themes of good and evileven as they craft an entertainingly fast-paced read. Both a successful addition to the middle-grade magic school genre and a satisfying sequel.' Kirkus US

Further praise for the series:

'moves deftly into the gap left by Harry Potter ... all the ingredients of a gripping tale for young teenagers' Telegraph

'A thrilling coming-of-age story that embraces fantasy tropes while keeping readers guessing.' Publishers Weekly

'The Iron Trial is merely a setup and introduction, and promises to take subsequent instalments of the Magisterium series in a more complex and philosophical direction' Starburst

About the Author

Cassandra Clare (Author) Cassandra Clare is the author of the #1 New York Times, USA TODAY, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly bestselling Mortal Instruments series, The Infernal Devices trilogy, and The Bane Chronicles. Her books have more than 30 million copies in print worldwide and have been translated into more than thirty-five languages. Cassandra lives in western Massachusetts. Visit her at Learn more about the world of the Shadowhunters at Black (Author) Holly Black is the bestselling author of contemporary fantasy novels for teens and children, including Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale and the #1 New York Times bestselling Spiderwick series. She has been a finalist for the Mythopoeic Award and the Eisner Award, and the recipient of the Andre Norton Award. Holly lives in Massachusetts with her husband, Theo, in a house with a secret library. Her website is

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


256 pages
Interest Age: From 9


Cassandra Clare, Holly Black
More books by Cassandra Clare, Holly Black

Author's Website

Author's Facebook Latest


Corgi Childrens an imprint of Random House Children's Publishers UK

Publication date

1st September 2016




LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

Lovereading 4 schools