There's a Bear on My Chair by Ross Collins

There's a Bear on My Chair

Written by Ross Collins

3+ readers   Baby and Toddler   All Shortlists and Winners   UKLA 2017   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Longlisted for the UKLA 2017 Book Award | Shortlisted for the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal 2016 | Shortlisted for the Bookbug Picture Book Prize 2016

Text, illustration and design all combine to make this an outstanding picture book. Mouse is cross, there’s a bear – a polar bear – on his chair, he won’t move and ‘There isn’t any room to spare. We do not make a happy pair’. The bear is apparently oblivious to Mouse and his growing rage, though readers will notice him take an occasional sly peek at his companion, deftly illustrated in just one line of eyebrow. Collins’s illustrations also brilliantly capture Mouse’s changing moods, from anger through to resignation. The text is a joy to read, a series of funny statements constructed – Dr Seuss-like – around words that rhyme with chair. A sequel – There’s a Mouse in My House – must follow. This superb picture book is set to become a classic. ~ Andrea Reece

Commenting on his nomination for the Bookbug Picture Book Prize Ross said: “I'm SO HAPPY to be shortlisted for this year's Bookbug Picture Book Prize! A book award which is voted for by children is the most honest award any author can hope for.”

Louise from Nosy Crow says: “This hilarious and highly original story featuring mouse and bear with just one chair is perfect for fans of Jon Klassen. Children will laugh out loud and parents will love the clever nature of the story.”


There's a Bear on My Chair by Ross Collins

Poor Mouse! A bear has settled in his favourite chair and that chair just isn't big enough for two. Mouse tries all kinds of tactics to move the pesky Bear but nothing works and poor Mouse gives up. Once Mouse has gone, Bear gets up and walks home. But what's that? Is that a Mouse in Bear's house?!

Shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Award 2016

About the Author

Ross Collins

Ross was born in Glasgow, Scotland in 1972. He graduated from the Glasgow School of Art in 1994 with a First in Illustration. Since then he has illustrated over 100 children’s book and has written 8, winning many prestigious awards including the Scottish Children’s Book Award and Royal Mail Book Award.

Ross spends his time writing and illustrating children's books, walking by Loch Lomond and precariously swinging backwards on chairs. Ross can also be found scaring small children at book festivals and schools. He lives in Glasgow.

Photo credit, Chris Close.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


32 pages
Interest Age: From 3


Ross Collins
More books by Ross Collins

Author's Website


Nosy Crow Ltd

Publication date

1st September 2016




Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading 4 schools