There's a Bear on My Chair by Ross Collins
  

There's a Bear on My Chair

Written by Ross Collins

3+ readers   Baby and Toddler   Books of the Year   All Shortlists and Winners   UKLA 2017   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Winner of the UKLA 2017 Book Award | One of our Books of the Year 2016 | Shortlisted for the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal 2016 | Shortlisted for the Bookbug Picture Book Prize 2016

Text, illustration and design all combine to make this an outstanding picture book. Mouse is cross, there’s a bear – a polar bear – on his chair, he won’t move and ‘There isn’t any room to spare. We do not make a happy pair’. The bear is apparently oblivious to Mouse and his growing rage, though readers will notice him take an occasional sly peek at his companion, deftly illustrated in just one line of eyebrow. Collins’s illustrations also brilliantly capture Mouse’s changing moods, from anger through to resignation. The text is a joy to read, a series of funny statements constructed – Dr Seuss-like – around words that rhyme with chair. A sequel – There’s a Mouse in My House – must follow. This superb picture book is set to become a classic. ~ Andrea Reece

Commenting on his nomination for the Bookbug Picture Book Prize Ross said: “I'm SO HAPPY to be shortlisted for this year's Bookbug Picture Book Prize! A book award which is voted for by children is the most honest award any author can hope for.”

Louise from Nosy Crow says: “This hilarious and highly original story featuring mouse and bear with just one chair is perfect for fans of Jon Klassen. Children will laugh out loud and parents will love the clever nature of the story.”

Win a copy of HATS OF FAITH

There should be more books like this: in bright, appealing illustrations it tells children how people of different faiths cover their heads to show their love for God. This beautifully illustrated, board book aims to teach children, parents and educators about the shared custom of head covering across the Jewish, Sikh, Christian, Rastafarian, and Islamic faiths. Hats of Faith helps prepare young children for our culturally diverse, modern world and encourages tolerance and understanding.

To have a chance of winning one of three copies of Hats of Faith, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 5 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 19 October 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 15/10/2017

Synopsis

There's a Bear on My Chair by Ross Collins

Poor Mouse! A bear has settled in his favourite chair and that chair just isn't big enough for two. Mouse tries all kinds of tactics to move the pesky Bear but nothing works and poor Mouse gives up. Once Mouse has gone, Bear gets up and walks home. But what's that? Is that a Mouse in Bear's house?!

Shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Award 2016

About the Author

Ross Collins

Ross was born in Glasgow, Scotland in 1972. He graduated from the Glasgow School of Art in 1994 with a First in Illustration. Since then he has illustrated over 100 children’s book and has written 8, winning many prestigious awards including the Scottish Children’s Book Award and Royal Mail Book Award.

Ross spends his time writing and illustrating children's books, walking by Loch Lomond and precariously swinging backwards on chairs. Ross can also be found scaring small children at book festivals and schools. He lives in Glasgow.

Photo credit, Chris Close.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
32 pages
Interest Age: From 3 years

Author

Ross Collins
More books by Ross Collins

Author's Website

www.rosscollins.net/

Publisher

Nosy Crow Ltd

Publication date

1st September 2016

ISBN

9780857633941

Categories


It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools