Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
  

Three Dark Crowns

Written by Kendare Blake
Part of the Three Dark Crowns Series

YA readers   13+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a Nutshell: | Queen against Queen | Sister against Sister | Weight of Fate

Epic new series in which being crowned queen is a deadly curse.

Triplet sisters, all queens and heir to the crown of Fennbirn Island, are separated as children in order to develop powers that might one day aid their obligatory quest to reign supreme. Mirabella is an elemental, with command over fire, water and wind. Poisoner Katharine seeks to develop an ability to ingest the deadliest of poisons, while naturalist Arsinoe works to cultivate control over plants and animals. But only Mirabella seems able to exercise her power, and yet all three must fight to the death: only the last sister standing may become the Queen Crowned.

There's decadent glamour from the outset of this sumptuous new sequence of books, such as the champagne and snake accessories described in the opening chapter, and the world building swells steadily to reveal scenes of heart-stopping action. Think Game of Thrones with added sibling sparring (to put it mildly!), fans of Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo will undoubtedly devour this deliciously dark tome. ~ Joanne Owen

Win an original print from The Pavee and the Buffer Girl

Siobhan Dowd's powerful story of the fight against racism and prejudice, The Pavee and the Buffer Girl, has been reissued as a splendid graphic novel with stunning illustrations by Emma Shoard. We are giving away an ORIGINAL print from the book (shown here) and a copy SIGNED by Emma.

To have a chance of winning this special prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 3 May 2017. The winners will be notified by 15 May 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 03/05/2017

Synopsis

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomach-ache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of beasts. But becoming the Queen Crowned isn't solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it's not just a game of win or lose ...it's life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins. The last queen standing gets the crown.

Enthralling, sexy, dark and powerfully evocative, Three Dark Crowns is the incredible new novel from Kendare Blake, the bestselling author of Anna Dressed in Blood. With the burning tension, unforgettable characters, and sweeping epic drama, it will captivate readers who enjoyed Half Bad and Game of Thrones and is set to be one of the most hotly anticipated YA novel of the Autumn.

Reviews

... a superb start to what promises to be a new exciting young adult fantasy book series. The Book Bag

Gorgeous and bloody, tender and violent, elegant, precise, and passionate; above all, completely addicting. Kirkus Reviews

About the Author

Kendare Blake

Kendare Blake is an import from South Korea who was raised in the United States. She received a Bachelor's degree in Business from Ithaca College and a Master's degree in Writing from Middlesex University in London. She brakes for animals, the largest of which was a deer, which sadly didn't make it, and the smallest of which was a mouse, which did, but it took forever. Amongst her likes are Greek Mythology, rare red meat and veganism. She also enjoys girls who can think with the boys like Ayn Rand, and boys who scare the morality into people, like Bret Easton Ellis. She is the author of Anna Dressed in Blood, Girl of Nightmares and Antigoddess, all published by Orchard Books. She lives with her husband in Kent, Washington. Anna Dressed in Blood has been optioned for film by Stephenie Meyer's production company.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
432 pages
Interest Age: From 12

Author

Kendare Blake
More books by Kendare Blake

Publisher

Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan

Publication date

22nd September 2016

ISBN

9781509804559

Categories


I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools