The Lion Inside by Rachel Bright
  

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Longlisted for the UKLA 2017 Book Award Fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can't Dance will love this feelgood rhyming story portraying a positive message about overcoming your fears.

Win a Limited Edition copy of The Smartest Giant in Town!

The Smartest Giant in Town, a modern classic by the uber-talented team of Julia Donaldson and Axel Sheffler, is celebrating its 15th Anniversary.

To mark this occasion we will be giving away FIVE copies of this limited edition storybook. To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 February 2017. The winners will be notified by 20 February 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/02/2017

Synopsis

The Lion Inside by Rachel Bright

From the creator of the known and loved Bright Side lifestyle brand, Rachel Bright, and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, comes a feelgood rhyming story about one little mouse trying to make himself heard and discovering along the way that even the smallest of us has the heart of a lion.

Perfect for fans of Giraffes Can't Dance this stylish book from two contemporary stars really is something to shout about - it will make you laugh, cry and read it every bedtime.

Reviews

A heartfelt message, delightfully conveyed Parents in Touch

A delight to read over and over again WRD Charming... Older children will appreciate the moral of the story...Meanwhile, younger children will love looking at the fun, vibrant illustrations of all the animals Mumfidential

[This] adorable, big-eared mouse will easily win over readers. The Book List

Rachel Bright's rhyming story reads aloud well, and Jim Field's illustrations are a delight ... A book to treasure that has already been shared many times with grandchildren School Librarian

About the Author

Rachel Bright

Rachel Bright is a writer, illustrator and printmaker; and the creator of the award-winning stationery and homeware range, The Bright Side. Rachel has written and illustrated several books for children, including Love Monster, and is the author of The Lion Inside, illustrated by Jim Field. She lives on a farm near the seaside with her partner, their daughter, a dog called Elvis and a cat called Superman.

You can read an extended biography of Rachel by clicking here.

10 Things you might not know about Rachel Bright:

She collects alphabets and hats and has a Nissan Figaro car which everyone says looks like a matchbox toy.

She used to be an air Hostess for Virgin Atlantic, when she got to visit Richard Branson's island of Necker.

She loves nothing more than getting all inky in the printmaking studio where she’ll often work super late, when there’s magic in the air.

She lives on a farm near the seaside, which she shares with her family, their dog Elvis and a cockerel called Herman.

She’s done zillions of different jobs before becoming an author and illustrator, including owning a landscape gardening business, being a life-guard and a TV extra (she was once taken hostage by Daleks in 'Dr.Who'). Her first proper boss was Samantha Cameron, now of No.10 Downing St.

She also runs an impressively global card and gift empire called ‘the brightside’ and occasionally practices her evil laugh.

She has hundreds of stories tucked away in her studio (an occasionally messy, converted caravan) which she can’t wait to turn into books.

She once won a week-long date in Tahiti, with ‘Man of the Millenium’ featured in Marie Claire magazine (and then spent a long time living it down).

She spent six years working as a copywriter in advertising, during which time she once had to dress up as a chicken.

She runs a really long way every day and has done loads of ultra-marathons all over the world, the most recent of which include the Atlantic Coast Challenge (3 marathons in 3 days) and the Midnight Sun marathon in the Arctic Circle.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
32 pages
Interest Age: To 5

Author

Rachel Bright
More books by Rachel Bright

Author's Website

lookonthebrightside.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Orchard Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group

Publication date

10th March 2016

ISBN

9781408331606

Categories


I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools