Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
  

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Longlisted for the UKLA 2017 Book Award It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land.

Synopsis

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed.

This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War.

When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story.

Reviews

Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In Salt to the Sea, the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimate storytelling, as her warm and human characters breathe new life into one of the world's most terrible and neglected tragedies. -- Elizabeth Wein

A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying-and little-known-moment in World War II history. -- Steve Sheinkin

About the Author

Ruta Sepetys

Born and raised in Michigan, USA, Ruta Sepetys is the daughter of a Lithuanian refugee. Ruta lives with her family in Tennessee. Between Shades of Gray is her first novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
400 pages
Interest Age: From 12

Author

Ruta Sepetys
More books by Ruta Sepetys

Publisher

Puffin an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

4th February 2016

ISBN

9780141347400

Categories


I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools