Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Longlisted for the UKLA 2017 Book Award It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land.


Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed.

This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War.

When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story.


Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In Salt to the Sea, the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimate storytelling, as her warm and human characters breathe new life into one of the world's most terrible and neglected tragedies. -- Elizabeth Wein

A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying-and little-known-moment in World War II history. -- Steve Sheinkin

About the Author

Ruta Sepetys

Born and raised in Michigan, USA, Ruta Sepetys is the daughter of a Lithuanian refugee. Ruta lives with her family in Tennessee. Between Shades of Gray is her first novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


400 pages
Interest Age: From 12


Ruta Sepetys
More books by Ruta Sepetys


Puffin an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

4th February 2016




You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

Lovereading 4 schools