Nancy Parker's Spooky Speculations by Julia Lee
  

Nancy Parker's Spooky Speculations

Written by Julia Lee
Illustrated by Chloe Bonfield

7+ readers   9+ readers   eBooks   eBooks   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: a diary of detection from our favourite 1920s housemaid | With the current craze for historical mysteries and clever girl detectives, readers will be delighted to make the acquaintance of Nancy Parker, bright young maid and experienced sleuth. In this adventure, she’s starting a new job as housekeeper for the somewhat eccentric Miss Dearing at creaky Oxcoombe Grange. A series of unexplained bumps in the night set Nancy’s detective instincts jangling, and with the help of her friend Ella, at school nearby, she determines to find out what’s going on. It’s told partly through Nancy’s diaries and partly through third person narrative, so readers are always at the very heart of the action. The mystery is thoroughly satisfying and this is just the kind of book to kindle a life-long appreciation of crime fiction.

Definitely one to recommend to fans of Robin Stevens’s Murder Most Unladylike series, and readers will also enjoy Katherine Woodfine’s Sinclair’s Mysteries. ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

Nancy Parker's Spooky Speculations by Julia Lee

Maidservants, Mystery, and Murder! Everyone's favourite housemaid-detective is back! Now Nancy has a new job working at Oxcoombe Grange. It's great except for one thing - Nancy is convinced the house is haunted! Ella Otter, now a reluctant pupil at nearby Seabourne Grammar School for Girls, demands a scientific investigation.

Together, Nancy and Ella set out to do some spooky snooping, and to uncover the mysteries of the Grange's cellars. But in doing so they make a few enemies, discover a few surprising secrets, and put themselves into a little more danger than they were bargaining for ...A funny and energetic middle-grade mystery, narrated part in the third person and part through Nancy's illustrated journal.

Perfect for fans of Murder Most Unladylike and The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow.

Reviews

Praise for The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth

a magnificent, madcap book - Julia Lee is like an anarchic Frances Hodgson Burnett Katherine Rundell, author of Rooftoppers.

Praise for Nancy Parker's Diary of Detection

Intrepid housemaid-turned-detective Nancy Parker is a heroine to root for. Katherine Woodfine, author of The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow

Praise for Nancy Parker's Diary of Detection This junior sleuth is worth investigating Children's book of the week, Alex O'Connell, Times

About the Author

Julia Lee

Julia Lee has been making up stories for as long as she can remember. She wrote her first book aged 5, mainly so that she could do all the illustrations with a brand-new 4-colour pen, and her mum stitched the pages together on her sewing machine. Julia grew up in London, but moved to the seaside to study English at university, and has stayed there ever since. Her career has been a series of accidents, discovering lots of jobs she didn’t want to do, because secretly she always wanted to be a writer. Julia is married, has two sons, and lives in Sussex.
She has written books for grown-ups under the name Julia Widdows.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
256 pages

Author

Julia Lee
More books by Julia Lee

Publisher

Oxford University Press

Publication date

5th January 2017

ISBN

9780192746979

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools