Reader Reviewed The Great Shelby Holmes Girl Detective by Elizabeth Eulberg
  

The Great Shelby Holmes Girl Detective

Written by Elizabeth Eulberg
Illustrated by Matt Robertson

9+ readers   Debuts of the Month   7+ readers   eBooks   

RRP £5.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

January 2017 Debut of the Month | In a nutshell: Sherlock and Watson as you’ve never seen them before | The Sherlock Holmes stories are given a lively twist.

Eleven-year old John Watson has recently moved into 221 Baker Street, New York with his mum, a former army doctor. One of their new neighbours is Shelby Holmes, red headed, nine years old, alarmingly precocious. As she shows him round the neighbourhood, John reaslises that Shelby is a local hero, a genius at deduction able to work out who’s up to what way faster than the police. She’s not easy to get along with – social niceties are of little interest to Shelby – but the two are soon working together on the case of a missing dog. There are nods to the original novels which will please fans of the books or TV series, and the relationship between Shelby and John is a satisfying mix of companionship and mutual irritation. The mystery will more than hold readers’ attention and this is a smart tribute to Conan Doyle.

Readers who enjoy John and Shelby’s adventures will also appreciate Andrew Lane’s Young Sherlock Holmes series. ~ Andrea Reece

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to the review by one of the Lovereading4kids editorial experts some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel members were also lucky enough to read and review this title. Click here to read their full reviews.

  • Kate Buckley, age 10 - Burford School - 'I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommended to ages 8 plus. It is very humorous and you always want to read on.'    
  • Huxley Glen, age 6 - 'This was a very well written book which was very funny and had lots of funny characters.'
  • Rachel George, age 10 - 'Silly, mysterious - I couldn't put it down.'
  • Bella, age 9 - 'This book is fun to read and the characters are great.'
  • Toby Little, age 9 - 'I liked this book because it shows how two people can be friends even if they are very different.'
  • Ellen, age 7 - 'When a boy moves in [called John Watson] Shelby is taken by surprise because of his detective type of brain! When a winning dog is stolen she and Watson are caught in a case. Can they solve it?'
  • Isabella Glover, age 9 - 'a bit funny but overall it’s a good book.'
  • Robyn Chorley, age 8 - 'A fun story but a bit too confusing.'
  • Charlie Dunn, age 9 - 'I hope this is the start of a series because you can't help but like the characters and smile at the things they say and do.'

Win a copy of Pirate Mcsnottbeard in the Zombie Terror Rampage!

We have TEN copies of Pirate Mcsnottbeard in the Zombie Terror Rampage, by Paul Whitfield, to give away!

To have a chance of winning one of these brilliantly funny books, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 14 August 2017. The winners will be notified by 28 August 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 14/08/2017

Synopsis

The Great Shelby Holmes Girl Detective by Elizabeth Eulberg

Shelby Holmes is not your average nine-year-old. For one, she happens to be the best detective her neighbourhood has ever seen, using her uncanny analytical mind and sassy attitude to solve crimes which stump even the police department.

But when eleven-year-old John Watson moves in to her block of flats, Shelby finds a solution to the one puzzle that's eluded her up until now: friendship.

This dynamic duo find themselves swept up in a dog-napping case that'll take both their talents to crack.

About the Author

Elizabeth Eulberg was born and raised in Wisconsin before heading off to make a career in the New York City book biz. Now a full-time writer, she is the author of The Lonely Hearts Club, Prom & Prejudice, Take a Bow, Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality, Better Off Friends and We Can Work it Out.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
272 pages

Author

Elizabeth Eulberg
More books by Elizabeth Eulberg

Author's Website

www.elizabetheulberg.com/

Publisher

Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

12th January 2017

ISBN

9781408871478

Categories


LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools