The Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson
  

The Goldfish Boy

Written by Lisa Thompson

11+ readers   Debuts of the Month   9+ readers   Julia Eccleshare's Picks   eBooks   eBooks   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month January 2017 A gripping debut middle-grade story skilfully told by debut novelist Lisa Thompson. Trapped indoors by his obsessive fears of germs and much else Matthew watches his neighbours’ lives and details their every move. That’s why he’s the person who knows when toddler Teddy was last seen in his grandfather’s garden. When Teddy goes missing is it Matthew who holds the answer that everyone is seeking? Alongside the detective drama in the background, Lisa Thompson is also insightful about Matthew’s crippling anxieties and how they resolve. ~ Julia Eccleshare

Julia Eccleshare's Picks of the Month for January 2017

The Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson

The Crayons’ Book of Numbers by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers

The Crayons’ Book of Colours by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers

Jim by Hilaire Belloc and Mini Grey

His Royal Whiskers by Sam Gayton

Synopsis

The Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson

Twelve-year-old Matthew is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD, spending most of his time staring out of his window as the inhabitants of Chestnut Close go about their business. Until the day he is the last person to see his next door neighbour's toddler, Teddy, before he goes missing. Matthew must turn detective and unravel the mystery of Teddy's disappearance - with the help of a brilliant cast of supporting characters.

Page-turning, heartbreaking, but ultimately life-affirming, this story is perfect for fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Wonder. It is a book that will make you laugh and cry.

Reviews

"A genuinely clever mystery" Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike

"A great cast of characters and an intriguing mystery - Ross Welford, author of Time Travelling With A Hamster

About the Author

Lisa Thompson

Lisa Thompson worked as a Radio Broadcast Assistant first at the BBC and then for an independent production company making plays and comedy programmes. During this time she got to make tea for lots of famous people. She grew up in Essex and now lives in Suffolk with her family. The Goldfish Boy is her debut novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Author

Lisa Thompson
More books by Lisa Thompson

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Scholastic

Publication date

5th January 2017

ISBN

9781407170992

Categories


I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools