This content is provided by Lovereading4kids.co.uk
The Night Spinner by Abi Elphinstone
  

The Night Spinner

Abi Elphinstone

7+ readers   Books of the Year   9+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

One of Our Books of the Year 2017 | With this action packed third and final instalment to the series, Abi Elphinstone has secured her place in the imagination of young readers.

Dark magic threatens to shroud Moll and everything she holds dear in an eternal night, reducing the world around her to a place without hope. Never has she been further from home or felt more alone, her constant companion self-doubt as she tries to fight back against the last two Shadowmasks. Yet the darkness is hard to fight and it will take every ounce of courage she has to overcome them. Moll must face her deepest fears whilst she, Siddy and Gryff embark on an adventure that will see them face goblins, witches and giants in the northern wilderness. Can they fight the curse of the Night Spinner and find the Amulet of Truth to bring light back to the land, when so many have already fallen under its spell?

Abi Elphinstone is most certainly a writer to watch. You can feel her own sense of adventure and wonder for the world right within the heart of her stories and this is an amazing gift to share with the children who read them. Totally absorbing with just the right level of scary, the fears and feelings within are something that all children will relate to. Through Moll, Gryff and their friends we learn the importance of friendship and learning from your mistakes, whilst being true to who you are and finding courage even in the very darkest of moments. A new adventure is promised from Abi in 2018 but in the meantime this trilogy is certainly one that will be returned to again and again. ~ Shelley Fallows

Reader Reviews

Some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were lucky enough to read and review the first in this series, The Dreamsnatcher. You can click here to read their full reviews.

  • Lily, age 11 - 'This book is really mysterious and gripping – I couldn't put it down. The descriptions of the surroundings were very vivid and Abi really makes you care about the characters.'
  • Joshua Zinkin, age 9 - 'The book was exciting once you got into it but lots of the language was quite difficult.'
  • Millie Barrett, age 8 - 'I enjoyed the mysteries and cliff-hangers in the book.  It is also very detailed so even though there are no illustrations, it creates pictures in your mind!'
  • Alice East, age 10 - 'What I really liked about this book was that it never became boring as there was always something exciting going on...This book was fantastic and I would give it 8.5/10.'
  • Sidney Greenslade, age 11 - 'A magical story of mystery and danger, The Dreamsnatcher is full of great personalities and wild landscapes.'
  • Michelle Toy - 'The keywords that jumped out to me from this book were friendship, family, community and courage...A fantastic, magical debut Children's novel The Dreamsnatcher is a dream to read!'
  • Corey Yuile, age 9 - 'I am the victim of a dreamsnatch!  Love Magic?  Love Action and Adventure?  The Dreamsnatcher is the perfect read!...5 out of 5 from me!'
  • Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12 - 'I liked reading this book even though I didn't get gripped by the plot.'
  • Cara Anderson, age 9 and 1/2 - 'Very intriguing. It's quite spooky...'
  • Eleanor Cookdale, age 10 - 'This adventure story is both funny and incredibly scary. I really enjoyed reading the book because it was so exciting and full of twists and turns, and also Siddy was very funny.'
  • Sophie Bridges, age 12 - 'The Dreamsnatcher by Abi Elpinstone is a good book and the theme is good and the ideas are well thought through.'
  • Evie Hollingshead, age 10 - 'An exciting book full of suspense that made me want to read until the end!'
  • Chloe, age 11 - 'This is an exciting adventure about a gypsy girl and her friend, a wildcat called Gryff. It gripped me from the first sentence.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we are delighted to be giving you a chance to win a wonderful family break. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

The Night Spinner by Abi Elphinstone

Moll Pecksniff and her friends are back for a new adventure as the thrilling series that began with The Dreamsnatcher concludes.

In a ruined monastery in the northern wilderness, a Shadowmask called Wormhook sits in front of a spinning wheel. He is spinning a quilt of darkness known as the Veil. A masked figure then carries the Veil across the lands, slipping it through the windows of children's bedrooms to poison their minds...Meanwhile deep inside Tanglefern Forest, Moll and her wildcat, Gryff, are waiting for a sign from the Old Magic before they continue their quest. There are two Shadowmasks still out there and if Moll's world is ever to be free of their dark and terrible magic, she must find the last Amulet of Truth. Still reeling from the loss of fellow Tribe member, Alfie, and armed only with a mysterious set of clues, Moll sets out on an adventure across the northern wilderness with Gryff and her friend, Siddy, at her side. They must brave the Lost Isles and scale the Barbed Peaks but there are witches, goblins and giants lurking at every turn. And, all the while, the Shadowmasks are drawing closer to conjuring their eternal night and destroying everything Moll loves...

Can Moll, Sid and Gryff find the friend they think they have lost? And do the Tribe have what it takes to defeat the Dark Magic once and for all? Perfect for fans of J.K Rowling, Piers Torday and Eva Ibbotson.

About the Author

Abi Elphinstone

Abi Elphinstone grew up in Scotland where she spent most of her childhood building dens, hiding in tree houses and running wild across highland glens. After being coaxed out of her tree house, she studied English at Bristol University and then worked as a teacher in Africa, Berkshire and London. The Shadow Keeper is her second book (The Dreamsnatcher was her first) and a third book will complete the Tribe’s adventures in 2017. When she's not writing about Moll and Gryff, Abi volunteers for Beanstalk charity, teaches creative writing workshops in schools and travels the world looking for her next story. Her latest adventure involved living with the Kazakh Eagle Hunters in Mongolia… You can follow Abi on Instagram.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
336 pages

Author

Abi Elphinstone
More books by Abi Elphinstone

Author's Website

www.abielphinstone.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

23rd February 2017

ISBN

9781471146053

Categories


I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****