Hamish and the Gravity Burp by Danny Wallace
  

Hamish and the Gravity Burp

Written by Danny Wallace
Illustrated by Jamie Littler

7+ readers   Books of the Month   9+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

March 2017 Book of the Month | In a nutshell: original, clever, fast-paced and very, very funny | With no messing about at all, Danny Wallace gets straight into the comedy action in this the third adventure for Hamish and his friends: Hamish comes in to find his mum and brother lying flat on their backs, on the ceiling. Along with a bowl of fruit, six batteries and a wind-up meerkat. Once again the town of Starkley is at the centre of something strange, and it’s down to Hamish and co to put it right. Danny Wallace’s inventiveness shows no sign of slowing and this is another brilliantly imagined and genuinely exciting caper with the superb comic timing and sharp one-liners we’ve come to expect. Terrific fun.

For more fast-moving, funny, highly illustrated adventures try David Solomons’ My Brother is a Superhero series, or Frank Cottrell Boyce’s Sputnik’s Guide to Life. ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

Hamish and the Gravity Burp by Danny Wallace

Another hilarious adventure from bestselling author Danny Wallace, perfect for fans of David Walliams, Roald Dahl, David Baddiel and David Solomons!

This may look like just a completely and utterly ordinary book. But it's not. This book knows something terrifying: that the people of Earth face their gravest, grimmest threat yet! When Hamish arrives home to find his mum and his brother lying flat on their backs ON THE CEILING, he knows there's something seriously wrong (again) in the town of Starkley. What is the strange burping noise he keeps hearing? Why are weird seeds suddenly falling from the sky? And should he be worried about the odd woman with a cone around her neck? All Hamish and his gang the PDF can be sure of is that an adventure is coming.

And that means two things:

* You have to be prepared

* You have to prepare a sandwich

For more Hamish fun log-on to www.worldofhamish.com

Reviews

‘Original, quirky and super silly, Wallace has written a great book that kids - particularly boys - will really enjoy’ The Sun

‘Wallace’s vividly imagined adventure cracks along at a brisk pace. Bristling with one-liners, it has an easy, unforced humour and a strong sense of excitement… Time freezing is a neat device and Wallace uses it skilfully to make almost anything seem possible.’ The Guardian

‘Like David Walliams, Wallace is a comedian turned children’s author. Of the two, Wallace’s writing is the funnier.’ The Sunday Times, Children’s Book of the Week

About the Author

Danny Wallace

Best-selling writer, Danny Wallace, turned his hand to children’s fction with his debut Hamish and the WorldStoppers. Filled with his trademark humour, this fantasy adventure series was inspired by the books that set Wallace’s own young imagination alight. Everyone loves Hamish! The frst two books have received fantastic praise and children nationwide have devoured his stories. Hamish is a thoroughly endearing character and Danny’s writing has a sense of humour that appeals to kids and parents alike. Danny has collaborated with leading illustrator Jamie Littler, who brings the world of Hamish to life with his quirky illustrations that ooze child appeal.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
272 pages
Interest Age: From 8

Author

Danny Wallace
More books by Danny Wallace

Author's Website

dannywallace.com/

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

9th March 2017

ISBN

9781471147128

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools