Spangles McNasty and the Tunnel of Doom by Steve Webb
  

Spangles McNasty and the Tunnel of Doom

Written by Steve Webb
Illustrated by Chris Mould
Part of the Spangles McNasty Series

7+ readers   9+ readers   Books for Boys   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: a roller-coaster ride of zany anarchic fun | Spangles McNasty is an absolute rotter, the sort of menace happiest when eating cold chips from bins, shouting at babies, and farting in the library – preferably all at the same time. He is therefore the perfect hero for this kind of anarchic adventure and for readers who revel in descriptions of bad, bad behaviour. In this latest outing, the surprise inheritance of a roller-coaster sparks Spangle’s latest get-filthy-rich quick plans. As ever he has his pungent friend Sausage-face Pete to help, and young Freddie Taylor to stop him in his tracks. With its zany plot, eccentric characters and inventive word-play this is as much fun as a ride on a roller-coaster.

Perfect for fans of Mr Gum, readers who enjoy the adventures of Spangles McNasty will also like William Sutcliffe’s Circus of Thieves books. ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

Spangles McNasty and the Tunnel of Doom by Steve Webb

Spangles McNasty is horrible to everyone and likes to do vile things like eat cold chips out of bins and pull faces at old ladies. And would you believe it, Spangles has inherited a rollercoaster called the Tunnel of Doom! But when Spangles and his bonkers friend Sausage-face Pete go to see it, they soon realise it's a good for nothing piece of junk. If they want to make any lovely money from it, they'll need to do some hard work and repair it. Spangles won't stand for that, and soon his devious mind-cogs are a-whirring, and he comes up with a dastardly plot to get rich quick. Yet again, it's up to local boy Freddie Taylor to chase Spangles on the rickety old rollercoaster and stop him in his tracks!

Reviews

'Skullduggery, thievery and anarchic humour in a heavily illustrated tale for fans of Mr Gum' The Bookseller

About the Author

Steve Webb

Steve Webb was born in Newcastle, and studied at Bristol Art College. He is also the author of the successful Tanka Tanka Skunk. He currently lives in the Peak District with his three children.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
208 pages

Author

Steve Webb
More books by Steve Webb

Publisher

Andersen Press Ltd

Publication date

2nd March 2017

ISBN

9781783445080

Categories

Publisher Profile

Andersen Press Ltd is an imprint of Andersen Press

logo Andersen Press is one of the leading independent children’s publishers, publishing some of the biggest names in the world of children's books including the much-loved picture book characters the Little Princess and Elmer the patchwork elephant. Andersen Press is the home of many award-winning authors and illustrators including Melvin Burgess, Rebecca Stead, Satoshi Kitamura, Tony Ross, David McKee, Chris Judge and Jeanne Willis. Founded in 1976 by Klaus Flugge it won the Bologna Best Children’s Publisher prize in the European Category in 2016, the company’s 40th anniversary year.

Publisher's Website

www.andersenpress.co.uk


We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****