Spangles McNasty and the Tunnel of Doom by Steve Webb
  

Spangles McNasty and the Tunnel of Doom

Written by Steve Webb
Illustrated by Chris Mould
Part of the Spangles McNasty Series

7+ readers   9+ readers   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: a roller-coaster ride of zany anarchic fun | Spangles McNasty is an absolute rotter, the sort of menace happiest when eating cold chips from bins, shouting at babies, and farting in the library – preferably all at the same time. He is therefore the perfect hero for this kind of anarchic adventure and for readers who revel in descriptions of bad, bad behaviour. In this latest outing, the surprise inheritance of a roller-coaster sparks Spangle’s latest get-filthy-rich quick plans. As ever he has his pungent friend Sausage-face Pete to help, and young Freddie Taylor to stop him in his tracks. With its zany plot, eccentric characters and inventive word-play this is as much fun as a ride on a roller-coaster.

Perfect for fans of Mr Gum, readers who enjoy the adventures of Spangles McNasty will also like William Sutcliffe’s Circus of Thieves books. ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

Spangles McNasty and the Tunnel of Doom by Steve Webb

Spangles McNasty is horrible to everyone and likes to do vile things like eat cold chips out of bins and pull faces at old ladies. And would you believe it, Spangles has inherited a rollercoaster called the Tunnel of Doom! But when Spangles and his bonkers friend Sausage-face Pete go to see it, they soon realise it's a good for nothing piece of junk. If they want to make any lovely money from it, they'll need to do some hard work and repair it. Spangles won't stand for that, and soon his devious mind-cogs are a-whirring, and he comes up with a dastardly plot to get rich quick. Yet again, it's up to local boy Freddie Taylor to chase Spangles on the rickety old rollercoaster and stop him in his tracks!

Reviews

'Skullduggery, thievery and anarchic humour in a heavily illustrated tale for fans of Mr Gum' The Bookseller

About the Author

Steve Webb

Steve Webb was born in Newcastle, and studied at Bristol Art College. He is also the author of the successful Tanka Tanka Skunk. He currently lives in the Peak District with his three children.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
208 pages

Author

Steve Webb
More books by Steve Webb

Publisher

Andersen Press Ltd

Publication date

2nd March 2017

ISBN

9781783445080

Categories

Publisher Profile

Andersen Press Ltd is an imprint of Andersen Press

logo Andersen Press is one of the leading independent children’s publishers, publishing some of the biggest names in the world of children's books including the much-loved picture book characters the Little Princess and Elmer the patchwork elephant. Andersen Press is the home of many award-winning authors and illustrators including Melvin Burgess, Rebecca Stead, Satoshi Kitamura, Tony Ross, David McKee, Chris Judge and Jeanne Willis. Founded in 1976 by Klaus Flugge it won the Bologna Best Children’s Publisher prize in the European Category in 2016, the company’s 40th anniversary year.

Publisher's Website

www.andersenpress.co.uk


It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****