Reader Reviewed A Boy Called Hope by Lara Williamson
  

A Boy Called Hope

Written by Lara Williamson

9+ readers   All Shortlists and Winners   11+ readers   Books for Boys   eBooks   eBooks   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Shortlisted for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize Best Fiction for 5-12's Award 2015 - March 2014 Debut of the Month A Boy Called Hope is a joyous, heart-breaking and life-affirming story of one boy and his messy, muddled and madcap family. Dan Hope may be an ordinary boy, in an ordinary home, in an ordinary town but he has an extraordinary amount of hope in his heart particularly when it comes to his dad who has left the family home. Perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Frank Cottrell Boyce.

A Piece of Passon from the Publisher: This is a book about a boy, Dan Hope. A story about his dreams and wishes, his fears and worries, and his search for hope. Because in life sometimes things are complicated and messy, not everyone is perfect, things can surprise us, they can make us laugh but they can also make us cry. This is Dan's story, about what makes the world go round, what brings people and families together, and most of all, how hope helps you dream. It's a book that we all loved and we couldn't be more proud to share the wonder that is A Boy called Hope with you.

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and a small number of the reader review panel members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Charlie, age 11 - 'Fantastic plot, a real page tuner and was difficult to put down. Lara Williamson is defiantly one of my favourite authors now already looking at which one of her book I want to read next.'    
  • Kulsuma Begum, age 16 - 'an honest, realistic and heart-warming story about belonging, identity and family.'
  • Rosa Boran, age 14 - 'I adored this book! It was so sweet and warmed me all the way down to my toes...I really enjoyed it.'
  • Alice Watkinson, aged 11 - 'After I turned the final page and the last word was read, my head was spinning and I clutched the book close to my chest as I didn’t want to leave Daniel.'
  • Antonia Davies, age 14 'I would recommend it to everyone because I enjoyed it loads and I would love others to read it too. I found the book page turning and I could not stop reading.'
  • Sam Harper, age 10 - 'This bitter-sweet book is fantastic, brilliant, funny and sad.  It made me laugh and cry and I've never read a book which could do that before.  You must read it.'
  • Chloe Pickering, age 10 - 'I really liked this book as the caracters are all very different and quite funny but the storyline is serious and a bit sad.'
  • Alice East, age 9 - 'Dan goes through a lot of different emotions throughout the story and I felt happy and sad with him.'
  • Imogen Breaks, age 11 - 'All Dan Hope wants is his real dad to love him, not suspicious Big Dave.  One boys search of hope and love, but what he doesn't realise is that he doesn't in fact have to travel very far.' 
  • Jodi Coffman, age 12 - 'Fabulous!  A real page-turner which has so many twists and turns in the plot.  I could not put it down and read it way past my bedtime.  I couldn't recommend this book more.  A must read!'
  • Alina Wraith, age 8 - 'A Boy Called Hope was good to read.  It was funny and exciting but some bits were sad.  I would read some more books by Lara Williamson.'
  • Adi Mehta, age 8 ½ - 'A Boy Called Hope is an excellent book teaching people that whatever happens you will always be with your father.  It also says you have to move on with your life whatever comes your way.'
  • Bella Perez, age 8 - 'I read and read until my eyes dried up, this book is a mixture between funny and sad. I couldn't resist reading it, never in my life would I give up such a fantastic book!'
  • Jennifer Bridgeman, age 8 - 'This book was funny, sad, exciting and marvelously written. I loved it, it made me laugh until I cried. I would definately pass this on to my school book corner. I think that this is a very special book.'
  • Katie Johnson, age 10 - 'I liked this book because it is very emotional, and full of ups and downs for Dan Hope...Awesome book!  I would definitely recommend it!'
  • Kate Cooley, age 10 - 'A thrilling, funny and amazing story of a boy who wants his father back but it's not as easy as he thinks.'
  • Massimo, age 10 - 'A Boy Called Hope was an inspiring book about a kid called Dan Hope.'
  • Felicity Wilcox, age 11 - 'Heart-Warming, I never know what’s coming round the corner which makes it more of a page turner.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we are delighted to be giving you a chance to win a wonderful family break. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

A Boy Called Hope by Lara Williamson

I'm Dan Hope and deep inside my head I keep a list of things I want to come true. For example, I want my sister, Ninja Grace, to go to university at the North Pole and only come back once a year. I want to help Sherlock Holmes solve his most daring mystery yet. And if it could be a zombie mystery, all the more exciting. I want my dog to stop eating the planets and throwing them up on the carpet. And finally, the biggest dream of all, I want my dad to love me.

About the Author

Lara Williamson

Lara Williamson was born and studied in Northern Ireland. After work experience at Marie Claire and freelancing for various magazines including ELLE and New Woman, Lara eventually settled at J17 where, as Beauty Editor, she wrote and styled shoots. Lara won The Jasmine Awards for Best Article in a Youth Title and more recently received an Honorary Mention in Undiscovered Voices 2012.

A Boy Called Hope, Lara’s first novel, was shorlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2015 and the Independent Booksellers' Week Award 2014.

She currently lives in London with her family.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
304 pages
Interest Age: From 8 years

Author

Lara Williamson
More books by Lara Williamson

Author's Website

larawilliamson.weebly.com/

Publisher

Usborne Publishing Ltd

Publication date

1st March 2017

ISBN

9781474922920

Categories


I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****