This content is provided by Lovereading4kids.co.uk
Reader Reviewed
William Wenton and the Luridium Thief by Bobbie Peers
  

William Wenton and the Luridium Thief

Bobbie Peers

9+ readers   Debuts of the Month   11+ readers   eBooks   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

April 2017 Debut of the Month | In a nutshell: cybernetic adventure galore as boffin boy hero takes on the bad guys | There’s something special about William Wenton: he can crack any code, solve any puzzle faster than you can say Bletchley Park. His grandfather was the same, until he disappeared in mysterious circumstances. When the bad guys turn up for William he’s rescued by his grandfather’s friends who take him to an extraordinary secret laboratory full of amazing mechanical creatures, and then the adventures really starts. Alex Rider-level thrills and a host of amazing gadgets, many of them animate, give this the page-turner prize and it’s definitely a case of brains over brawn. ~ Andrea Reece

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to the review by one of the Lovereading4kids editorial experts some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel members were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Toby Little, age 9 - 'It is a really proper good storyline, and I just couldn’t put it down! I can’t wait to read Bobbie Peers’ next book!'    
  • Sam Harper, age 12 - 'A fast paced adventure packed full of amazing gadgets, twists, turns and excitement. A great read!'
  • Harsh Budhdeo, age 9 - 'The book opens a whole new world to science, fiction and coding. Very interesting once I got into it. Cool book!'    
  • Alexander Bisland age 11 - 'I really enjoyed this book and it’s definitely one of the best books I have ever read. I recommend it to 9+ Alex Rider fans. I loved this book and give it 12/10.'
  • Alex Sergeant, aged 11 - 'I thoroughly enjoyed this book with its intriguing mysteries and fast-paced storyline. I liked the fact that that it had an original take on robots and sci-fi fantasy and combined humour and adventure very well.'
  • Jack Smith, age 12 - 'This book is full of adventure, codes and cryptography and I couldn't put it down!'
  • Alex Hall, age 11 - 'William Wenton is an ordinary boy or so he thinks.  He is called upon to solve ancient codes....I couldn't put this book down, it was an original plot & was full of excitement and adventure.'
  • Oliver Thorpe, age 11 - 'William Wenton and the Luridium Thief is a smashing book about a young master code-breaker who has to save his grandfather and defeat the evil possessed man who is after him.  This is a great read!'
  • Sue Wilsher, Teacher - 'A very enjoyable read, this is a story packed full of excitement and adventure with the reader kept wondering who William can trust right to the very end. I look forward to reading more about him!'
  • Emily Lonsdale, age 11 - 'William Wenton is a smashing read for adventure lovers and those who like a bit of a mystery. This is one of those books which is begging for a sequel.'
  • Llew Harrison, age 10 - 'I read late into the night and early in the morning. I couldn't put it down, everything is a cliff hanger. It's E.P.I.C. It is absolutely packed full of suspense, action and comedy.'
  • Daniel Maxwell, age 11 - 'William Wenton and the Luridium Thief is an enjoyable book that could be for any ages between 7 and 12. It is a suitable book for children who like fantasy and adventure.'  
  • Edward Bailey, age 12 - 'A great book with the remains of possible second story. I could recommend it all day long!'
  • Emily Yates - 'William Wenton and the Luridium Thief is a mysterious, spine-tingling book, full of adventure and exciting technology. It is a mixture of Alex Rider and Harry Potter, the recipe for a great book.'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we are delighted to be giving you a chance to win a wonderful family break. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

William Wenton and the Luridium Thief by Bobbie Peers

A new fantasy-adventure series packed with addictive genre hooks for 9+ readers: code-breaking, cyber-technology, killer robots and a boy hero with a supernatural destiny.

Twelve year-old code breaking genius William Wenton, is trying to make sense of his family's dramatic escape from their home in London. But when his extraordinary talent for cracking codes is suddenly revealed, William must face the danger that has been lurking around him for years.

Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson, Alex Rider and Dr Who.

Reviews

"William Wenton cracks the code for great adventure. Mystery, action, a great hero and fantastic robots – what more could you ask for?" Shane Hegarty, author of Darkmouth

About the Author

Bobbie Peers made his mark on Norwegian film history when he won a Palme d'Or in 2006 for Sniffer, written and directed by Peers himself. The award became the first of many milestones in the London International Film School graduate's career as a director and film writer. William Wenton and the Luridium Thief is the first book in the William Wenton series. Read more about the author here.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
256 pages

Author

Bobbie Peers
More books by Bobbie Peers

Author's Website

bobbiepeers.com/en/

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

6th April 2017

ISBN

9781406371703

Categories


I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****