Help! I'm a Genius by Jo Franklin
  

Help! I'm a Genius

Written by Jo Franklin
Illustrated by Aaron Blecha

7+ readers   9+ readers   Reluctant Readers   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a Nutshell: Guffaws, giggles and gags aplenty

By a curious twist of fate Daniel Kendal - the self-confessed NOT-brainiac - has been chosen to represent his school at the National Brainiac Championships. An honour indeed and his headmaster Mr Biggend has high hopes of success, promising a party for the whole school (hurray!) instead of the end of term Maths Day (boo!) when Daniel wins. There's just one problem...Daniel doesn't have the skills. In a family of high-achievers the only thing Daniel wins at is being tall. He's exceptionally tall but that really isn't going to help him here. Through fair means or foul, Daniel realises he must somehow win the competition to avoid national humiliation - and the wrath of the rest of the school!

With short chapters and lots of fun cartoon illustrations this is a great choice for the more reluctant reader. Perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid and Tom Gates.

Win books for Reluctant Readers!

For some children, reading is a bit more of a challenge and getting back to school can highlight these difficulties. Fortunately the fantastic publishers Barrington Stoke have books specially aimed at reluctant readers, highly illustrated, clear type face and page-turning stories. And these books are perfect for those with dyslexia too.

We have THREE bundles of books to give away, aimed at different aged readers (4-7 years, 8-10 years and teens) and all SIGNED by the authors.

For 4-7 Readers a set which includes Superdad's Day Off by Phil Earle, Grandpa was an Astronaut by Jonathan Meres, Mary's Hair by Eoin Colfer and Boing! Boing! by Alexander McCall Smith

For 8-12 Readers a set which includes Good Dog McTavish by Meg Rosoff, The Unlikely Outlaws by Philip Ardagh, Sterling and the Canary by Andy Stanton and Defenders: Killing Ground by Tom Palmer

For Teen Readers a set which includes Unboxed by Non Pratt, The Fall by Anthony McGowan, Davil's Angel by Kevin Brooks and Jet Black Heart by Teresa Flavin

To have a chance of winning one of these prizes click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 20 November 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

Help! I'm a Genius by Jo Franklin

All Daniels’ family are so clever. But Daniel Kendal is different. He’s very tall, all his energies have gone into his body, rather than his brain. Big sister Jessie acts as if she knows it all – at least she knows everything about her favourite band. She calls Daniel Peabrain. Daniel’s best friend, Freddo, is not a brainiac but his next best friend Gordon certainly is.

When the chance comes along to take a test to represent the school in the National Brainiac Championships, it’s obvious who will NOT be chosen. So nobody can believe it when the winner turns out to be – Daniel. Daniel is doomed. What can he do to avoid making an idiot of himself – and can his friends help?

Help! I'm an Alien is the first in this collection of three laugh out loud new series.

Can you Help! Daniel Kendal do this special Brainiac word search?

Reviews

Praise for Help! I'm an Alien:

‘[A] crazy, hilarious adventure [and] one of the most entertaining books you will read this year.’ Lancashire Evening Post

‘This is a fast-paced page turner with a laugh on every page.’ Goodreads

‘Very impressive writing in one of the funniest opening chapters that I've read this year.’ The Bookbag

‘Daniel is a funny character, self-aware [and] the pace of the narrative is perfectly pitched to keep the reader interested and entertained.’ The Book Activist

About the Author

Jo Franklin

Jo Franklin went to a boarding school, which was nothing like Hogwarts. As she was never alone she had plenty of time for reading and making up stories in her head. ​After ten years of making camps in the woods with her own children, Jo wrote Help! I’m an Alien and like all true aliens, she is aiming for world domination with two more titles to come in the Help! series.

Jo lives in South London.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
176 pages

Author

Jo Franklin
More books by Jo Franklin

Author's Website

www.jofranklinauthor.co.uk/

Publisher

Troika Books

Publication date

28th May 2017

ISBN

9781909991422

Categories


It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****