The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord
  

The Names They Gave Us

Written by Emery Lord

YA readers   13+ readers   Summer Reading   eBooks   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: moving story of a teenage girl coping when her world turns upside down

Lucy’s life seems pretty sorted: she’s got a lovely boyfriend, a good relationship with her parents, and as a practising Christian is supported and nurtured by her faith. But then she learns her mother’s cancer has come back, and suddenly everything she’s taken for granted falls away. As she’s struggling to adjust, her mother asks her to take a summer job at a camp for children who’ve experienced trauma. Lucy accepts, and there finds new friends, and a new perspective. Meanwhile though, her mother’s cancer is spreading. Full of interesting, memorable characters, this thoughtful and well-written book tugs at the heartstrings. ~ Andrea Reece

Synopsis

The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord

Lucy Hansson was ready for a perfect summer with her boyfriend, working at her childhood Bible camp on the lake and spending quality time with her parents. But when her mom's cancer reappears, Lucy falters - in her faith and in her ability to cope. When her boyfriend pauses their relationship and her summer job switches to a different camp, one for troubled kids, Lucy isn't sure how much more she can handle. Attempting to accept a new normal, Lucy slowly regains footing among her vibrant, diverse coworkers, Sundays with her mom, and a crush on a fellow counselor.

But when long-hidden family secrets emerge, can Lucy set aside her problems and discover what grace really means? Emotionally-charged and unforgettable, Emery Lord's storytelling shines with the promise of new love and true friendship, even in the face of life's biggest challenges.

Reviews

Praise for When We Collided:

This is more than a love story. When We Collided carefully yet effortlessly puts mental illness in conversation with the beauty and struggle of adolescence. It is a book I wish could have written, but am so much better for having read. -- Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin and Side Effects May Vary

Searingly honest, gut-wrenchingly authentic, and deeply romantic, When We Collided is a gift of a novel. It tackles tough topics with nuance, and will make readers both laugh and cry, sometimes within the span of a page. -- Jasmine Warga, author of My Heart and Other Black Holes

A five-star must-read romance for older teens (and up) that will challenge readers toward a better understanding of a too-often marginalized and stigmatized segment of the population, When We Collided is an important book not only for this generation of teens, but those who've come before ... and those who will come after. USA Today

An absolute tearjerker romance with a powerful message about weightier topics of grief and mental illness. -- starred review School Library Journal

Praise for The Start of Me and You:

In sharp contrast to darker, more issue-driven YA books, this title keeps truer to the problems that most teens face. The protagonist's upbeat attitude will inspire readers to persevere even during the low points in life. -- starred review School Library Journal

This is the teen world as it should be, full of good times and good friends to temper life's inevitable sorrows, big and small. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Deb Caletti will want to add Emery Lord to their summer reading list. BCCB

Lord offers a sweet story of love and loss... The author is gentle with Paige as she struggles to redefine herself both in school and at home, as well as figure out who understands her best as she stumbles toward new romance. Publishers Weekly

About the Author

Emery Lord

Emery Lord is the author of Open Road Summer, The Start of Me and You, and When We Collided. She lives in a pink row house in Cincinnati, with a husband, two rescue dogs, and a closet full of impractical shoes.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Author

Emery Lord
More books by Emery Lord

Author's Website

www.emerylord.com

Publisher

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

1st June 2017

ISBN

9781408877814

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools