Violet and the Mummy Mystery by Harriet Whitehorn
  

Violet and the Mummy Mystery

Written by Harriet Whitehorn
Illustrated by Becka Moor

7+ readers   9+ readers   eBooks   eBooks   

RRP £8.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a Nutshell - Move over Miss Marple, Violet's on the case!

For Violet Remy-Robinson there's a mystery around every corner! Her Aunt Mathilde, a renown Egyptologist, is visiting London to investigate a mummy which she suspects may hold a clue to the location of the Lost Tomb of Queen Nefertiti. But clearly someone else has the same idea as the mummy has been stolen! Violet and her friends set about gathering clues and prime suspects - and give us an interesting introduction to Ancient Egypt along the way. This is a delicious whodunnit with a cast of exotic and captivating characters and more twists and turns than an Egyptian Serpent. Becka Moor's wonderful illustrations (in violet of course!) add to the charm.

Readers who find Violet’s adventures to their taste will also enjoy the Royal Babysitters series by Clementine Beauvais, also illustrated by Becka Moor, and the Witch Wars books by Sibeal Pounder illustrated by Laura Ellen Anderson. - Charlotte Carus

Synopsis

Violet and the Mummy Mystery by Harriet Whitehorn

Violet's back in her fourth adventure, this time taking on the case of the missing mummy! Aunt Mathilde is in London looking into an ancient Egyptian mystery at the British Museum, but when the mummy she's investigating disappears, it's up to Violet and her friends Rose, Art, and PC Green to save the day and discover the identity of the mummy-napper.

With a beautiful package, complete with two-colour illustrations throughout by Becka Moor, this book is perfect for fans of Ottoline, Goth Girl, and Claude. Readers everywhere are bound to fall in love with Violet and the colourful characters that make up her world.

Reviews

Praise for Violet:

‘A delicious package for emerging readers’ Sunday Times

‘Agatha Christie-esque mystery... quirky and charming’ The Guardian

‘Lovely’ The Bookseller

'Whitehorn’s debut is pacey and imaginative, and Becka Moor’s illustrations a delight. Perfect for readers who liked the Ottoline books by Chris Riddell.' The Times

About the Author

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient is her first novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
360 pages

Author

Harriet Whitehorn
More books by Harriet Whitehorn

Author's Website

harrietwhitehorn.com/

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

29th June 2017

ISBN

9781471147173

Categories


It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****