Violet and the Mummy Mystery by Harriet Whitehorn
  

Violet and the Mummy Mystery

Written by Harriet Whitehorn
Illustrated by Becka Moor

7+ readers   9+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a Nutshell - Move over Miss Marple, Violet's on the case!

For Violet Remy-Robinson there's a mystery around every corner! Her Aunt Mathilde, a renown Egyptologist, is visiting London to investigate a mummy which she suspects may hold a clue to the location of the Lost Tomb of Queen Nefertiti. But clearly someone else has the same idea as the mummy has been stolen! Violet and her friends set about gathering clues and prime suspects - and give us an interesting introduction to Ancient Egypt along the way. This is a delicious whodunnit with a cast of exotic and captivating characters and more twists and turns than an Egyptian Serpent. Becka Moor's wonderful illustrations (in violet of course!) add to the charm.

Readers who find Violet’s adventures to their taste will also enjoy the Royal Babysitters series by Clementine Beauvais, also illustrated by Becka Moor, and the Witch Wars books by Sibeal Pounder illustrated by Laura Ellen Anderson. - Charlotte Carus

Synopsis

Violet and the Mummy Mystery by Harriet Whitehorn

Violet's back in her fourth adventure, this time taking on the case of the missing mummy! Aunt Mathilde is in London looking into an ancient Egyptian mystery at the British Museum, but when the mummy she's investigating disappears, it's up to Violet and her friends Rose, Art, and PC Green to save the day and discover the identity of the mummy-napper.

With a beautiful package, complete with two-colour illustrations throughout by Becka Moor, this book is perfect for fans of Ottoline, Goth Girl, and Claude. Readers everywhere are bound to fall in love with Violet and the colourful characters that make up her world.

Reviews

Praise for Violet:

‘A delicious package for emerging readers’ Sunday Times

‘Agatha Christie-esque mystery... quirky and charming’ The Guardian

‘Lovely’ The Bookseller

'Whitehorn’s debut is pacey and imaginative, and Becka Moor’s illustrations a delight. Perfect for readers who liked the Ottoline books by Chris Riddell.' The Times

About the Author

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient is her first novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback

Author

Harriet Whitehorn
More books by Harriet Whitehorn

Author's Website

harrietwhitehorn.com/

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

29th June 2017

ISBN

9781471147173

Categories


We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****