Violet and the Mummy Mystery by Harriet Whitehorn
  

Violet and the Mummy Mystery

Written by Harriet Whitehorn
Illustrated by Becka Moor

7+ readers   9+ readers   

RRP £8.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a Nutshell - Move over Miss Marple, Violet's on the case!

For Violet Remy-Robinson there's a mystery around every corner! Her Aunt Mathilde, a renown Egyptologist, is visiting London to investigate a mummy which she suspects may hold a clue to the location of the Lost Tomb of Queen Nefertiti. But clearly someone else has the same idea as the mummy has been stolen! Violet and her friends set about gathering clues and prime suspects - and give us an interesting introduction to Ancient Egypt along the way. This is a delicious whodunnit with a cast of exotic and captivating characters and more twists and turns than an Egyptian Serpent. Becka Moor's wonderful illustrations (in violet of course!) add to the charm.

Readers who find Violet’s adventures to their taste will also enjoy the Royal Babysitters series by Clementine Beauvais, also illustrated by Becka Moor, and the Witch Wars books by Sibeal Pounder illustrated by Laura Ellen Anderson. ~ Andrea Reece

Win a copy of Pirate Mcsnottbeard in the Zombie Terror Rampage!

We have TEN copies of Pirate Mcsnottbeard in the Zombie Terror Rampage, by Paul Whitfield, to give away!

To have a chance of winning one of these brilliantly funny books, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 14 August 2017. The winners will be notified by 28 August 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 14/08/2017

Synopsis

Violet and the Mummy Mystery by Harriet Whitehorn

Violet's back in her fourth adventure, this time taking on the case of the missing mummy! Aunt Mathilde is in London looking into an ancient Egyptian mystery at the British Museum, but when the mummy she's investigating disappears, it's up to Violet and her friends Rose, Art, and PC Green to save the day and discover the identity of the mummy-napper.

With a beautiful package, complete with two-colour illustrations throughout by Becka Moor, this book is perfect for fans of Ottoline, Goth Girl, and Claude. Readers everywhere are bound to fall in love with Violet and the colourful characters that make up her world.

Reviews

Praise for Violet:

‘A delicious package for emerging readers’ Sunday Times

‘Agatha Christie-esque mystery... quirky and charming’ The Guardian

‘Lovely’ The Bookseller

'Whitehorn’s debut is pacey and imaginative, and Becka Moor’s illustrations a delight. Perfect for readers who liked the Ottoline books by Chris Riddell.' The Times

About the Author

Harriet Whitehorn grew up in London, where she still lives with her husband and three daughters. She has studied at Reading University, the Architectural Association and The Victoria and Albert Museum and has always worked in building conservation. She currently works for English Heritage. Violet and the Pearl of the Orient is her first novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
360 pages
Interest Age: From 7

Author

Harriet Whitehorn
More books by Harriet Whitehorn

Author's Website

harrietwhitehorn.com/

Publisher

Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd

Publication date

29th June 2017

ISBN

9781471147173

Categories


Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools