Up, Up and Away by Tom McLaughlin
  

Up, Up and Away

Written by Tom McLaughlin
Illustrated by Tom McLaughlin

3+ readers   Baby and Toddler   Summer Reading   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Inventive Orson builds his own planet with a cupful of rocks, a dash of water, a sprinkling of metal and a lot of nothingness. He loves his planet and is proud of all he has achieved. Orson’s planet becomes so successful that soon everything wants to live on it and Orson knows that he must let it go and find begin a new life of its own. Tom McLaughin’s story is a delightful celebration of imagination and creativity as well as a useful lesson about letting go of things that you love. ~ Julia Eccleshare

Synopsis

Up, Up and Away by Tom McLaughlin

What does it take to build your very own planet? Orson is about to find out. He takes: A cup full of rocks A dash of water A sprinkling of metal A lot of nothingness A big bang ...And before long, BOOM! He has it - a tiny planet with rings around it, right there in his bedroom! But it seems that BUILDING a planet is the easy bit; taking care of it is a different thing altogether. Over time, Orson realises that his planet needs to be free and that sometimes you have to let go of the things that you love the most ...

A heart-warming story about life's possibilities and disappointments with an uplifting ending that will resonate with fans of Oliver Jeffers, Jon Klassen and Chris Haughton.

Reviews

Galactic resonances call to mind not only Oliver Jeffers star -catching protagonists, but also a hint of The Little Prince Guardian

Gently humorous illustrations bring Orson's adventures to life and help to present an interesting combination of basic science and complex concepts of responsibility in an appealing and accessible format Book Trust

Tom McLaughlin's story is a delightful celebration of imagination and creativity as well as a useful lesson about letting go of things that you love -- Julia Eccleshare Love Reading 4 Kids

This is a book about caring and responsibility, it is a book about doing what is right and what is best, and how sometimes you have to make difficult decisions if you are to do the right thing Early Years Educator

There is something of the Oliver Jeffers about McLaughlin's style and this tale about an inventive little boy learning important lessons about letting go will appeal to fans of both Angels & Urchins

This wonderful story shows off Tom's incredible talent for drawing and storytelling while teaching kids that sometimes you have to let go of the things you love the most Mummy Pages

About the Author

Tom McLaughlin

Before becoming a writer and illustrator Tom McLaughlin spent 9 years working as political cartoonist for The Western Morning News thinking up silly jokes about even sillier politicians. Then, in 2004 Tom took the plunge into illustrating and writing his own books. Since then he has written and illustrated picture books as well as working on animated TV shows for Disney and Cartoon Network.

Tom lives in Devon and his hobbies include drinking tea, looking out of the window, and biscuits. His hates include spiders, running out of biscuits, and writing biographies.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
32 pages
Interest Age: To 5

Author

Tom McLaughlin
More books by Tom McLaughlin

Author's Website

www.tommclaughlin.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

13th July 2017

ISBN

9781408870167

Categories


I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools