Up, Up and Away by Tom McLaughlin
  

Up, Up and Away

Written by Tom McLaughlin
Illustrated by Tom McLaughlin

3+ readers   Baby and Toddler   Summer Reading   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Inventive Orson builds his own planet with a cupful of rocks, a dash of water, a sprinkling of metal and a lot of nothingness. He loves his planet and is proud of all he has achieved. Orson’s planet becomes so successful that soon everything wants to live on it and Orson knows that he must let it go and find begin a new life of its own. Tom McLaughin’s story is a delightful celebration of imagination and creativity as well as a useful lesson about letting go of things that you love. ~ Julia Eccleshare

Win a copy of HATS OF FAITH

There should be more books like this: in bright, appealing illustrations it tells children how people of different faiths cover their heads to show their love for God. This beautifully illustrated, board book aims to teach children, parents and educators about the shared custom of head covering across the Jewish, Sikh, Christian, Rastafarian, and Islamic faiths. Hats of Faith helps prepare young children for our culturally diverse, modern world and encourages tolerance and understanding.

To have a chance of winning one of three copies of Hats of Faith, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 5 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 19 October 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 15/10/2017

Synopsis

Up, Up and Away by Tom McLaughlin

What does it take to build your very own planet? Orson is about to find out. He takes: A cup full of rocks A dash of water A sprinkling of metal A lot of nothingness A big bang ...And before long, BOOM! He has it - a tiny planet with rings around it, right there in his bedroom! But it seems that BUILDING a planet is the easy bit; taking care of it is a different thing altogether. Over time, Orson realises that his planet needs to be free and that sometimes you have to let go of the things that you love the most ...

A heart-warming story about life's possibilities and disappointments with an uplifting ending that will resonate with fans of Oliver Jeffers, Jon Klassen and Chris Haughton.

Reviews

Galactic resonances call to mind not only Oliver Jeffers star -catching protagonists, but also a hint of The Little Prince Guardian

Gently humorous illustrations bring Orson's adventures to life and help to present an interesting combination of basic science and complex concepts of responsibility in an appealing and accessible format Book Trust

Tom McLaughlin's story is a delightful celebration of imagination and creativity as well as a useful lesson about letting go of things that you love -- Julia Eccleshare Love Reading 4 Kids

This is a book about caring and responsibility, it is a book about doing what is right and what is best, and how sometimes you have to make difficult decisions if you are to do the right thing Early Years Educator

There is something of the Oliver Jeffers about McLaughlin's style and this tale about an inventive little boy learning important lessons about letting go will appeal to fans of both Angels & Urchins

This wonderful story shows off Tom's incredible talent for drawing and storytelling while teaching kids that sometimes you have to let go of the things you love the most Mummy Pages

About the Author

Tom McLaughlin

Before becoming a writer and illustrator Tom McLaughlin spent 9 years working as political cartoonist for The Western Morning News thinking up silly jokes about even sillier politicians. Then, in 2004 Tom took the plunge into illustrating and writing his own books. Since then he has written and illustrated picture books as well as working on animated TV shows for Disney and Cartoon Network.

Tom lives in Devon and his hobbies include drinking tea, looking out of the window, and biscuits. His hates include spiders, running out of biscuits, and writing biographies.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
32 pages
Interest Age: To 5

Author

Tom McLaughlin
More books by Tom McLaughlin

Author's Website

www.tommclaughlin.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

13th July 2017

ISBN

9781408870167

Categories


I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools