More Than One Way to be a Girl by Dyan Sheldon
  

More Than One Way to be a Girl

Written by Dyan Sheldon

13+ readers   YA readers   Summer Reading   

RRP £6.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a Nutshell: Empowering, entertaining trading places tale

Endlessly entertaining and inspirational, this radiantly witty novel imparts important messages about gender stereotypes with heartfelt humour. Zizi and Loretta are polar opposites, “like two sides of the same planet - dark and light”. Zizi loves “clothes, make-up and boys”. She’s eager to please, and even winds up apologising when a boy grabs her boob. “He was just being a boy. He can’t help it”, she reasons. Cue outrage from feminist Loretta. Self-taught in the arts of mechanics, plumbing and carpentry, she can’t believe how previously “smart and spirited” Zizi is now “drowning in the frothy, pink sea of girliness.” But, despite their differences, the girls strike up a friendship, and decide to make a bet for the summer vacation. Zizi will relinquish her make-up and short skirts, while Loretta will adopt Zizi’s girly style. On trading places, they both learn a whole lot about themselves, and experience firsthand how differently the world treats different “kinds” of girls.

This is fabulous on female friendship, and head-over-heels brilliant on exposing the multiple ways in which girls moderate their behaviour to fall in line with gender expectations, from not running to prevent attention-drawing boob-bouncing, to victim-blaming, self-blaming and doing domestic chores when boys are let off the hook. 100% recommended for all girls upwards of 13 (and boys, for that matter), and perfect for fans of Holly Bourne. ~ Joanne Owen

Synopsis

More Than One Way to be a Girl by Dyan Sheldon

A delightfully witty page-turner, brilliantly observed, with a sophisticated point to make about gender stereotypes - from internationally bestselling author Dyan Sheldon.

From the writer of Confessions of A Teenage Drama Queen and My Worst Best Friend comes this hugely entertaining teen read, all about what it really means to be a girl. ZiZi likes to think of herself as a girly girl: her wardrobe is almost exclusively pink, her daily makeup routine can take upwards of an hour and she loves a bit of a flirt. Her best friend Loretta is very different: all of her clothes are black, she doesn't wear any makeup whatsoever and she doesn't like the way ZiZi dumbs herself down for boys - or her old-fashioned ideas about a woman's place . One day, they decide to make a bet. Can ZiZi stand looking like Loretta for longer than Loretta can bear dressing like ZiZi? As their summer unfolds - often hilariously - the pair are surprised to find they have a lot to learn from each other.

Reviews

“A great read that’ll have you hooked from the start.” The Sunday Times on Confessions of a Teenage Hollywood Star

“Constantly funny, splendidly witty: a bull’s eye.” Kirkus Reviews on The Truth About My Success

"Glittering with wit and charm.” Publishers Weekly on Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen (New York Times Bestseller)

“Outrage and delight in a curious rich mix distinguishes Dyan Sheldon’s fiction. Her ear is tuned, her eye is clear, she is smart and generous, tough and funny.” New York Times Book Review

About the Author

Dyan Sheldon

Dyan Sheldon is a popular and highly respected author of books for teens and pre-teens as well as a number of stories for younger readers. Her bestselling titles include Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen, Confessions of a Teenage Hollywood Star, One or Two Things I Learned About Love, Tall, Thin and Blonde and the picture book The Whales' Song, which won the Kate Greenaway Medal in 1990. American by birth, Dyan lives in London, NW1.

Click here to read more about the author.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
368 pages

Author

Dyan Sheldon
More books by Dyan Sheldon

Author's Website

www.dyansheldon.co.uk/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

6th July 2017

ISBN

9781406363036

Categories


It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools