Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson
  

Roller Girl

Written by Victoria Jamieson
Illustrated by Victoria Jamieson

9+ readers   11+ readers   eBooks   Summer Reading   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

Continuing Puffin’s colour fiction programme for 2017, Roller Girl is the New York Times bestselling novel by illustrator and roller skater Victoria Jamieson. Told in vibrant full-colour throughout, Roller Girl is a heartwarming and sparky story of friendship, self-belief and finding your place in the world – perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Liz Pichon.

Lovereading Review to follow.

Synopsis

Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

Astrid has always done everything with her best friend Nicole. So when Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for a summer camp, she's sure Nicole will be right by her side - until Nicole signs up for ballet camp instead, with Astrid's biggest rival. So begins the hardest summer of Astrid's life, as she struggles to stay on her skates, to learn who she is without Nicole ...and to find out what it takes to be a strong, tough, awesome roller girl.

To download ‘The Making of Roller Girl’ booklet, go to www.victoriajamieson.com

Reviews

This spiky, winning graphic novel captures the bittersweetness of finding a new passion and saying goodbye to your former, more uncertain self New York Times

A wonderful story about friendship, self-belief and SERIOUSLY awesome girls! -- Robin Stevens, bestselling author of Murder Most Unladylike

A note-perfect middle-grade story of friendships lost and rebuilt, wrapped up in lively graphic novel form. Astrid is a peach of a hero, a likeable misfit desperate to be a great skater like her idol. Her discovery that it's not as easy as it looks will resonate with anyone who's ever dreamed of glory and fallen flat on their face her response to disappointment will lift the heart -- Susie Day, author of Pea's Book of Best Friends

Roller Girl's message of self-discovery, friendship, and perseverance will roll its way right into your heart -- Raina Telgemeier, bestselling author of Sisters Full of charm

Don't let this one roll past Kirkus Readers

will stand up and cheer Publishers Weekly

About the Author

Victoria Jamieson

Victoria Jamieson worked as a children's book designer before becoming a full-time illustrator. She has also worked as a portrait artist aboard a cruise ship, and has lived in Australia, Italy and Canada. She now lives with her family in Portland, Oregon, where she maintains a not-so-secret identity as Winnie the Pow, skater with the Rose City Rollers Roller Derby League.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
240 pages
Interest Age: From 9

Author

Victoria Jamieson
More books by Victoria Jamieson

Author's Website

www.victoriajamieson.com/

Publisher

Puffin an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd

Publication date

29th June 2017

ISBN

9780141378992

Categories


LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools